We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently visited the Hibiscus Gardens resort after purchasing the Cudo deal and we had an amazing time. We were put into a studio apartment, which I was worried would be too small but was perfect for the two of us. The main bonus was that our balcony didn't go out onto the main landing, like the 1 or 2 bedroom apartments, so we had total privacy.

Our balcony didn't have any special view, but it was up high and there were lots of high lush plants outside that blocked everything and gave it a rainforest feel. The breakfast each morning is simple, we wouldn't have paid the $18 for it but it was included in the deal so it was good.

The room was clean and had everything we needed - microwave, bar fridge, plates, etc, but we ate out at the local restaurants 90% of the time.

Definitely the best feature of this hotel is the location. It is literally 200m away from the beach, 200m away from the main street and restaurants, and 200m away from the marina (where all the snorkelling tours leave from, so no need to book bus transfers). Based on the reviews I read before I left the manager can be quite disagreeable - we didn't have much interaction with him but from what we found he was fine, we mainly saw a young girl on reception (I think her name is Jodie) and she was very nice and helpful.

Overall, the location is extremely central, the hotel rooms and grounds are clean and well maintained (especially the lush rainforest feel they have created) and all the staff seemed lovely and helpful. Would definitely recommend to a friend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    121
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
60
183
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just back from a 5 night stay in Hibiscus Gardens and we are very happy with nearly all aspects of our stay. The service was excellent contrary to a few reviews on this site. The manager even carried our suitcase up to our room on the top floor despite having one arm in a sling. The location is fantastic - less than a five minute walk from the centre of town. The rooms are clean although had a slightly damp smell but that is only a minor complaint. The small pool is excellent to relax in and the breakfast by the main pool was very good - I would get to breakfast early as it can get busy towards to end. We would definitely stay in Hibiscus again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: I would choose a room that overlooks the small swimming pool - this was a perfect place to relax thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NKY100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Location is perfect, both enjoyed a relaxing holiday. Thorougly Enjoyed the weather, beach, relaxing massage in the spa, friendly staff and the pool side breakfast was fantastic. Rooms were clean, spacious and cool with both fans and air con. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niznikrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently stayed her for a week – we got a 1 bedroom unit which was simple but had all the things we needed. The location is definitely its highlight – located a block back from the main strip and in the middle of the beach and marina made it perfect for walking around. However, we would not stay here again or recommend to others. Our TV did not work the entire time, not that we wanted to use it much, but trying to get it fixed was a nightmare, not to dwell on it but the service and communication was very poor. What topped it off was how we were treated by the manager when we checked out and confronted him with this issue – rude is an understatement (and after reading other reviews here it seems to be a common theme). Not once did he apologise for the inconvenience himself. One of the girls on reception during the week was lovely, but apart from her I felt like we were a hassle for the management.

To be honest, I have never been treated so badly by somewhere we were paying to stay – we are not fussy people but were made to feel bad.

My recommendation is if you want a place just to sleep, then it is fine, but if you have any questions or problems don’t expect a friendly resolution. There are plenty of places to stay in Port Douglas and we won’t be choosing here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Let me start by saying I have not stayed at this resort and never will based on my phone conversation today. I received an email advising of a Cudo offer at the Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort. I was interested in booking two vouchers. As the offer did not advise what room type was on offer for the 2-bed (2-bed 1 bath or 2-bed 2 bath) I rang to clarify. I was also curious to know if the offer included daily room service. A nice lady helped me initially saying it was a 2-bed - 2 bath offer. When I enquired about the daily room service she put me through to the manager. The manager wasn't at all friendly when he came on the line. When I explained what I was enquiring about he said that the lady had clarified that it was 2-bed 2 bath. I asked if it included daily room service and he said it didn't. I then said that I was keen to know what the offer value ($2705) was based on. Looking at the rates I thought it must be the highest rate ($395 with daily room service - however this only adds up to $1980). This is when he started to get very rude. I said I couldn't work out the value and that I was keen to know what I was getting if I was going to purchase a voucher. He proceeded to get very rude and told me not to come and stay if I didn't like the offer. Well quite frankly why on earth would I want to stay when the MANAGER is rude, rude, rude? Anyone else considering this offer do the maths. It doesn't add up and I'll be letting Cudo know that they haven't included enough small print in this offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jenl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Hibiscus Gardens has the promise of it all. 2 pools which are usually empty except for 1 or 2 other guests so that it is great to swim and read in peace; a spa that has excellent massage therapists; and breakfast under Balinese type gazebos next to the pool.

It's very peaceful whether on your balcony, in the pool areas or at the spa.

The room needs a little work though. The fridge didn't keep the drinks cold so a cold crisp wine was hard to create; the pipes in the toilet groaned every time you flushed and the bed was rock hard.

Despite this the setting is fantastic, it is close to Macrossan and if there was just a few updates to the rooms, especially the fridge, I would be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from our 5 night cudo voucher deal and overall was a fantastic resort, although we wont be back as the bed was simply shocking was like sleeping on the floor, the breakfast buffet is not user friendly it was a nightmare each day just to get simple breakfast. that while it seems small the bed issue is massive. ouch!!! location fantastic and very clean resort, the front desk were nice

Room Tip: all over looked the pool very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#24 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#25 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Property: Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing