We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Romantic oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from our 5 night cudo voucher deal and overall was a fantastic resort, although we wont be back as the bed was simply shocking was like sleeping on the floor, the breakfast buffet is not user friendly it was a nightmare each day just to get simple breakfast. that while it seems small the bed issue is massive. ouch!!! location fantastic and very clean resort, the front desk were nice

Room Tip: all over looked the pool very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    116
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
56
179
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Resort rooms were nice,clean and suited us. However we ran out of toilet paper, garbage bags and had to use the same towels for the week. Shower door was also broken. Both managers need to learn to smile and treat their clients with respect & some manners. Our 'complimentry' transfers from cairns airport were a debacle. As my partner and i arrived separately, we had seperate transfers. my name was not on bus drivers list, so I was extremely happy he had one vacant seat at 5am and agreed to take me, only that I had proof of an email confirming transport from resort managers. My partners flight, however, was 15 mins late, so they didn't wait for him, leaving him to arrange his own transport!! Managers did not want to discuss matter with us, hanging up on the phone & walking away when I tried talking to them. We were told loudly ' if you don't like it, pack your bags and leave!!' they were rude, unhelpful and disrespectful. We were not the only ones there complaining either, we chatted to 2 other families who were unhappy with level of service.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter. Triple confirm all bookings made with managers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I loved this resort because being 2 single ladies it is often hard to get separate rooms let alone separate bathrooms! We were able to relax in the sitting room or on the balcony which was like a private dining room and then get ready for the evenings without getting in each others way in the bathrooms. It is in easy walking distance of the shops and beaches. The Staff were great and the pool private and relaxing. It has a real Bali feel to the whole place. Lovely dark timber is a feature along with the gardens.

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review if you need 2 beds get the 2 bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

After reading Trip Adviser reviews we were nervous about staying in a studio apartment because of comments about the view of a wall. So we booked a one bedroom apartment. It had a lovely view of the pool and lots of palm trees and other greenery. The owners and staff were lovely and we had a very nice time during our stay. The location was perfect, as it was only a block or so from the main street. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yarra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this resort for 5 nights. Reminded me of Bali with the beautiful gardens and swimming pools. Breakfast each day was good- plenty to choose from even though it was only continental. Only criticism is you can hear the noise from the street I.e garbage trucks in the early morning, but that can't be helped given location. Will be back again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cozzie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at Hibiscus a few years ago now but would like to take advantage of this reliable Trip Advisor website.

Hibiscus boasts a fantastic location that's both family and couple friendly.
It's also one of the more affordable accommodation types in the area that's good value for money.
Walking distance to both front and back beach, all shops and services.
The rooms were comfortable, private and had all your typical mod-cons and air conditioning.
Both pools were beautiful with plenty of day beds as well as the staff being very friendly.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a room with a spa and view over the poolside (levels 3-4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Codydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Had a wonderful stay and the management and staff were always very helpful and happy. Being a coeliac (gluten free) I was very happy with the variety of foods I could eat at breakfast. The room and outside Bali area was first class. Would not hesitate in staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pie312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#17 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#24 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#22 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Property: Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing