We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

stayed here for 4 nights. The first day we arrived we got put into a pokey little room, tinny out of date bathroom,tinny tv with really bad sound, the batteries for the remote were dead. Asked if we could be moved to another room, the lady said there was none available anything during our stay due to weddings. Asked a really helpful English girl the following morning and there was no problem at all. Moved to a really nice room over looking the pool. But didnt manage to get much sleep the reminding nights as the water outlet from upstairs air conditioners constantly dripped on to the one in our room making mind numbing thumping noises every two seconds constantly absolute torture. Went down for breakfast by the pool, went to the counter to see how things worked, what we had to do,we basically got ignored whilst the girls behind the counter chatted, when they did manage to acknowledge us and we asked how we were to go about things, charging to room etc she just stared at us, muttered something, totally disinterested. We ended up having to go into town to get breakfast from then on.

The place is a beautiful looking place on the photographs and is a very nice looking place when you get there, but its on the verge of starting to run into disrepair. We didn't have any day where room service was provided. Maintenance really needs to be addressed.

The one good thing it has going for it is its location. Its very close to Macrossan st. I loved Port Douglas and i am planning my next trip back already, i went around to a couple of resorts before i left and left those places feeling very disappointed with the choice i made in staying in Hibiscus. The facilities and the price of the alternatives in Port Douglas are much better.

No Bar or Restaurant was also disappointing. Seriously, we hardly every complain but this one left me feeling really bad. I couldn't recommend this place. The next time in Port Douglas i don't even think that i could drive up the same street as Hibiscus. The place does have plenty of potential and it could do really well, its a pity

Room Tip: chose somewhere different
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank maxisweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    126
    51
    12
    9
See reviews for
60
192
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights March 2012, nice place peaceful atmosphere , loved the Balinese inspired gardens.
Some maintenance required overall.
Our unit was large enough for two , nice bathroom and kitchen ( kitchen cupboards did have a weird smell about them ) The air conditioner is not in the best place ,each room had ceiling fans as well .
Breakfast was pleasant and the staff lovely and helpful.
The closeness to the town centre is a winner .
Overall we enjoyed our stay here ,would come again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We recently stayed at hibictus for 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's in a great position a stone throw from the beach and main strip with all the cafes, restaurants and shops.
The rooms are decent(clean) with a well stocked kitchen and the pools are nice and well maintained.
If you're seeking a family friendly place to stay which is well situated and good value then go for it, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerOz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Shane at Hibiscus is great. The rooms are self contained. Good kitchen and several Weber BBQ's to use.
Two good size pools to use. The fire lights at night around he resort add a romantic mood. Breakfast was excellent lots of local produce to try.
This place is 100meters from the centre of Port Douglas.
A great place to stay for swimming and diving on the GREAT BARRIER REEF !!

Room Tip: All rooms have a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foxtail48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Hibiscus is not a big, slick resort like others further away from the main street but it's beautiful, comfortable and feels more personal. Timber decking runs throughout with tall palms and all forms of tropical plants and 2 pools. The lighting and flames next to the pool outside our apartment was really stunning at night.

Our apartment was large and very clean. They are Balinese themed and are a nice cool retreat on a hot humid day. The king bed was firm and very comfortable. The bathroom was HUGE with a big corner spa. The kitchen was brilliant as we didn't feel like eating out every day and the bench opening out to the courtyard was really nice.

All staff were very friendly and not at all intrusive.

My partner had a spa treatment and was very impressed. Apparently the best she'd ever had.

The breakfasts in the morning were amazing. All sorts of exotic fruit, cheese, breads, macadamia muesli, juices, fresh coffee made to order, etc. Really nice start to the day.

The location was perfect. Minutes walk either way to the beach or marina and less to the shopping/restaurant strip.

There are lots of steps so that may be an issue if stairs trouble you. It wasn't a concern for us but I guess it might be if staying on the higher floors.

Next time I visit Port Douglas I would not hesitate to book at Hibiscus again. I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SxIxMxOxN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Recently stayed at the hotel over Christmas 2011. The area is lovely and the accommodations are nice but there are some drawbacks that visitors should be aware of. Do not arrive after dark or outside of the reception hours. We arrived at 7:30 pm to find reception closed and an envelope at the desk with our name on it. This directed us to our room. There was no one to ask questions of - like how do I get the air conditioning to work or where do I find food.. It was a very unpleasant start to our stay there. Also - there is no elevators and unless you are willing and able to carry your luggage up three flights of stairs - this is not the place for you. The air conditioning was not particularily effective and this was summer so very hot and humid. And the air conditioner was very, very loud!
On the plus side, the location was great, the pool area and bbq's were great, grocery stores were walking distance and the breakfast at the pool side was excellent. Make sure the breakfasts are included in your room!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

I’m two streets from the main action of Port Douglas and I’m having breakfast with the birds. I’m not in a fancy zoo or a tourist attraction, I’m sitting on the third floor balcony of my very lovely studio apartment at Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort and parrots a swooping all around me. Through the tall palms and the spiky pandanus, the summer sky today is very very blue. It’s the green season (a euphemistic term for the rain season) and thankfully the weatherman has got it wrong ….again. Come to think of it, we've had more blue than green this summer.

This resort is the perfect getaway for both families and for couples. It’s just two blocks and a few minutes stroll to Macrossan Street which is lined with elegant restaurants and casual pubs. Rooms also come with a well-stocked kitchenette meaning that a bottle of chilled wine and a platter of cheese is an easy afternoon wind down. And if you forget your own drop, or can’t be bothered to walk to the local bottle-o, just head down stairs to reception where a six pack of full strength beer sets you back an economical $15. A small selection of wines can also be purchased at almost the normal retail price. This is a nice touch for travellers.

The Balinese-themed rooms are what they were designed to be: roomy. There’s a living area with a massive daybed, huge TV and DVD, a good sized balcony and a separate bathroom. The king-sized bed can be reconfigured to twins.

Breakfast for those on packages is served continental style around one of the two landscaped pools and comes with laughter and a splash from the kids playing within. There’s fresh whole and cut fruit (including exotics like mangosteen, mango and melon), fresh made-to-order coffee, and a variety of cereals, toast and danishes. It makes for a filling start to the day and a healthy option for the budget conscious traveller. The owners have also thoughtfully added Webber barbecues around the landscaped gardens for times when you want to eat in … and the supermarket is 150 metres away.

Hibiscus Gardens also has a spa with four treatment rooms. Therapists are trained in Lit’ya products and methodologies that go back 40,000 years to ancient indigenous ways of massage. I didn’t get to trial the Lit’ya massage this time round, but I’ve snored my way through an experience in the past and it was delightful. The treatment rooms looked amazing and one comes with its own private plunge pool.

All up Hibiscus Gardens offers the best of both worlds. The decor is beautifully themed, the pools are inviting, the upmarket restaurants are a stone’s throw away, and there are options for economising. Eating on the balcony or BBQ'ing around the pool is great for the days when you just can’t face another dose of barramundi and creme brulee.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so if you don't like hotfooting it up the stairs, ask for one of the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#23 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#13 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Property: Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Address: 18 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing