We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Verandahs Boutique Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Amazing apartment in a wonderful location, Verandahs exceeded expectations. Sue was marvellous, both with the kids and in handing out practical and very helpful information, from where to eat to what to do during our stay. All her suggestions were spot on. The apartment was a true home away from home, with every need catered for, spacious, modern appliances, ensuite etc. We were in a room on Davidson Street which is central to everything. The pool is HEATED which makes a massive difference if you want to spend time in water! All in all, our only disappointment was in leaving! We will definitely be back. Book a pool view room and stay a week. That's what we'll be doing next time. Thanks Sue for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdeleM69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    61
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
188
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Verandahs is in a great location. We wanted a place that was close to town and the beach and this place is perfectly located. I was worried that Davidson St would be noisy but our apartment was 2nd floor in the rear section overlooking the pool and it was very private. The place was well appointed, decorated tastefully and very comfortable with everything we needed. There is a french press for coffee and a teapot, wireless internet, bicycles for hire, everything.

The best part of verandahs are the hosts, Sue and Greg, who were a mountain of information and were always available for anything, or information, we needed. A few weeks before our stay, I called Sue and asked her some questions about reef and rainforest tours and she had great recommendation and was able to explain the advantages of each provider so that we could narrow it down. She was able to recommend a reef experience that suited my wife and I as divers that also had a great intro program for our teenage daughter so, now she has tried SCUBA and is pumped for more. The recommendation for Cape Trib, Daintree, and Bloomfield track was great. We had a couple of days just cycling around and Greg had our bikes and beach towels ready when we asked. It seemed like we had personal assistants on call.

She really had great recommendations for restaraunts. The Port has a lot of options ranging from high end to pub food and Sue was able to navigate that and get us to some great places me may have walked by. Port Douglas is a great relaxing place and Sue, Greg, and Verandahs is really well tuned into it. Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

An ideal location as only a very short stroll into town and all it's gorgeous restaurants. Rooms well supplied and adequate though our bed was extremely uncomfortable. Our stay was made by one of the best receptionists, sue. Nothing was to much trouble and she was a fountain of imformation and help

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Sue was extremely helpful and went out of her way constantly for us, to ensure we had a great stay.Thank you.
Apartments are in a great location, off main street,roomy and quiet.
Able to walk to cafes, tennis courts down the road, beach and town.

Room Tip: Top floor is nice- private, quiet and able to look over pool, but have to carry suitcases up 2 fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Shame we arrived late for our one night stay because this place is just beautiful. Sue was very helpful and gave us some great advice for our Cape Trib trip. My teenage boys loved the apartment and the heated pool. Great location, very well appointed and comfortable 2 bedroom apartment - will definitely return for a longer stay next time. FYI - there are no lifts so you will need to handle stairs and need to pay for wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Verandahs is conveniently located close to the main street and shops, while being quiet in regards to street traffic and thoroughfare. Our children loved the pool and there is ample seating for adult supervision. Undercover car parking is accessible from front and rear of property. Sue and Jenny offer excellent customer advice for booking tours and suggested many activities during our stay. Our tours were professionaly booked for us. The rooms are comfortable however they are a little dated and fittings are starting to show some wear and tear and needs fixing. The aircon units are in need of filter cleaning too. Verandahs has three levels and would definitely avoid staying in the middle or bottom apartments. Noise from above is noticeable as you can easily hear the toilets, showers, walking, shutting doors/cupboards which made our stay a little uncomfortable. Overall Verandahs exceeded our expectations for customer service & location but did not for other aspects. We would choose Verandahs again if we could secure a top apartment next time.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

“Good service is hard to find!!”. That is unless you stay at Verandahs. Sue and Greg and the team consistently provide exceptional service, always going beyond the call of duty to make sure that guests have a great stay. This was our second stay and we are hoping to visit again sometime next year. Sue provided wonderful guidance when we were looking for activities to suit the kids. Nothing was ever too much trouble – lending us buckets and spades and a boogie board to our kids when they visited the beach, helping us to try and locate my daughter’s lost christening bracelet, making reservations and making us feel truly welcome. The apartments are very clean and comfortable and are located within a short walk to the beach and all amenities. Verandahs provides excellent value for money and good family friendly accommodation. If you are looking for somewhere to stay where you are seeking not only a good location but good ol’ fashioned service, then look no further than Verandahs!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#6 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandahs Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandahs Boutique Apartments

Property: Verandahs Boutique Apartments
Address: 7 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verandahs Boutique Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandahs Boutique Apartments - beautiful tropical style holiday apartments set in lush tropical gardens and ideally located a mere 50 metres from the heart of Macrossan Street's Cafes, Bars & Boutique Shops & only 150 metres to the famous 4 Mile Beach. Blending luxurious comfort with impressive facilities, Verandahs Boutique Apartments offer 4.5 Star facilities perfectly designed to take in the ambiance of the tropical climate whilst combining all the comforts and convenience of home ~Book Direct~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Verandahs Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandahs Boutique Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing