We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Verandahs Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Resort & Spa(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meridian Port Douglas(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garrick House(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach Terraces(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveler rating
294
64
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
64
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetbig balconywithin easy walking distancerestaurants and shopsmacrossan stwell equipped kitchenlocation is fantasticbedroom apartmentfour mile beachlate checkwonderful staynice poolwasher and dryervisit to port douglaslocal knowledgefew minutes walkstayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 364 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We love this place. It's the fourth time we have stayed at Verandahs. The apartment is great, very spacious and the kitchen is very user friendly. The heated pool is a great bonus with kids. It is very close (walking distance) to the beach and the shops. Best of all though is that it is managed by two very competent and lovely people. Sue and Greg are very professional yet still make the place feel friendly. They are very approachable and are always ready to help with anything. They really make you feel special and are ready to help with any request or problems. They know Port Douglas very well and will always have good recommendations in relation to eating out as well as recommending activities with a view to what you want your holiday to be.

Room Tip: We love the rooms that overlook they pool. We love the top floor because you are in the palm trees.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment for 5 nights in August and it was great. We arrived in the evening and found quickly the apartment on middle floor. Verandahs is 5 minutes to the beach and the centre. Two large bedrooms with each ensuite bathroom, large terrace and everything very clean. Sue and Greg are very nice hosts to make the stay very enjoyable and we were very pleased with their hospitality. They arranged our transfers from/to the airport and are very helpful on providing suggestions for local attractions/restaurants etc.
We booked the Silvertronic Outer Barrier Reef and it was a fantastic day snorkeling at the reef.
Happy to recommend Verandahs for families with kids - nice pool.
Hope to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pberckma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My sister and I stayed in one of the two-bedroom apartments in May this year and would certainly recommend it. Verandahs is in a great spot, minutes from the centre of town in one direction and the beach in the other. Our apartment was a good size with a large balcony, and was extremely well appointed with virtually everything you could need. We were at the back of the building overlooking the road, but there was hardly any noise. If I were being very critical, I'd say some of the furnishings were a bit dusty (every time I knocked the intricate headboard above my bed, I was showered in dust) but the kitchen and bathrooms were clean.

Sue was helpful in answering questions before we arrived, and Bec was very helpful sorting out a few issues and recommending trips while we were there.

One tip - if you're a bit short on time and/or have a less than cast-iron stomach but still want to experience the Reef, try the Reef Sprinter. It's a 15-minute speed boat ride out to the Low Isles followed by an hour or so of snorkelling. My sister went and absolutely loved it, and the photos from her underwater camera are as good as any I've seen from the Outer Reef.

There are loads of holiday apartments in Port Douglas, but Verandahs had everything we needed in the perfect location, so we'll be back!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
Thank Rach680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Pros: The Verandahs is run very well. The suites were large enough for our family of 5 (we added a rollaway in the second bedroom), and nicely clean. The owner was helpful with booking local tours and was extremely nice. The location was great--very close to the main street, but not right on it so not noisy. It is also reasonably close to the beach. Towels can be rented from the front office for a reasonable fee. The pool was great--clean, heated (!) and with lovely landscaping. Included washer/dryer was really useful because of sand, etc. Outdoor space is big enough and has good eating area.

Cons: Minor items. Not enough towels were provided (perhaps to prevent them from being used for the beach? Not sure), especially since in the climate, they never dried well after showers. Air conditioners confusing and difficult to set to keep suite cool and/or dry (not clammy). Living area is not set up in a comfortable way--TV is mounted above the wall of the eating table since it is a tight space. Sand is easily tracked into each suite (they are all hard-surfaces, no carpet) because there is no floormat in front of each door. Since there is no cleaning service during your stay, this causes you to sweep and mop quite a bit. No spa/hot tub in pool area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notacamper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at Verandahs for 6 nights in May with our 3 children, aged 5, 3 and 5 months old, and enjoyed a brilliant family holiday in Port Douglas.

Our apartment was lovely, modern and tastefully decorated. The location was perfect, an easy stroll to beach and main street. A portacot and a really good jogger pram were arranged for us by Verandahs which made life very easy for us. We had a huge verandah which was great for the kids but did overlook neighbouring mantra apartments, so lacked a bit of privacy. But aside from that we had no complaints.

The pool was really beautiful and we enjoyed lovely swims each day. Often there were no other guests using it. (It was also one of the only heated pools I could find, which was great and necessary at that time of the year, as we discovered when we tried swimming in other unheated pools on our holiday, which were pretty chilly.) The surrounding tropical gardens were also really beautiful.

The staff at verandahs were amazingly friendly and helpful. Many thanks to Sue and Rebecca! They provided beach and pool toys, beach towels and fabulous advice about what to do in Port Douglas, with very realistic ideas about what might work best for a young family.

Don't be put off by the slightly raunchy logo on the website! To my mind, it does not really provide an accurate reflection of the lovely, tasteful place that is Verandahs Apartments.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews