We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A quiet place to call home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Terraces

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Terraces to your Saves list
Beach Terraces
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15-17 Garrick Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Taylors Lakes, Australia
1 review
“A quiet place to call home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We didn't really know what to expect, but we found the 300 metre walk into town quite relaxing as was the beach. "Beach Terraces" George and Traveen were always helpful with tour arrangements and ready to spend their time even for a short chat. The accommodation was clean and well appointed and our apartment on the 1st floor facing Garrick Street provided a quiet tropical outlook from the balcony. It is just a place that we were relaxed in , and if we return to Port Douglas, we will be return guests. "Beach Terraces" also appears to provide for families with pools and BBQ facilities available.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor facing Garrick Street, our room was quite large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    68
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
91
94
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have stay at beach terraces 3 times, beautiful pool area, apartments well maintained and clean, just a lovely relaxed place to stay, helpful and friendly hosts bob and treveen. 1 min walk to patrolled beach and only 5 min walk to shops, will definitely return again next year

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moruya, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have stayed at Beach Terraces four out of the six times we visited Port Douglas. We have stayed at other apartments but always tend to return to Beach Terraces for the convenience of being so close to the beach and an easy stroll to Macrossan Street and the Marina. The units are comfortable, clean and reasonably priced. George and Treveen are helpful and hospitable hosts. We always enjoy our stay there.

Room Tip: If you like an afternoon snooze, rooms away from the front pool would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed here for just over a week a number of years ago - way before Tripadvisor - fabulous place to stay and staff friendly and full of ideas of where to eat and what trips to go on.
well deserve staying here - you wouldn't miss out

Room Tip: have a ground floor -you get a little patio to your self
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamRob567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

What made this a great stay was Bob and Treveen, a very nice approachable couple who really looked after us. I was looking for an apartment that had a full kitchen so we could do a few cook-ins which this did.

I would definitely recommend Beach Terraces to friends and family.
It is in a lovely quite street off the highway, very close to the flagged swimming beach, and a short walk to town.The apartment was very spacious and set out well especially for a 1 bedroom

Enjoyed our stay here and would come back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, I think whatever you end up with will be a suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxineP958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Overall this property deserves a GOOD rating. Not a Very good. There was no GOOD option. The pools are fantastic. The BBQ area is great. The rooms are clean and tidy. The hosts were lovely. But the place is a little tired. The bed had springs coming out of them. The dryer didnt work properly. The loungeroom was nice and big but the couches were uncomfortable and had no cushions so you were leaning against the cane/wicker armrests. If you want to do some cooking you will have to bring just about everything. There was no oil, glad wrap etc. Previous places we have stayed at provide all those things. The location was great (1 block back from the beach). The saving grace of this place is the 3 pools. The are just fantastic. If its noisy in one then just go to another. Lots of shade if you like or full bore sun baking. This place is very nice its just that we expected (for the price which was during easter) a little more. But we had a lovely relaxing time. We love Port Douglas. We probably would look elsewhere next time just for a little more of the finishing touches.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bartboy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

A lovely place to stay. Apartments were well appointed and private. The main point of difference between these apartments and others are the pools. Beautiful tropical pool and lap pool - always able to catch some sun. Nice to be able to walk everywhere, but still far enough away for peace and quiet. Enjoyed strolling to the Surf Club on the corner and Macrossan St only a block away. We will be back!!
Clare and Paul

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 44 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#21 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#12 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#23 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terraces

Property: Beach Terraces
Address: 15-17 Garrick Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location..Location..Just 70 meters to famous Four Mile beach and a 5 minute walk to the town centre, the Beach Terraces has 20 1,2 and 3 Bedroom apartments, fully self-contained,air-conditioned with private balconies. Amenities include a Lagoon pool with waterfall and Spa, separate wading pool, BBQ area with sun-deck and a 3rd adjoining pool. Spotlessy clean and very well appointed you will be happy with your choice to stay at the Beach Terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Beach Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terraces Port Douglas
Beach Terraces Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing