We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position and great people”
Review of Beach Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Terraces
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Used trip Advisor to find this little treasure. George & Treveen made us so welcome and the location of the apartments is absolutely perfect. 5 minute walk to beaches and all local restaurants and shops. Couple of relaxing pools and clean and comfy rooms. Couldn't ask for better.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor - the stairs are a killer!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for Beach Terraces
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 265 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We do come to Port Douglas a bit and this year it was without the children who are now all grown up. The weather was superb and with the close proximity to the beach and shops walking was our major form of transport. We pretty much walked everywhere. The apartment we had was very comfortable and had a lovely view down top the landscaped pool. We used both pools especially after being on the beach for a while. The staff were very helpful and friendly fixing things for us straight away. We used the BBQ area for quite a few meals and drinks before dinner. But also went to some lovely restaurants as well. Highly recommend this venue for family as well as holidays with friends or as a couple. Thank you for the most relaxing holiday we have had in a while!!

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue for you ask to be on the grouond floor or 1st floor if possible. Try for an a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights with 3 year old and 9 month old in number 21 which is a 2 bedroom apartment on top level. Our overall experience was excellent. The apartment is 2 mins walk from the beach and only a few more mins to the Main Street which meant we didn't need a car or need to rely on shuttle. We payed about 300/night, which was more at the cheaper end of the accommodation range for what we were looking for so our expectations were realistic. The apartment is really large and relaxing. The condition of it is dated but we were happy to trade that in with being so close to the beach and spending our budget on the great dining options in port than over priced accommodation.

Room Tip: We were on top floor facing the west which made for good afternoon , a lot of other units don't...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This stay was part of our celebrations for my husband's 50th Birthday. The location is really great, the apartments being an easy 10 minute walk to the centre of Port Douglas and just a few minutes to the beautiful 4 Mile Beach.
Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment was very large and had everything we needed during our stay. The décor and some of the furnishings could do with updating but this didn't bother us at all and the apartment was very clean on our arrival. We did experience a lot of noise in our room from what the owner informed my husband was a sump pump (I think that is what he said) but we did find that by putting on the aircon we were less bothered by this and after a few nights we didn't seem to hear this anymore.
The apartments have 2 nice little pools and a lovely quiet sundeck, although the pools were a little smaller than we had imagined from the brochure picture.
It would've been nice if the reception was staffed all day but the owner was there every day at some point and worked really hard to keep the pool areas lovely and clean. He was very helpful if we had any questions.
We did think that we paid a very full price for our accommodation but it was peak season when we visited and at other times of the year I would say that these apartments would be very good value for money. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliemac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The clean & well equiped apartments are conveniently located to the beach, shops & cafes. The staff are friendly & helpful. There are 3 separate outside areas in which to relax by pools as well as your own outside private space. There is a myriad of tourist information as well as leisure reading.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandierb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 room apartment which was very homely. It was comfortable with all the mod cons (incl own laundry & a fully equipped kitchen). A bit dated in appearance but we were there to sleep so it was not a big issue.
Managers & staff friendly, very helpful with tours & things to do. 2 clean pools with lounge areas & BBQ area. Walking distance to everything or bus just around the corner.
A good place for families to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment,position is good near beach ,but no views.Apartment was clean and the complex reasonably maintained plus pools and BBQ.However the apartment was tired looking with some broken blinds and bent blinds.The WiFi only works in the reception area,$10 charge.One is charged for everything such as extra toilet role, washing powder. Our room was serviced without warning while we were away so we had no chance to tidy up and put our valuables away. We had a good holiday however for the money they could do better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachterraces, Manager at Beach Terraces, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for your review, we have never advertised that we have views. When you book a self-contained apartment, it is just that, we start you off with a starter pack and after that you look after yourself as you would in your own home. I am surprised you even mentioned it because you were not charged for the extra items you required for example laundry powder or the internet. Unfortunately, the blind was broken on the last occupancy and being up here in the Far North we cannot always repair such things instantly. In future I would suggest you book 5 star properties these may suit your requirements, bearing in mind the tariff will be far higher and you will still be required to pay for any extras.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terraces

Address: 15-17 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $99 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location..Location..Just 70 meters to famous Four Mile beach and a 5 minute walk to the town centre, the Beach Terraces has 20 1,2 and 3 Bedroom apartments, fully self-contained,air-conditioned with private balconies. Amenities include a Lagoon pool with waterfall and Spa, separate wading pool, BBQ area with sun-deck and a 3rd adjoining pool. Spotlessy clean and very well appointed you will be happy with your choice to stay at the Beach Terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terraces Port Douglas
Beach Terraces Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing