We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in Port Douglas”
Review of Beach Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Terraces
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location in Port Douglas”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This stay was part of our celebrations for my husband's 50th Birthday. The location is really great, the apartments being an easy 10 minute walk to the centre of Port Douglas and just a few minutes to the beautiful 4 Mile Beach.
Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment was very large and had everything we needed during our stay. The décor and some of the furnishings could do with updating but this didn't bother us at all and the apartment was very clean on our arrival. We did experience a lot of noise in our room from what the owner informed my husband was a sump pump (I think that is what he said) but we did find that by putting on the aircon we were less bothered by this and after a few nights we didn't seem to hear this anymore.
The apartments have 2 nice little pools and a lovely quiet sundeck, although the pools were a little smaller than we had imagined from the brochure picture.
It would've been nice if the reception was staffed all day but the owner was there every day at some point and worked really hard to keep the pool areas lovely and clean. He was very helpful if we had any questions.
We did think that we paid a very full price for our accommodation but it was peak season when we visited and at other times of the year I would say that these apartments would be very good value for money. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    76
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
109
106
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The clean & well equiped apartments are conveniently located to the beach, shops & cafes. The staff are friendly & helpful. There are 3 separate outside areas in which to relax by pools as well as your own outside private space. There is a myriad of tourist information as well as leisure reading.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandierb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 room apartment which was very homely. It was comfortable with all the mod cons (incl own laundry & a fully equipped kitchen). A bit dated in appearance but we were there to sleep so it was not a big issue.
Managers & staff friendly, very helpful with tours & things to do. 2 clean pools with lounge areas & BBQ area. Walking distance to everything or bus just around the corner.
A good place for families to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment,position is good near beach ,but no views.Apartment was clean and the complex reasonably maintained plus pools and BBQ.However the apartment was tired looking with some broken blinds and bent blinds.The WiFi only works in the reception area,$10 charge.One is charged for everything such as extra toilet role, washing powder. Our room was serviced without warning while we were away so we had no chance to tidy up and put our valuables away. We had a good holiday however for the money they could do better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachterraces, Manager at Beach Terraces, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, we have never advertised that we have views. When you book a self-contained apartment, it is just that, we start you off with a starter pack and after that you look after yourself as you would in your own home. I am surprised you even mentioned it because you were not charged for the extra items you required for example laundry powder or the internet. Unfortunately, the blind was broken on the last occupancy and being up here in the Far North we cannot always repair such things instantly. In future I would suggest you book 5 star properties these may suit your requirements, bearing in mind the tariff will be far higher and you will still be required to pay for any extras.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Beach Terraces for 5 nights at the beginning of our trip to Australia. The apartments are spacious and clean. The kitchen was pretty well-equipped with cooking utensils so we were actually able to cook a bit to keep costs down (restaurants are fairly pricey in comparison to America). The room had A/C which worked pretty well. The bathroom had laundry machines as well, which was very convenient. The location of this hotel is ideal. It's close (but not right on) to the beach (4 mile beach), very close to a bus stop, and walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The street was very quiet (could also be that this was not a very busy time in Port Douglas). There were a couple of pools but we never actually used them; they looked clean and the landscaping was very nice. The managers were wonderful as well and gave us fantastic advice for tours and outings. They even booked the tours directly for us with no additional charge making everything so easy for us. Highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Port Douglas!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second level, which was nice, but there weren't elevators so we had to carry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrh623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

It had been some years since we stayed in Port Douglas and we wanted somewhere close to the beach, near the stinger net and surf club, but also walking distance to restaurants etc. The Beach Terraces are perfectly located with spacious apartments. Two pools ensure there is always space for everyone to enjoy a dip. A perfect place to stay for our family holiday, we will most definitely come back here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We chose to stay here based on positive reviews, and we were not disappointed. Our one-bedroom apartment was very spacious and very well equipped. Holidaying during May meant that Port Douglas was pretty quiet - just what we wanted. The owners were very friendly and helpful with local knowledge. The location was great, only a few minutes walk to main shopping street. Having the underground carpark was a bonus as well. Would definitely stay here again, and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeelerHounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terraces

Property: Beach Terraces
Address: 15-17 Garrick St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location..Location..Just 70 meters to famous Four Mile beach and a 5 minute walk to the town centre, the Beach Terraces has 20 1,2 and 3 Bedroom apartments, fully self-contained,air-conditioned with private balconies. Amenities include a Lagoon pool with waterfall and Spa, separate wading pool, BBQ area with sun-deck and a 3rd adjoining pool. Spotlessy clean and very well appointed you will be happy with your choice to stay at the Beach Terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Beach Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terraces Port Douglas
Beach Terraces Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing