We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Terraces
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
dorset,england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2008

A great location,2 mins from the beautiful beach,15 min walk to the marina & bars,shops etc..
Very nice & smart apartment,lovley pool & bbq area,nice & chilled.
The owners friendly & helpful,i would defo stay here again,fab!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    76
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
106
105
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

After a lot of internet research, I decided to stay at Beach Terraces for our Port Douglas visit. We were immediately impressed and so pleased with our apartment! We are a family of four with two teenagers (who had their own room at one end) who had more than enough space. The apartment was clean and welcoming! Loved the balcony for morning coffee and cooking was a breeze in the open kitchen area. The large grill located by the lap pool (one of two adult beautiful pools) was such a treat for our barbeque! The pools were clean and warm and so refreshing..... The proximity of Beach Terraces to 4 mile beach and to town is a short walk and yet the location allows for privacy and quiet. George and Treveen were always helpful, in fact, George steered us to a wonderful 2 hour rainforest walk in Cooper's Creek. If we ever make it back to Port Douglas (and I hope we do!), we would definitely stay at the Beach Terraces again without any reservation....it is a gem!!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank AJMMConnecticut_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

I stayed at these Apartments for 5 days in September after selecting the property from the internet based on price and location.

The apartment we had was a large 2 king bedroom. 2 bathroom (1 ensuite). There is a balcony on the front bedroom and a deck opens from the back bedroom. The kitchen and living are downstairs so there are stairs to negotiate - not so easy with suitcases.

We loved the location - right across the road from the lovely 4 mile beach where the beach is patrolled. It's an easy walk to Macrossan Street.

There is no doubt this property is older but very clean. The kitchen had been renovated with modern appliances and very well equipped - no oven - just a cook top but that was OK.

Small pool at the Beach Terraces but the because the "Beaches" is next door and owned by the same group, you can use that pool as well. Also a Tennis Court if you are so inclined. I would stay here again because of the location, good rates and space provided in the 2 bedroom apartment. If you want 4 or 5 Star modern then it's not for you.

  • Liked — Space and location
  • Disliked — Stairs - quite narrow and tiled.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

We are a family of 5, with three kids under 11 years. We stayed at The Beach Terraces for a week in July. We had a two bedroom apartment with a rollaway bed for our third child. The apartment was spacious and clean. There are three pools for the kids, plenty of information available for reef cruises etc. The Beach Terraces are only a few minutes walk from beautiful Four Mile Beach and about 5 minutes from Macrossan Street in the centre of Port Douglas. It was our first time visiting Port Douglas and the owners were very helpful with advice on what to do. It was great to be able to hire beach towels too. Our Quiksilver bus picked us up outside our door. It was fabulous. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday are were sorry we weren't staying longer. We'll be back!

  • Liked — The convenience of the location
  • Disliked — Pools not heated
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

We spent 7 nights at Beach Terraces after looking it up on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The position is great - close to beach and Macrossan Street. The bus stop is seconds away and there is also a bus that comes past the front on a regular basis ( for wider travels). Unfortunately the weather was not ideal, although it was warm it was windy, and the beach was shut for a few days. The owners/managers were very friendly and helpful. If you have young children I would ask for a ground floor apartment as there are no elevators, we were lucky enough to have unit 1 which looked out onto the street and also over the pool at the back. There are 3 pools - two out the front one of which is a paddling pool (these seem to be in the shade most of the time) and one out the back. It was very quiet and we would definately recommend it.

  • Liked — position
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2007

Stayed in the beachfront terraces for 6 nights. The location is fabulous with ocean views and 2 minutes across the very quiet road to the 4 mile beach. The property is in 2 parts with the terraces being the older, the other section is know merely as Beaches. The apartment was huge. We had a 2 bedroomed, with 2 bathrooms. The property is over 2 floors. The downstairs is open plan with fully fitted kitchen and utility with washing machine and dryer (washing powder supplied). The kitchen is fully equipped with cleaning materials and cleaners, also washing up liquid supplied. There is a dining area and living area with TV, DVD, video and radio. The apartment is fully airconditioned. There are 3 terraces one off the living area, and one off each of the bedrooms. The rear one is huge with loungers and table and chairs. The front one has the best ocean views. The apartment is within easy walking distance of the the main street. Port Douglas is not very big and easy to get around. The property also has 2 pools. There was also a supply of tea, coffee and milk. There was also a dishwasher. This was a great location and an extremely well equipped apartment. Very spacious and comfortable. Also great value for money at only 190 australian dollars a night. I would thoroughly recommend this property.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2006

After 2 weeks of going around in Goldcoast and sunshine coast, it was a welcome relive to stay at the beach terraces for 10 days.

The apartment was airy and spacious, we had a 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom apartment. The apartment was huge for us with only a child.The apartment are clean and tidy. The resort manager George and Treveen were so helpful that they booked all our tours.

We enjoyed the daily walk to the beach (3 Mins)and to the village which is only a 10 mins walk away. There are 2 pools at the terraces.
Eating out is expensive does we did most of the cooking at the apartment, but on our last day we found a restuarant near the wharfs called the community club where the locals go for their dinners/drinks. The setting is excellent facing the wharfs, as you sit down to have your dinner, you could watch the boats go by. The price is also reasonable Regretted not finding it earlier.

  • Liked — Vicinity to the beach and to the village
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Have dinner at the community club
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bless55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terraces

Property: Beach Terraces
Address: 15-17 Garrick Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Terraces 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location..Location..Just 70 meters to famous Four Mile beach and a 5 minute walk to the town centre, the Beach Terraces has 20 1,2 and 3 Bedroom apartments, fully self-contained,air-conditioned with private balconies. Amenities include a Lagoon pool with waterfall and Spa, separate wading pool, BBQ area with sun-deck and a 3rd adjoining pool. Spotlessy clean and very well appointed you will be happy with your choice to stay at the Beach Terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terraces Port Douglas
Beach Terraces Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing