We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Opal Reef

Opal Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
$175.31*
and up
Calypso Outer Great Barrier Reef Cruise from Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

What can I say? Wow! This reef is amazing! We saw so many fish and reef types that my mind was blown. This was my first trip to the Barrier Reef and I couldn't have imagined a better snorkeling location!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CorgiButtercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    36
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

went out to Opal reef on a boat called Bubbles. Awesome time, great staff who hopped in water with you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
252 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“I've snorkelled around the world but this was the best I've seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We visited 3 sites on Opal Reef which is one of the outer reefs making up part of the Great Barrier Reef off the Queensland East Coast. We snorkel and have been to other reefs around the world as well as other parts of the reef off Queensland but at Opal reef I saw some of the best coral I have ever seen. There was a lot of variety, the water was crystal clear and luckily for us the weather was kind. The tropical fish variety is wonderful. We also saw reef sharks (harmless) and small stingrays. Our boat trip left from the Port Douglas marina. It takes about 1.5 hours to get out to the reef and the same on the way back. We visited 3 different sites which was excellent. If you are going to pay over $200 for the trip you need to book a fast boat and definitely a catamaran as they are more stable. The newer larger boats seem to handle the rough water better than the smaller older vessels. Check the wind and tide charts online at seabreeze.com.au before you book to work out which day will be the best during your stay. It may be calm in Cairns and Port Douglas but can be blowing a gale out on the reef. The seas were about 1.1 metres and wind about 12 knots on the day we went and a number of people on our boat got sea sick. Do take sea sickness medication before you get on the boat if you think you might need it. All the chemists in town sell it over the counter. Try to pick a day when the wind is gentle and seas as flat as possible.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank Enjoy_the_breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Great Barrier Reef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

There was a good swell ( 1 meter +) that made a lot pf people really sick! it took the pleasure of seeing the best reef in the world!! In this regard the Red Sea Reef has far more positives to offer!
The Reef itself was ok but to travel by boat in rough seas for 1.5 hours and the struggle to get off the boat due to the waves made the experience very unpleasant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramster_Sharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great place, we snorkelled here, and really loved it. Our son wants to move to Port Douglas (from Finland) so he can snorkel every day!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helssuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opal Reef also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Opal Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing