We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back.....and we have!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We'll be back.....and we have!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We have just come back from a week in Port Douglas and this was the second time my partner & I have stayed at Central Plaza. On both visits to Port we had looked at a number of other alternatives, although there are many other "high star" resorts in Port we've found Central Plaza to be exactly what we need. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment both times, plenty of room and the spa bath is just what's needed after a stressful day by the pool or a day on the reef! I really enjoyed lying by the pool with a good book and was sometimes the only person there. Felt like my own private space!! The communal BBQ is a great idea and we used it almost every night.
Without a car, Central Plaza is in a great spot, easy walking distance to the main street, beach etc and even quicker once you work out the back streets :-)
Would highly recommend anyone staying at Central Plaza, Fiona & Iain, thanks for a great stay and we will definitely be back.
Bronwyn

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penguin279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    89
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
140
77
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I must start off by saying how friendly and helpful Fiona and Iain are. I have stayed in my fair share of hotels, and these two went above and beyond to help us out anyway they could.

We were originally coming to Port Douglas to go diving on the Great Barrier Reef - unfortunately due to cyclones it was looking imminent that our dive trips would be cancelled. Sure enough, the boat we were planning to go with cancelled trips for that day. Fiona went out of her way to call several other dive organizations to see if any of them were going out. That was so nice, and saved us a lot of time since she knows all of them! As soon as we knew diving was not happening, Fiona and Iain suggested alternate activities and they were excellent recommendations. I wish we could have stayed a few more days, as Port Douglas is just beautiful.

The apartments are only a 5 minute walk to the beach and to the "main drag" where you can find great shops and nice restaurants. It's about a 10 minute walk down to the marina and marina-mall.

The apartment itself was great. Nicely decorated, clean, and great A/C. We found only a few tiny ants crawling up a wall from the window - which you really need to expect in any tropical setting (Fiona and Iain even mention this in the welcome book you find in the apartment). Just keep your food in the refrigerator and take out your trash to avoid any surprises. ;-) Also had a really nice patio with table outside our unit, overlooking the pool. My double bed was nice and firm, great water pressure, and very spacious.

The pool is really nice, with plenty of shade/umbrellas. We overlooked the pool in Unit 8. We did not use the community BBQ grill, but I did see some folks using it and they were having a great time! If we stayed longer I'm sure we would have given it a try.

Outside reception there is also a really nice little area to sit, with outdoor cushioned benches.

I see in other reviews complaints about street noise. I did not notice this at all, perhaps since we overlooked the pool, or the time of year we visited? Not sure - it seemed nice and quiet to me.

I absolutely recommend this accommodation. If you choose it, be sure to tell Fiona and Iain hello for me!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Qld
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We were very happy with our 5 night stay at this establishment. The managers were very welcoming on arrival and we had a large 2 bedroom unit (No.12, second floor) in the 3rd block which sits at the back of the complex on the very quiet Mudlo Street. As we had a corner unit, our balcony was possibly larger than the others and had an excellent leafy outlook. The unit was very clean & was adequately equipped with enough 'supplies' (laundry powder, soap, toilet rolls etc.) to save the need to shop too early in the piece. The only thing we didn't have was a bowl to mix food ingredients in, but we sufficed & I'm sure the managers would have remedied that had we mentioned it. Central is indeed as it's name suggests, central to everything & only a five minute walk to Maccrossan St. & a little longer to the beachfront. A car is only needed for sightseeing. As Port Douglas is a tourist town & over-populated moreso during holiday seasons, it's worth noting that although there are many accommodation establishments that front the main street, if you are after a quiet holiday it's probably wise to stay out of that area. We would certainly recommend Central Plaza to all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropicalshowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We stayed at Central plaza for a week in a 3 bedroom apartment. There was plenty of space for myself, my husband, our girls (2 and 4 months old) and a friend to stay without tripping over each other. Bedrooms were a great size - plenty of room for the port a cot in the kids room and the beds were very comfy. The hosts were fantastic and very quick to help with any needs you had - such as trying to work out the DVD player. The pool area was excellent, Lily loved the sandpit area, and we used the BBQ most nights. There were a couple of prams for use downstairs, which was a lifesaver for us. We really enjoyed our time at Central Plaza, would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64delux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2010

After reading the reviews of the Central Plaza Port Douglas i booked it for a 4 night stay for my husband, myself and mother in law visitng from the UK. We stayed in a 2 bedroom , 2 bathroom apartment and were very impressed. The apartment itself was modern, clean, spacious and had all the mod cons. The Pool was large and had plently of shady areas...it was great.
Location wise it was only a short 10 min stroll into the main street and even a little shorter to the marrina if you are heading out on the reef.
We thougherly enjoyed our stay - the owners were friendly, helpful and even arranged for us to have an early check in. This is an ideal spot for holidaying families. We found this to be very reasonably priced and would recoommend staying at the Central Plaza...we hope to head back there soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgetteoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

A very friendly greeting on arrival.
The apartment was spacious and close to town, although we found a block to far with young children. The hosts bent over backwards and lent us a buggy!
The interior decor was a little tired but nothing to worry about.
The biggest issue was an uncomfortable double bed in the second bedroom. The main bedroom and the kids beds were fine.
The only other thing we need was a kids pool which was missing although the pool was excellent.
Over all a good middle of the road option that offers 3 bedroom apartments which are tricky to source in the town.
I would go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The apartments were very clean and comfortable. The swimming pool was great being heated and large with adequate seating around it. The BBQ area was also very tidy and clean and well equipped. The advice and help we had from reception was excellent. We thorouhgly enjoyed our stay at this quiet and relaxing apartment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#25 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Plaza Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Port Douglas

Property: Central Plaza Port Douglas
Address: 35 - 37 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Central Plaza Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Central Plaza Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Plaza Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Central Plaza Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Central Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing