We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great appartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great appartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2007

Stayed at Central Plaza for 7 nights in November 2006. Apartment was very clean and spacious - two bathrooms (even though there were only two of us) with all the amenities you could want for a week - dishwasher, fridge, cable tv etc.

The pool was nice and big and staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about what tours to go on and what days to do them on.
We booked the accommodation directly through the Central Plaza website (145 AUD per night) and got seven nights for the price of six. We were happy that we got value for money.

The complex is a short five minute walk to the centre of Port Douglas but far enough away to avoid any excessive noise.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    88
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
140
76
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights in January as part of a several week trip around Australia. The apartment was spacious, well equipped and good value. The location is good, a short walk from the beach and about a 5 - 6 minute walk to the main shopping street.

The managers John and Kay were very helpful and knowledgeable in arranging trips and activities during our stay.

Overall the accommodation was excellent and this is definitely one of the best places we stayed during our trip.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2006

The reviewer below (Dec 10) pretty much said everything. We spent four nights here towards the end of November at the start of our holiday. I'd read the reviews and enjoyed their website, so was expecting a little bit of fun. But for £65 a night this was a mini palace. The apartment was spacious and very clean with all ammenities you could want. If you're a couple, you'll find yourselves with two restrooms, which is always handy ;-)

We never sampled the pool area, but this looked great for families on a longer break wanting to relax before or after a days activity.

We got a great price because the season was coming to a close (before the Xmas break anyway), but I know we'll return to this brilliant beautiful part of Queensland at some point, and the Central Plaza will be our accomodation of choice. Well done Central Plaza!

Darren
UK

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren_1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2006

After a long journey from London in mid-November with my husband we were delighted to find that the Central Plaza offered us everything that its web site and traveller reviews had promised us. We were allowed access at 8.00 am which was very welcome. The apartment was clean and spacious and pleasingly furnished. The small kitchen area gave us everything we required for the light meals we were preparing. It really was a delight to stay here for five nights.

The location was a positive for us. Not right on top of Macrossan Street, but only an easy ten minute walk. The beach was just a five minute walk away.

The pool was, in our view, the right size for the number of apartments, and was never too crowded, even though we know that the complex was full at this time. Indeed, it was considerably larger than some of the other "prestige" resorts that we could view around Port Douglas.

Kay and Johnny were very knowledgable about all the local tours - checking on wind speed when we couldn't decide which day to go the reef. They were able to book tours, and when small operators were not available they continued trying to book in our absence.

Really can't recommend Central Plaza enough - particularly for the price.

Port Douglas is an excellent location - not, as yet, over commercialised. Four Mile beach being magnetic, even for those who don't consider themselves to be "beach people". Great opportunity to just walk, and walk. Not a lot of "people watching " as away from the patrolled area, there is hardly anyone around - perfect.

Port Douglas has plenty of good quality restaurants, plus the opportunity to view some Cane Toad Racing at The Iron Bar. If you don't want to eat out there is a reasonable sized supermarket in the main street. If you need more provisions Mossman has a larger Woolworths (not like Woolworths in the UK).

Recommend a trip on the Lady Douglas to cruise the Dixon Inlet and go croc spotting. Also, sunset cruise on Ragamuffin III - former ocean racing yacht. Mossman Gorge is around a 25 minute drive from Port Douglas, and the walking tracks are reasonably accessible, although with limited disabled access. Pleasurable walking and easy access to the rainforest.

Reef experience was with Quicksilver. They carry large numbers to a floating pontoon daily. We were nervous about joining such a large carrier, but had a very enjoyable day. Provision for both swimmers and non-swimmers to see the reef. Organisation was excellent. Opportunity to view the reef from helicopter - not to be missed.


All in all, we would be delighted to return to both Central Plaza and Port Douglas.

  • Liked — Relaxed easy going feel, spacious and clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Going-grey-nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2006

We (my parents and I) have just returned from a week at the Central Plaza. We arrived quite early in the morning, but we were offered a room though check-in time was 2pm. We appreciated this offer. Then we expected a wonderful stay, but in fact, we were so disappointed with the Central Plaza.

We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment. It looked nice at first, but we found...
There wasn’t a stopper of a bathtub. ( It was provided by the night.)
One of ceiling lights in every bedroom had burned out.
One of light bulbs in a bathroom had burned out.
A ventilation fan in a bathroom was broken. (Kay insisted it was not broken, but the bathroom had been filled with moisture after use.)
One of four legs of a cut board was missing. (that’s why it was so unstable.)
Knives were awfully dull.
The range food wasn’t fixed well.
A sliding-door of a shower booth was half broken (though I managed to use it.)
A toilet paper holder was broken.
A key of the door (of room No.21) was terrible.
To lock the door, you push the button on the doorknob and close the door, it was locked automatically. But we couldn’t lock the door twice during our stay. We pushed the button but it didn’t stay in a doorknob that’s why it was impossible to lock the door. We tried to lock the door several times but couldn’t. We called Johnny for help. When he turned the doorknob, the door was locked soon. Very strange! We couldn’t understand why he could and we couldn’t’. He seemed to think we did something wrong. But we didn’t anything wrong! I suppose a technique is needed to lock the door. I felt anxiety whenever I was closing the door.

This property was serviced once a week so we needed to clean up our apartment by ourselves. But they didn’t provide anything to polish a bathtub and washbasin, so we were in a fix. I wonder if other guests don’t bother dirty washbasin at all.

We thought the location was not so super. It took about 10 minutes to the end of Macrossan Street. It was very hard to walk under the burning sun. There were other hotels on the way to the central plaza from Macrossan Street . We regretted that we should have chosen one of these hotels every time we went along the side of theses properties.

On the departure day, after checking out we were sitting in the lounge in front of the reception waiting for our coach. When the coach came and we are walking towards the coach with heavy suitcases, Kay was coming back to the reception from the street. We were about to say goodbye to her, but she ignored us! We swallowed the goodbye. Well, she was talking with a guest, but she must have seen us. That was true we were not her guests any more, but we stayed 7 nights at her property, how could she ignore us…We felt so sad.

I can’t understand why many people rate this property highly. We will never stay at this apartment again.


  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Key!!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank haneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2006

after a great week in PD i can tell you that this is one of the great beacj towns in the world, checked throughly a few places to stay, and if you are in a general circle to include this location you can`t go wrong. everything is within easy walking distance; beaches, macrossan street bars/restaurants, and the marina...room here was perfect, small kitchen we stocked from the IGA you pass coming into town. after having been in sydney for the previous week it was nice ti be able to throw a load into the wash too. pool not as big as pictures made it seem - but big enough for an evening dip. johnny the mgr. was very helpful in sending us in the directions too. would highly recommend this place and town to base your vaction out of, john

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of resort type facilities
  • Tips/Secrets — ask about reef conditions right away for boat bookings
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank johnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2006

We stayed at the Central Plaza with our young baby the first week of November 2006. The self-contained two bedroom apartment was large, nicely decorated and meticulously clean and contained absolutely everything we needed for an enjoyable stay - dishwasher, microwave/convection oven, clothes washing machine and dryer, iron etc AND had two bathrooms, one containing an enormous spa bath!!
The pool is very large and clean with lots of tables, loungers and shade to enjoy in between swims.
The owners are super friendly and ready to help out with any problem -from giving us some basil when we forgot to buy some, to helping us book a daytrip to Hartley's Crocodile Farm, to advising us which car hire company was best.
The location of this place is great as well - only 5 minutes walk to the beach and the centre of town.
Would highly recommend Central Plaza!

  • Liked — Size and cleanliness of apartments, location to town/beach
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#20 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Plaza Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Port Douglas

Property: Central Plaza Port Douglas
Address: 35 - 37 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Central Plaza Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Plaza Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Plaza Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Central Plaza Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Central Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing