We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great spot to stay”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent hosts. Fiona with a friendly smile went out of her way to ensure our accommodation was appropriate to our needs. Convenient position to town. Pool & spa great area with bbq, tables chairs and shade. Room was clean and well furnished.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandJ684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    91
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
144
77
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed during the 2013/2014 Christmas/New Year break. The location is great, a short walking distance to the main street of Port Douglas and 4 mile beach. The facilties within the apartments are good too, they are fully self contained so that you can cook your own meals if you choose to. There was air conditioning in the lounge and bedrooms and a spa bath in the bathroom. The apartment was very clean. There are no lifts to the upper floors. Free wi-fi was also available.

Under cover parking was available but was hard to come by given the number of guests and trailers etc being parked in the parking area.

When we first arrived there was a wedding party so it was a bit hard to get to use the pool and bbq facilities.When the wedding party left after a couple of days, there was no problems with getting access to the shared facilities.

The pool is great - it was very deep so it may not be that good for families with very young children. I would suggest more unbrellas or a dedicated shaded area by the pool. It was hard to get a shady spot by the pool.

When we stayed there, there were some problems with TV reception but who really needs TV when you are staying in paradise!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vectra113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We are a family of 4 and stayed over the Easter period. We found the 2 bedroom apartment to be spacious, clean & quiet. We were on the ground floor opposite the pool and were not affected at all by noise. Ample parking, the pool is large & clean and the bbq facilities are terrific with plenty of left over condiments in the fridge for use. The beds were comfortable and the washing machine and other appliances were easy to use.

We have a 10 year old physically disabled child & spoke with the managers prior to coming. They were extremely accommodating in placing us in an apartment where we were right opposite the pool, car park & on the ground floor. Very pleasant and helpful people.

The location is an easy 10 minute walk into the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmJayZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The Central Plaza Apartments are ideally located just a short walk from the town centre, 4 mile beach and the esplanade. The apartments are clean, fully air conditioned (with ceiling fans too) with equipped kitchens and a balcony. Under cover car parking is available but there are no lifts to the upper floors. The swimming pool and spa (with BBQ area) are a popular spot. We found the Reception staff friendly and helpful and it's the small things that make a difference - beach towels available, the loan of a bucket and spade for a child, suggestions for excursions. Free wifi is also available. Port Douglas is a great holiday location and the apartments an ideal place for a family stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0undleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014 and were very happy. Michelle on reception was knowledgable and very helpful. Our 3 bed apartment was clean, spacious and had everything we needed. The pool area was lovely, fairly small but this wasn't a problem - might be when it's busier. It was a 5 minute walk to the town centre or the beach so location was great. Would stay here again, very reasonably priced.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cfoster2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

5 of us stayed on 15-22nd march 2014 in a three bed apartment. Very clean and spacious overlooking pool. Both ceiling fans and air conditioning to keep all rooms nice and cool all of which were adjustable to suit. Very large comfortable beds with crisp clean linen large spa bath an separate shower very well equipped kitchen with toaster, oven microwave large fridge freezer and also a gas bbq and separate griddle to use free of charge at the poolside with oil, range of condiments, fridge and tools which we made good use of. Loads to do in and around area and owners Ian and fiona are very helpful and informative on where to go and have various discounts available on trips. Free wifi also very useful. Would highly recommend and would love to stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank astonmartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Booked a 2 room apartment (1 king + 2 x single) - arrived to discover 2 king rooms. Reception was shut (a couple of hours before advertised closing time - we had been rushing to get there before they closed). Our 2 singles sleep top to tail in the king (no big issue) because no one answered the reception phone. We check in the next morning and advise of the error. They blame the major online booking company and say they will only change it if we pay more money. We protest and show them our booking confirmation that shows the correct bedding configuration but they still refuse and insist that we pay extra before they change the bedding. Note, we weren't asking to change rooms, Central Plaza wanted to charge us to split the 'king' bed (two singles pushed together) and change the sheets. Terrible service. It was fairly clean an tidy - but we did find a cockroach in the kitchen - I suspect that is a consequence of the humidity. Fantastic pool. Pity about the unhelpful service.

Room Tip: No point choosing a room because they seem to shove everyone in the same type of room and attempt to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben_Melb_3977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 42 in Port Douglas
255 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Plaza Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Port Douglas

Property: Central Plaza Port Douglas
Address: 35 - 37 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Plaza Port Douglas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Plaza Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Plaza Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Central Plaza Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Central Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing