We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Gem - right in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Gem - right in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have just returned from a visit to Port Douglas and a stay at Villa San Michelle. We loved the rustic charm of the building and our room was clean and comfortable with a balcony overlooking "the cool pool". The provision of cold water in the fridge was a nice touch and the attention to detail was exceptional - eg: cutlery in the drawers was arranged neatly and not just thrown in. This said a lot to us about the day-to-day management of the hotel. Although we didn't use the BBQ, there were condiments freely available for use. The free laundry facilities were also appreciated. The choice of two pools was also appreciated, the heated pool and spa attracted families with young children who just loved it, while we preferred the peace and temperature of the cool pool (we were almost the only people who used it!)

The most important feature of the hotel is, without doubt, the staff, who were extremely helpful from the moment we arrived, and gave us lots of information and advice throughout our stay. We had a minor complaint about a noisy fridge on our first night, but when reported, this was dealt with within a couple of hours and we were asked the next day if it was OK. Superb customer service. If we get to visit Port Douglas again we will definitely stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed our facilities and appreciated the extra effort put in by all our staff to make the difference.
Hopefully you do get the opportunity to return to Port Douglas. We look forward to welcoming you for another great stay.
Kind regards
The Villa San Michele Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    190
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
179
305
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Villa San Michelle in Sept 2013. We have two boys , 8 and 12, and they both loved their own room with balcony and aircon. I was worried that the pools were too small but they were fine and we usually had one to ourselves. The heated pool was a real luxury. The position of the apartments is fantastic, right in the heart of Macrossan Street enabling one to walk to most places. The whole place was very well managed and maintained and very clean. The free laundry was a bonus but note that the WiFi, while free, is limited. The Weber BBQ is the best on the market and we made good use of it while the kids swam. I highly recommend the Villas and would stay again if we visit Port Douglas again.

Room Tip: Smoking is allowed on balconies so smoke can rise to higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael42s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are delighted you found the facilities to be well managed, maintained and clean. We hope you have the opportunity to return soon.

Kind regards and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a week staying in this great place with our 10 month old. The room was great, very quiet with a nice balcony, ceiling fans and air conditioning. Well equipped kitchen and clean and tidy bathroom. We spend lots of time in the heated pool and spa. There were lots of nice little touches - cold water in the fridge when we arrived, the free guest laundry, the BBQ with sauces and seasonings ready for guests to use, and free parking.

The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about local activities. The location is great - we could walk to the beach, the river and you are right in the main shopping area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Villa San Michele.

It is our pleasure that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

The Villa San Michele Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We left for Pt. Douglas after a few days in Cairns. This small town is much more charming than the big city. This hotel helped add to the charm. The rooms were perfectly designed and appointed. We loved the large silently-sliding doors and private balcony. We were on the interior of the building, so had no problems with street noise. Our only issue was what sounded like a fan on the roof that we couldn't turn off...but it didn't stop us from sleeping well after a day of snorkeling. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Get your room on the courtyard,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
'Best in Oz!' Thank you for your great review. It is lovely to hear that you would return to Villa San Michele if coming back to Port Douglas. It really is a shame that the noise on the roof wasn't reported to reception until check out as we have on site management that attend to any maintenance issue as soon as it is reported.
We look forward to your return stay.
Kind regards

The team at Vila San Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited the Villa San Michele in early August the room was located directly above a café restaurant overlooking the main street, the room was clean and has a private roof terrace, the room is air conditioned and heated the kitchen well-appointed and had everything we needed.
We didn’t get to use the pool, a little too cold for our liking but there were other people using it. The laundry came in very handy and was free to use.
Location wise it couldn’t be more central right in the heart of the town and there lies the problem, Noise!
In our room anyway we were woken up daily at 6.00am first by the bottle collection below us then the council workers using petrol driven blowers to clear the paths followed by the road sweeper, then just in case we fell back to sleep at 7am the café would start dragging out their tables and chairs!
If you’re thinking get an early night by that I mean 11ish forget it the bars don’t shut till gone midnight then allowing for the customers to disperse you may get some sleep around 12.30 to 1am.
That said we enjoyed our stay in Port Douglas and the Villa San Michele if we return I would request a room away from the main street where I am sure would be quieter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Villa San Michele. We are glad you found the room to be well appointed and clean and that you found the free laundry facility and location of our apartments handy. Also that, overall, you enjoyed your stay in our complex and our lovely resort town. It is unfortunate that the street noise impacted on your stay. We look forward to you returning and enjoying one of our quiet garden or pool view apartments.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived late after a long day of travel. Rooms were spacious, clean and attractively decorated. Everything you needed to cook or clean up included in apartment rental. So happy to see laundry facilities as we had been travelling for awhile. We loved the choice of two cute small pools. Nice place to relax after an active day in Port Douglas. The place is very centrally located...easy walk to beach, marina, restaurants and more. Staff, Olivia was lovely and so helpful. We'd return for sure! Thanks!!!

Room Tip: Our room was great but above street, so we could hear garbage guys in the morning. May want to choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for rating Villa San Michele as a 'GREAT PLACE TO STAY!' It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the facilities and found the staff lovely and helpful. Your comments are appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
The Team at Villa San Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We loved loved our stay @ Villa San Michele!
The location is perfect- very centrally located in town and you can walk to everything yet it is set back enough from the main road that our room was quiet.
Speaking of room- ours was beautiful with a living room, kitchen (and everything you need in a kitchen from a fridge to a spatula), bedroom, bathroom and balcony. We also got free WiFi which can be rare in Australia.
And last, the staff was super friendly!
Will definitely stay here again on our next trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FattyMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to hear you loved your stay.

Happy and Safe Travels. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.0 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: 39 - 41 Macrossan Street | PO Box 194, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele enjoys the best location in Port Douglas on vibrant Macrossan Street. This location places the village's boutique shops, cafes & award winning restaurants right on your doorstep. Magical Four Mile Beach and the Marina Mirage is just a five minute walk away. Villa San Michele's 4 star Mediterranean style 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments include free unlimited Wi-Fi internet and are set around a courtyard of tropical gardens with 2 heated saltwater swimming pools complete with sunlounges and outdoor seating, spa and poolside BBQ. Additional guest facilities include complimentary guest laundry, undercover parking, tour booking service, book and magazine exchange and on-site management. All apartments feature free Wi-Fi, free pool/beach towels, kitchen facilities, refurbished ensuite bathrooms (2 bathrooms in the 2 Bedroom Apartments), private balcony with outdoor dining, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, TV, DVD player, cable TV, digital safe, hairdryer, clock radio, telephone and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing