We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Oz!”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best in Oz!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We left for Pt. Douglas after a few days in Cairns. This small town is much more charming than the big city. This hotel helped add to the charm. The rooms were perfectly designed and appointed. We loved the large silently-sliding doors and private balcony. We were on the interior of the building, so had no problems with street noise. Our only issue was what sounded like a fan on the roof that we couldn't turn off...but it didn't stop us from sleeping well after a day of snorkeling. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Get your room on the courtyard,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
'Best in Oz!' Thank you for your great review. It is lovely to hear that you would return to Villa San Michele if coming back to Port Douglas. It really is a shame that the noise on the roof wasn't reported to reception until check out as we have on site management that attend to any maintenance issue as soon as it is reported.
We look forward to your return stay.
Kind regards

The team at Vila San Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    195
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
184
314
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited the Villa San Michele in early August the room was located directly above a café restaurant overlooking the main street, the room was clean and has a private roof terrace, the room is air conditioned and heated the kitchen well-appointed and had everything we needed.
We didn’t get to use the pool, a little too cold for our liking but there were other people using it. The laundry came in very handy and was free to use.
Location wise it couldn’t be more central right in the heart of the town and there lies the problem, Noise!
In our room anyway we were woken up daily at 6.00am first by the bottle collection below us then the council workers using petrol driven blowers to clear the paths followed by the road sweeper, then just in case we fell back to sleep at 7am the café would start dragging out their tables and chairs!
If you’re thinking get an early night by that I mean 11ish forget it the bars don’t shut till gone midnight then allowing for the customers to disperse you may get some sleep around 12.30 to 1am.
That said we enjoyed our stay in Port Douglas and the Villa San Michele if we return I would request a room away from the main street where I am sure would be quieter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Villa San Michele. We are glad you found the room to be well appointed and clean and that you found the free laundry facility and location of our apartments handy. Also that, overall, you enjoyed your stay in our complex and our lovely resort town. It is unfortunate that the street noise impacted on your stay. We look forward to you returning and enjoying one of our quiet garden or pool view apartments.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived late after a long day of travel. Rooms were spacious, clean and attractively decorated. Everything you needed to cook or clean up included in apartment rental. So happy to see laundry facilities as we had been travelling for awhile. We loved the choice of two cute small pools. Nice place to relax after an active day in Port Douglas. The place is very centrally located...easy walk to beach, marina, restaurants and more. Staff, Olivia was lovely and so helpful. We'd return for sure! Thanks!!!

Room Tip: Our room was great but above street, so we could hear garbage guys in the morning. May want to choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for rating Villa San Michele as a 'GREAT PLACE TO STAY!' It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the facilities and found the staff lovely and helpful. Your comments are appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
The Team at Villa San Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We loved loved our stay @ Villa San Michele!
The location is perfect- very centrally located in town and you can walk to everything yet it is set back enough from the main road that our room was quiet.
Speaking of room- ours was beautiful with a living room, kitchen (and everything you need in a kitchen from a fridge to a spatula), bedroom, bathroom and balcony. We also got free WiFi which can be rare in Australia.
And last, the staff was super friendly!
Will definitely stay here again on our next trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FattyMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to hear you loved your stay.

Happy and Safe Travels. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Villa San Michele. Great location, friendly staff, good sized rooms with kitchens to make breakfast, heated pool and spa and comfy beds! My only complaint would be the noisy fans and air conditioner in the bedroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KymBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay at Villa San Michele. Thank you for your review. Fortunately, our maintenance is done immediately by our on site manager as soon as it is reported to reception.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifden, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice place close to the heart of Port Douglas. It is tucked away from the busy Macrossan where the noise won't reach you. Jacuzzi not warm but that is our only complaint. Two bedroom suit with all the amenities. Free laundry.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Villa San Michele. We are glad you enjoyed our quiet 2 bedroom apartments and our lovely pools. We do appreciate you mentioning the poolside spa which is heated to the same temperature as the pool, (30 degrees Celsius) but is sometimes mistakenly thought to be a hot tub. We hope to see you back soon to our lovely piece of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Built in the style of an old Spanish villa this is a lovely little hotel right in the centre of Macrossan Street. It is a little difficult to find despite its central position as it is set back behind shops and restaurants. Parking is no problem as it has an underground car park. Our unit was really lovely, rustic ochre walls and pine inside, it had an excellent kitchen facility and our little balcony opened right on to one of the two tiny swimming pools. The bedroom was adequate and could either be open to the unit or screened off with sliding doors. The bed was very comfortable and the whole unit had both air con and fans in the living area and bedroom. A lovely touch was that the air con had been put on ready for our arrival so the unit was nice and cool. There is a BBQ by one of the pools that can be used by guests, one pool was heated the other not but neither were ever crowded. The hotel is in a great position, in the centre of town it is just a few minutes walk to lots of bars and restaurants. A large supermarkets is about 50m away and there are plenty of good places to eat nearby. It's a five minute walk to the marina for boat trips and 5 minutes in the opposite direction to the beautiful 4 mile beach. Overall I would certainly return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thankyou for your wonderful review and for going to the trouble of mentioning so many of Villa San Michele's fantastic aspects. We are glad you found the room welcoming on arrival and look forward to your return. Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 55 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.0 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: 39 - 41 Macrossan St | PO Box 194, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele enjoys the best location in Port Douglas on vibrant Macrossan Street. This location places the village's boutique shops, cafes & award winning restaurants right on your doorstep. Magical Four Mile Beach and the Marina Mirage is just a five minute walk away. Villa San Michele's 4 star Mediterranean style 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments include free unlimited Wi-Fi internet and are set around a courtyard of tropical gardens with 2 heated saltwater swimming pools complete with sunlounges and outdoor seating, spa and poolside BBQ. Additional guest facilities include complimentary guest laundry, undercover parking, tour booking service, book and magazine exchange and on-site management. All apartments feature free Wi-Fi, free pool/beach towels, kitchen facilities, refurbished ensuite bathrooms (2 bathrooms in the 2 Bedroom Apartments), private balcony with outdoor dining, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, TV, DVD player, cable TV, digital safe, hairdryer, clock radio, telephone and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing