We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing break”
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Certificate of Excellence
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“relaxing break”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Villa San Michele is right in the middle of the action which suited us very well. walking distance to beach, marina and all the great restaurants. the apartment was spacious with a balcony overlooking the street. The staff were great, pleasant and helpful. The bed was very comfortable. Probably the only drawback was that we were in an apartment over a very busy restaurant but that did not affect us too much. Street sweepers at 6.30 was not good. Would certainly go back again

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms at the back would be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    195
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
184
314
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Villa San Michele for 4 nights at the end of June 2013 and we were so happy we did. The apartment style hotel is ideally situated right on the manin street and yet tucked away -- a quiet oasis. Everything about the apartment was ideal - it truly looked like an Italian villa, spacious enough for the two of us and 2 daughters. Sweet balcony, 2 swimming pools (although the spa was unheated - the only disappointment), free use of washer and dryer, welcoming staff. If Port Douglas was closer to Washington, DC we would plan another trip right away! But alas, it will be awhile. But we can not recommend this place highly enough and the FREE WiFi was just what this plugged in family needed to stay in touch. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
So glad you enjoyed our 'Quiet Oasis' in Port Douglas and we thank you for sharing your review.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have just recently spent a week staying at Villa San Michele and recommend it very highly. Being located in the main street meant every thing was so close and convenient. Despite being on the main street there is no noise in the apartments so it is ideal. There are 2 swimming pools, one heated and one not, so good to just relax and have a quick swim.
The apartment was very clean and very nicely decorated. Every thing you need is available in the room.
There is a laundry in the villa that is free just have to purchase detergent from the staff for minimal fee.
I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to all my friends, great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of Villa San Michele and for pointing out so many of our accommodations wonderful positive aspects. We appreciate your recommendations and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Villa San Michele made our trip to Port Douglas easy and enjoyable. Our apartment was spacious, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed in it. Staff were warm and helpful.

The hotel is located in the main street of Port Douglas but we never heard any street noise - it was very peaceful! A great location to access shops, restaurants and the beach. We would definitely go back to Villa San Michele again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norton_BM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
So happy we were able to make your stay in Port Douglas 'Easy and Enjoyable'.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights in June. The location is right in the middle of the main street within easy walking distance of everything Port Douglas has to offer.
We loved the set up, it looks very Mediterranean and the pools are great for a refreshing dip at the end of a busy day (or just lazing around).
The apartment was very clean and spacious and we found the bed quite comfortable. It would be good if the apartment had better lighting as it was very difficult to read when sitting in the living area. There was a balcony area with table and chairs that overlooked the rear garden. We were unable to use it much as the people in the apartment below ours were on their balcony smoking a lot of the time, so as non smokers we had to abandon the balcony and shut the sliding door. This was really the only negative for us.
The free wifi and laundry were a bonus too. The receptionists were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of Villa San Michele. We are so glad you enjoyed our location, clean apartments and Non Smoking Public areas. It is unfortunate that the neighbouring guests smoking disturbed you. All our Public areas are non smoking but at this stage, smoking is still permitted on each guests private balcony only.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This Italian inspired accommodation is located in the middle of the main st in Port Douglas. Walking distance to everything you need, they provide free washing and drying facilities as well as free wifi. Outstanding cleanliness throughout the apartment, and very helpful reception willing to go out of their way to make your stay better or book you on any attractions or to call you a taxi.

Will definitely be coming back to stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. 'Best Accommodation in Port Douglas!' What more can we say!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for a week with our one year old. Very helpful staff, arranged portacot and high chair without a worry. We swam in the heated pool every day. Excellent location, on Main Street but tucked away so very quiet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the3naiseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for highly recommending us. It was our pleasure and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 55 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.0 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: 39 - 41 Macrossan St | PO Box 194, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele enjoys the best location in Port Douglas on vibrant Macrossan Street. This location places the village's boutique shops, cafes & award winning restaurants right on your doorstep. Magical Four Mile Beach and the Marina Mirage is just a five minute walk away. Villa San Michele's 4 star Mediterranean style 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments include free unlimited Wi-Fi internet and are set around a courtyard of tropical gardens with 2 heated saltwater swimming pools complete with sunlounges and outdoor seating, spa and poolside BBQ. Additional guest facilities include complimentary guest laundry, undercover parking, tour booking service, book and magazine exchange and on-site management. All apartments feature free Wi-Fi, free pool/beach towels, kitchen facilities, refurbished ensuite bathrooms (2 bathrooms in the 2 Bedroom Apartments), private balcony with outdoor dining, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, TV, DVD player, cable TV, digital safe, hairdryer, clock radio, telephone and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing