We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in Port Douglas, Australia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa San Michele
Certificate of Excellence
Port Douglas, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Port Douglas, Australia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our travel agent told us about Villa San Michele after I told her we did not want to rent a car in Port Douglas. We wanted to be near everything, within walking distance. This was definitely the place to stay. It was near wonderful restaurants, the marina, and the beach. The place was hidden and you felt like you were far away from everything. Our third floor 2 bedroom apartment had a balcony that made you feel like you were in the woods. The master bedroom was roomy and had its own bathroom and TV. The living room was comfortable with a small kitchenette. The dining on the balcony was private and roomy. This was amazing vacation spot and we came home with all clean clothes after using one of the two free facilities, just bring your detergent. Every staff member went out of their way to make this a memorable vacation.

Room Tip: It was difficult to climb the 2 flights of stairs to the third floor with our heavy luggage, but wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustralianVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
On behalf of all the staff at Villa San Michele thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location in the middle of Port Douglas with all the fabulous cafes, restaurants and shops right on our doorstep. Also great to hear you found our 2 Bedroom Apartments so comfortable and made use of the complimentary laundry facilities! We hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    185
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
172
296
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Thanks again for a wonderful stay. Loved the addition of the heated pool - only place I've been able to swim in NQ believe it or not!!

This is by far the best accommodation in Port Douglas for the price - so central, spacious and love the mediterranean feel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks for another great review! Was great to welcome you back for a second visit! Glad to hear you enjoyed the heated swimming pool - it is proving very popular during these cooler months. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metung, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We chose Villa San Michele on the basis of Trip Advisor comments - it was about the only self-catering property in our price range than didn't have more cons than pros! We were not disappointed. We arrived after reception closed and found the directions to our apartment - if only we'd read them properly! As it was, it took us a bit of casting around to arrive at the right place. However, once there, we were very happy with what we found - a spacious, very clean and quite well equipped apartment (even if some of the fitout is rather old fashioned). The complex is can be a bit noisy early in the evening (& when youngsters are playing in the pool) but it quietens down completely at night. The pools are small but very enjoyable - particularly the heated one in July. The location is terrific - right in the middle of Port Douglas, close to supermarkets and bottle shops (we were there for 9 nights and so were eating in quite a lot of the time), as well as restaurants. We'd booked a weekly service, but - sensibly - this was done in the middle of our stay, rather than towards the end. Best of all the reception staff - Karen and her colleagues - were extremely friendly and helpful. They advised on tour operators and booked tours for us, with payment put onto our hotel account to be settled at the end. Only two quibbles: the underground parking is limited and the spaces are tight (but it's free!) and the weekly service did not replenish bathroom and other staples.

Room Tip: Apartments on the south side face the garden and are quieter than those looking into the courtyards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helencm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for your review and great to hear you chose Villa San Michele on the basis of previous guest reviews. This year we were the proud recipients of a 2012 Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor! As you stated in your review we do offer both weekly and daily service rates and the weekly service (which is provided on all stays of 5+ nights) is always done in the middle of your stay. Although the tea and coffee supplies, along with bathroom toiletries, are not topped on a weekly service, other necessary items such as toilet paper and tissues are always replenished. Thanks again and we do hope to see you again at Villa San Michele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Was really impressed with the accomadation at Villa san Michele, the room had all the facilities you need even if we wanted to eat in and was clean when we arrived. It was also a nice touch after arriving late from the airport to find the lights left on for us.
I was a little bit worried as the type of room we would get as we booked through wotif - the room was exactly as pictured in the photos and although we didn't get a 'pool view' room the 'tropical garden view' was secluded and it was amazing that even though you are right in the middle of the main street of Port Douglas the rooms are very quiet. Less than a 5 min walk to the supermarket, heaps of different eateries nearby and the beach and marina are also within an easy 10 min walking distance.
The staff at Villa san Michele were always helpful and it was no issue arranging a trip to the reef and transfers back to the airport.
I had read a review that people found it concerning there were no windows in the bedroom and that the rooms were dark. The way the rooms are set up there isn't alot of natural light and you do need the lights on during the day but we didn't find this to be an issue. We also had friends staying at different accomadation but with exactly the same set up for their 1 bedroom apartment.
The pools are smaller than what I thought - more just for a dip or for the kids to play in but that hardly matters when the beach is so close.
We very much enjoyed our stay at Villa san Michele only down side I can think of was that the bed wasn't all that comfortable after we had been sleeping on it for a week...but then it's hard to find a bed as good as your one at home!

Room Tip: Rooms above ground floor would have much more sunlight in the room and on the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJH082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review Villa San Michele after your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our self-contained apartments and found our central location to be nice and quiet. As you stated we do have pool view apartments and tropical garden view apartments. We also have street front apartments where you can watch the world go by on Macrossan Street. Great to hear our staff met your expectations. We are small team who strive to welcome and assist all of our guests! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at Villa San Michele for 2 nights in July and had a great time. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. One of my friends left a couple of dresses in the cupboard and the manager offered to drop them off to us at our hotel in Palm Cove or post them to us in Melbourne, well and truly beyond what we expected! The room was lovely, had a mediterranean feel with a little kitchen and beautiful deck area, perfect for lazing on with a book, listening to the birds. Both pool areas were lovely but a bit too small for laps. The central location was great for restaurants and shopping and not at all noisy. Would definitely recommend it and definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Our room was number 21, groundfloor at the back of the resort and backing onto garden, so it was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gem412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for your fantastic review of Villa San Michele after your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time relaxing on your private deck and by our beautiful swimming pools. Also wonderful to hear that you made the most of Port Douglas’ fabulous restaurants and shopping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

After spending 5 days in a hotel just outside of the town with sparkling swimming pools which were very cold and a hotel with a very sterile environment, it was wonderful to move into the Villa San Michele with its warm character, very clean rooms, friendly staff and best of all, a heated swimming pool which kept my little boy very happy. Excellent location for the beach too with just a 5 minute walk there and couldn't be more centrally located for restaurants and shops. Surprisingly quiet for such a central location. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a few stairs, choose a higher level room for balcony privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayneRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you Jayne for taking the time to leave us this fantastic review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and especially our heated swimming pool – it is proving to be a very popular addition to Villa San Michele! We are also glad you enjoyed our unique Mediterranean style and fantastic location. We hope to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Pros- Very clean, well located villas in the centre of port Douglas, great restaurants only metres away, close to Coles, target, jeans west plus women's boutique stores. Would recommend for anyone wanting a romantic time away.
Cons. the pools are rather small and not suitable for lap swimming, quite often too crowded to get a lounge chair. Would imagine it to be very overcrowded in the warmer months and school holidays.
A must -- Sunday Port Douglas markets!! The best !!

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs ask for a room on the second floor as a fair bit of noise carries to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie21c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortParadise, Manager at Villa San Michele, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your personal recommendation. Although our pools are on the small side, we are very lucky to have two swimming pools, considering our very central location in the centre of Port Douglas village. We recently heated one of our pools and have definitely seen an increase in it's usage over these slightly cooler months! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
By The Sea Port Douglas
By The Sea Port Douglas
#2 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.0 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Michele

Property: Villa San Michele
Address: 39 - 41 Macrossan Street | PO Box 194, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa San Michele enjoys the best location in Port Douglas on vibrant Macrossan Street. This location places the village's boutique shops, cafes & award winning restaurants right on your doorstep. Magical Four Mile Beach and the Marina Mirage is just a five minute walk away. Villa San Michele's 4 star Mediterranean style 1 & 2 Bedroom Apartments include free unlimited Wi-Fi internet and are set around a courtyard of tropical gardens with 2 heated saltwater swimming pools complete with sunlounges and outdoor seating, spa and poolside BBQ. Additional guest facilities include complimentary guest laundry, undercover parking, tour booking service, book and magazine exchange and on-site management. All apartments feature free Wi-Fi, free pool/beach towels, kitchen facilities, refurbished ensuite bathrooms (2 bathrooms in the 2 Bedroom Apartments), private balcony with outdoor dining, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, TV, DVD player, cable TV, digital safe, hairdryer, clock radio, telephone and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Michele Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel San Michele
San Michele Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing