We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Resort & Spa(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meridian Port Douglas(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garrick House(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach Terraces(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveler rating
509
481
141
54
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
481
141
54
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe main streetprivate spahotel spaswim up roomfree wifione bedroom apartmentmacrossan stshops and restaurantsgreat place to staywashing machinedirect access to the poolfresh towelswalking distance to everythingafter hoursgreat roomcentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,184 - 1,189 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2006

Just returned after staying at the Mantra Aqueous for 5 days. When we arrived we were shown into our Hotel Spa swim up room which was tiny! There was barely room to manouvere around the bed (I have bruises on my knees to prove it) - it would not be suitable for more than a night's stay. When we checked with the reception staff they did have a one bedroom unit available so we upgraded to that. Unfortunately we had to miss out on the swim up part but it was definitely worth it. The one bedroom unit was quite spacious and had a great fully equipped kitchen and laundry. Each unit has a balcony with a spa. The photos on Stella's website are quite accurate - the resort does look lovely. The room furnishings are starting to look well used though (particularly the lounge). Also the zip up bed was uncomfortable - I ended up with a back ache every morning. Something small but I found it annoying - there were no tissues in the bathroom which I thought was poor for a resort claiming to be 4.5 stars. Also we didn't have any idea when housekeeping was coming to clean - some days they changed the towels and toiletries, some days emptied the garbage bin, some days emptied just the dishwasher.

The reception staff were delightful and extremely helpful - they are a credit to the place. They were more than happy to help book tours and transfers. The restaurant Zinc next door was expensive but well worth the $80 we payed for a meal for two. Brumby's bakery is also right next door. Four Mile beach is about a 3 minute walk away and the downtown part of Port Douglas about 3 minutes inthe other direction. The marina was about a 10 minute walk. We didn't have a car while in Port Douglas. I am glad we didn't hire one as eveything was so convenient. The local buses run every 15 minutes or so if you wanted to go further afield (like to the Sheraton or Rainforest Habitat). It is failry expensive for what and there is certainly cheaper in Port Douglas but the location was great.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Metta_Maker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

We stayed at the Aqueous in April 2006. The apartment was lovely, very clean and spacious and overlooking one of the pools. Had a spa on the balcony which was bliss. It is right in the heart of Port Douglas, which was very handy, you could walk to restaurants, supermarket or the beach. No need for a car. Had a large balcony which was good as it rained quite a bit while we there, but most of the time it would stay dry.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank where2go-next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2006

We got a great deal through a Breakfree voucher - $500AU for a 7 night stay in a 2 bedroom apartment. The accommodation was definitely worth WAY more than this, in our opinion. The apartment was spotless and so well set up - the 2 bedroom apartments are actually a hotel room & a 1 bedroom apartment adjoined by a little foyer, so you can open up the internal doors and make it a 2 bedroom apartment, but with added bonuses like 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies and 2 spa baths - not to forget privacy when you want it. It was a great set up for us, which was a couple and a mother and daughter.

The apartment had everything we needed when we wanted to cook meals, down to the things often missing from self-contained places, such as cheese graters and wooden spoons. It was modern and nicely decorated. It was in a perfect location, practically on the corner of Macrossan St and close to the beach. The 4 pools were always spotless, as were the bbq's. Make sure you have a warm spa on your balcony at night and then run down and jump in the pool! The toiletries in the bathrooms were nice touches. The only small oversight was that our apartment didn't get cleaned - it was supposed to be on day 4 - but it really wasn't a worry, or else we would have reminded them. Lisa at the desk was always helpful & friendly.

We'd definitely, definitely stay here again and hope to one day soon!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank AmyPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2006

We have just come back from a week long stay at the aqueous and we loved it. We stayed in an apartment room and everything was new and clean. It was great being so well equipped-dishwasher, washing machine, drier, all mod cons, but of course my favourite was the jacuzzi on the deck which we used every night.

It was so close to town that we just had to stroll a minute or so onto Macrossan street where we could choose which restaurant to eat at that night. The staff were really helpful in planning our activities.

The pools were great, 4 to choose from so you could always be on the sunny side of the complex.

We're looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CapitalKiwiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2006

Stayed here in October last year and have to say we had a great few days in our swim up room complete with jacuzzi.

I really can't find anything to say negative about the place, the staff were very helpful and friendly and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. I had made contact with them before going and all my requests were handled quickly and 100% to my liking.

When we arrived we had been placed in room 10a (I think - might have been b?) which was right at the end of the corridor in a quiet spot (as requested). The room was big with a great kitchen and sitting area. Cable TV was fine and had a good choice - more than adequate - if you are in PD then what's on TV should be the last of your worries!!

All mod cons including washing machine and tumble drier, fridge-freezer, dishwasher - oh and air conditioning unit which was 1st class too - and being from Scotland we needed it - very hot and intense sun down there :o)

Open the sliding doors to your private decking area with jacuzzi and then you have another gate onto your private deck (that has your own sunbeds on them) next to the pool that was clean and a little different with a seating area in the middle of it that also turns into a jacuzzi! Also around the pool area is a little bbq stand so if you have the desire to put some shrimps on then no worries.

All in all 10 out of 10....

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank evavou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews