We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great central location , good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

this hotel is very centrally located to the main street. The rooms are a little dated but we had one that opened out to the pool which was lovely. The staff at the desk were very helpful with booking tourist attractions and that made things very easy. Good hotel for families being self contained

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 383traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive experience whilst staying at Mantra Aqueous on Port. We are glad you enjoyed the spacious One Bedroom Swimout room type you stayed in, which as you mentioned, is popular due to it also containing cooking and washing facilities.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

On arrival I was greeted by friendly desk service and this continued for my five day stay. I enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to the main shopping strip and the beach. It was close to everything, in particular fine restaurants. The room I stayed in was very comfortable with a lovely bathroom and spa on the balcony. The small kitchen came in handy too. I had an enjoyable stay!!!

Room Tip: Choose room on the lower floor if you want to access the pool from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 409Rose_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive experience at Mantra Aqueous on Port. It is great to hear you enjoyed the friendly service, your room, and the location. We look forward to seeing you up in Port Douglas again.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Spent a wonderful 4 nights in the Mantra Aqueous in Port Douglas. The room was stunning. A large apartment with a clean and spacious ensuite. A large balcony overlooking the pool area fitted with a spa bath. Excellent kitchen facilities complete with man's best friend - a dishwasher. Air conditioning and fans all worked well to help this poor Kiwi cope with the heat!
All in all - a great stay. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located with the port and beach and centre of town with some fabulous restaurants all a short walk away. Beautiful pool areas on both sides of the hotel and everything in pristine condition. Definitely a 5 star from me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Papa-Bear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the location, apartment, facilities, and the staff. I will ensure I pass these wonderful comments on to our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for seven nights. When I booked Mantra Aqueous, not knowing Port Douglas at all, I was a little dubious, not knowing if it was the right location. When we arrived, we were thrilled at the location - 2 minute walk to the beach, 1 minute walk to the main shopping street, 4 minutes to supermarket, 10 minutes to the Marina. Handy to everywhere.

Our room was awesome - 9A was at the end of the pool and we had a really big patio area, with the spa and easy access to the pool. Washing machine, dryer, decent bathroom, great kitchenette.

We look forward to coming back, and now knowing the location, would definitely not change - would happily stay here again.

Staff were helpful with suggestions of what activities to do.

Pool was great with my daughter spending a lot of time here - although the spa function of the pool closest to us wasn't working, there were the other three pools you could have used if you wanted the spa part.

Fans and Air Cons in the bedroom and lounge room.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExcitedTraveller1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on such great feedback from your recent experience at Mantra Aqueous on Port. We are thrilled you enjoyed your first visit to Port Douglas, and that we proved to be a good choice for accommodation. We are glad you enjoyed your room and its facilities, and that your daughter made the most out of the pools surrounding the resort.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just returned from 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed. Great location within easy walking distance of everything. Lovely pool area - although weather was not very sunny while we were there I still enjoyed a few afternoons by the pool. Had 1 bedroom unit which had washing machine and dryer which came in very handy. Small deck area plenty big enough to sit outside on for breakfast - with private spa bath, although only used this twice. Staff very helpful with 2 small issues we had. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrhandsatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent 7 night stay. Although a shame about the weather while you were here we are glad to hear you made use of 1 of our 4 swimming pools when the sun did decide to come out. Thank you also for your lovely comment about our helpful staff, they are always willing to assist with anything our guests may need during their staying with us, and we are glad they helped with any small issues you encountered while here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Really enjoyed our stayed. Could not have asked for a better location. So close to restaurants and beach. The staff were great and helped us organise our tours. Rooms were clean and had everything we needed. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosebutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback rosebutterly on your stay with us at Mantra Aqueous on Port. It is great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Really like this property - was pleasantly surprised. Stayed in a swimout apartment which interconnected to the hotel room, making it a 2 bedroom. Was pretty awesome being able to step out into the courtyard, through the security gate and straight into the pool. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, fully self contained and there was free parking. Robyn at the front desk was a real sweetheart, going out of her way to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible. Fantastically located just off Macrossan Street (but not noisy at all) and a short stroll to the beach. Highly recommend for business groups, couples, a group of friends or a family with older kids. For a yummy dinner try Watergate - or I hear Salsa is good but hard to get into! For a lovely relaxed breakfast head to the Beachside Cafe on the corner across from the beach.

Room Tip: Go for the swim out rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovereggae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive experience while staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed our Swim Out Apartments, and I will ensure I pass on your kind comments regarding Robyn on the Front Desk. All staff sincerely love meeting and taking care of all our guests, and we appreciate the positive feedback given back regarding their efforts.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $102 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing