We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great resort”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Fantastic location, helpful staff and beautiful clean room and surrounds. the pool was always clean. There was no microwave in our spa room - this would have been a really useful addition to the room, although there was a fridge.

Room Tip: A room with a microwave would make a big difference for a week long stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback about Mantra Aqueous on Port and its staff. We do also have 1 and 2 bedroom self-contained apartments which offer a fully equipped kitchen, separate living area and laundry facilities, perfect for guests wanting the comforts of a home away from home. We hope to welcome you back to Mantra Aqueous on Port in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    398
    124
    51
    19
See reviews for
199
592
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuriootpa, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great location,just far enough off the main street that it was quiet yet only a few minutes walk and you are in the centre of the main eating and shopping area. The room was clean, comfortable king size bed and with good amenities such as dishwasher,laundry and good kitchen. The balcony spa and pool was appreciated after a day out. Would have been good to have a room service during our 6 day . We had a small problem with the clothes dryer and this was fixed strait away with little fuss by a prompt and helpful maintenance person. The staff where friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommending this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you Julie H for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Mantra Aqueous on Port. Our Apartments are fully self-contained with an added feature of a private balcony with spa which would have been well suited to your 6 night stay. A housekeeping service is included for reservations staying 8 nights or longer and available on request for all other apartments. I do apologise that you were not made aware of this by reception. Thank you also for your positive comments about our friendly staff and the promptness of your issue being rectified. I look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Aqueous on Port.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great room,location & staff - just a little noisy this time mainly from the car park behind zinc - loud voices early morning and late nights, trucks, car doors etc - didn't notice it as much on previous stays but we were closer to front of resort this stay - maybe a room at the back and on the west (left) side would be quieter? Would still stay here next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from zinc car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments from your recent experience with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apologies if there was some noise travelling from a neighbouring property during your visit, I can understand how this would be unwelcomed at the late/ early hours you mentioned. We will monitor this for any future occurrences.
We look forward to seeing you again in Port Douglas in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our second stay and was just as good. We had a spa room rather than an apartment. You don't get laundry facilities but you do get a kitchenette with a microwave, which is very useful for snacks and breakfasts. There is a Brumby next door with lots of tasty goods.
The pools are lovely and never crowded, as there are four.
The location is great, only a short walk to shops and restaurants but far enough away from their noise.
Our only criticism would be the bed, which had a hard wooden edge, uncomfortable to sit on and easy to crack your knees on.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you Vanessa H for taking the time to leave positive feedback regarding your return visit to Mantra Aqueous on Port. I appreciate your comments regarding the bed wooden edge, and we will look on how to make this particular one more comfortable.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Hard to fault our stay at Mantra Aqueous On Port we chose a 1br walkout apartment and were pleasantly surprised that it also had a spa which was not in the room description. We chose this room as it featured a kitchenette, but again was surprised that there was a mini laundry as well. Perhaps I should read the room description better as I did not expect the laundry or spa. Bonus!

The room was huge, clean and well appointed and outstanding value.

Outdoor area to spa and pool was also huge with a full size bbq which was mouldy unfortunately, as were the sun lounges. The last day or 2 of a 5 night stay a few insects started showing up in the room but we understand tropical FNQ so we can't blame the hotel!

Surprisingly the room was not serviced daily but offered as an additional cost that we did not take up, in fact there entire hotel experience could be described as 'minimalistic'

Port Douglas offers so much that it hardly mattered for us as Mantra Aqueous location was extremely convenient.

Staff were friendly and quick to assist with our enquiries and our package cost was exceptional value and we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting exceptional value and comfort but not a 'spa' type experience.

Very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Our room was 8a and worth every cent of the modest upgrade cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you Jesse R for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and you made use of your room facilities and Pool/ BBQ areas. We appreciate your comments concerning the BBQ area, and this will be given a thorough washdown as soon as possible. Tropical North Queensland does indeed have a climate that requires constant attention to cleanliness, and we are always working towards better ways to control this.
Thank you again for taking the time to pass on your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location just off the main street in port Douglas, close to all the restaurants & shops. The rooms were adequately appointed but the whole building is in need of some TLC. Our room smelt a bit & the pool was a bit grubby. The staff were friendly when they were there as the reception is not maned at night, could do better elsewhere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thepezzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We take on board all comments from our guests experience, and these are shared with our department heads to ensure consistent and excellent presentation and service. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the resorts location, and our friendly staff who during opening hours are always happy to help with anything our guests may require to enjoy their stay in Port Douglas. Our 4 swimming pools are inspected and cleaned daily, but please accept our apologies if this area and your room was not up to the usual high cleanliness standard we pride ourselves in maintaining.
Thank you again for taking the time to pass on your feedback.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Have been to Port Douglas 4 times in the last 4 years and have always stayed here in a one bedroom swimout. Staff are very helpful and friendly. We always request the same room and have never been let down by the staff. The pools are excellent and well looked after. The BBQ areas are clean. Its walking distance to everything. Couldnt ask for anything more. About to book another 10 night stay in August.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you Melanie M for the great feedback regarding your previous visits to Mantra Aqueous on Port. We look forward to having you back again this year, and I will ensure your kind feedback is passed on to our staff.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#25 of 43 in Port Douglas
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Property: Mantra Aqueous On Port
Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. All rooms at Mantra Aqueous on Port, feature a spacious balcony with outdoor spa, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Offering hotel rooms, one and two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. You can chose from either the Standard, or Swim-up option. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing