We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Xmas holiday at the Mantra Aqueous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Xmas holiday at the Mantra Aqueous”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed 7 nights at the Mantra Aqueous in Port Douglas from 27 December 2013. We had a one bed swimout (Room 5A). The room was very spacious and came with all the usual TV stations, limited cable TV as well as a DVD player. Also had full kitchen faclities and a washer and dryer. Our only crticism of the room was there was only an air conditioner in the lounge room. The bedroom could get a little warm a times although there was a ceiling fan in both the bedroom and lounge room. There was a spa on our balcony. The swim out was great and the staff were friendly. The location was great being right on the corner of Macrossan Street. The price was comparable with similar accommodation and the location was a big advantage.
Overall we were very pleased with the accommodation and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay over the New Years period with us. It is great to hear you enjoyed our 1 Bed Swim Out Apartment, and the location and staff made for an enjoyable experience. We also appreciate and have taken on board your feedback regarding the one air-conditioning unit in your apartment.
We look forward to seeing you again at Mantra Aqueous on Port in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    381
    122
    50
    19
See reviews for
194
568
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Having a holiday with our 2 adult children (18 & 21) we had a long list of "wants". Close to town and restaurants, not too close to be disturbed by nightlife, great pools, 2 bedroom apartment with all the facilities, clean, air conditioning, and hopefully friendly and helpful staff. The Aqueous had all this and more. The staff went out of their way to help, Robyn ( head of housekeeping) even unpacked our grocery delivery from Coles which arrived before we got there and put all the fruit and perishables in the fridge and left us a little welcome note.
The 4 pools were great - clean, a central spa in each and well maintained.
Next time we will try to get a swim out room but were very happy with the 2nd floor apartment we had. Every room has a spa on the veranda but we didn't use ours - maybe in the cooler months.
Marty the handyman was a great source of information and the reception staff were happy to help and arrange any of the excursions for you.
Great place to stay for all ages old and young.

Room Tip: Swim out rooms would be great and probably worth the extra cost but our dual key apartment on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you Clair R for taking the time to write such wonderful feedback, and it is great to hear you and your family's experience at Mantra Aqueous on Port was enjoyable. I will ensure I pass on your positive comments to our staff, especially Robyn and Marty.
All the best for the New Year, and we look forward to seeing you in Port Douglas again.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

If you want to be close to the beach, main street and close to all action in Port Douglas in addition to 4 swimming pools and stay in comfortable 'all you need in one' rooms this is the place to stay. We have just come back from 8 days in PD, stayed in a studio apartment (the room has it all but cooktop and we knew it and did not need it).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback, and the location definately is a positive for the resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to you visiting Port Douglas again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We're a family of 5 adults who stayed here for 12 days. My aduly children and their partners shared a 2 bedroom apartment which was well laid out giving both couples some bedroom privacy and their own balcony and spa.
The kitchen had only the bare essentials and we struggled to make a nice Christmas lunch. Four people get 1 salad bowl, 4 plates, 4 forks etc. I stayed in a spa room (one half of another apartment) so was able to bring extra plates to use at meal times. overall the room s are a bit tired but clean and very comfortable.
The rooms are really sound proof and all have a nice outlook, we were on the top floor. We were pleased we didn't have swim up rooms as they have no privacy during the day.
The 4 pools are lovely and clean and give excellent choice to be in or out of the sun all day.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Red263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to hear you and the family enjoyed your stay and made full use of the facilities at the resort over the Christmas period.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Aqueous on Port in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were expecting a very high standard when we booked this Mantra in Port Douglas and were slightly disappointed to find that the apartment was worn out looking. The furniture was all chipped and the drying wrack for your clothes was so rusty it was unusable. Apart from that it was nice. The location is what stands for it the most.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you Deefly for your feedback, and we appreciate your comments regarding some of the furniture being chipped and the clothes horse needing replacing. We will be conducting an audit in the coming weeks in all rooms to assess which areas of the rooms need updating, so thank you for the feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed the location, and we look forward to seeing you again in Port Douglas in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was really unhappy with my stay.
I booked a motel room for 8 nights but was put off even before my arrival by the attitude of staff when i called. They told me there was only one bus company that could take us from the airport to Port Douglas, showed no interest im our upcoming visit and failed to tell us that there are at least 3 other cheapet bus options + taxis. On arrival we were handed a pool towel and told there would be a $2 fee if we needed another - since when do we have to pay for towels when we have paid more than $2000 to be here?
We were also told on arrival that housekeeping would come on Monday - it was Thursday at the time! A motel room that gets cleaned every 4 days? Really? When we expressed concern, the reply at reception was 'we don't advertise anywhere that we offer faily housekeeping'. Ah no, it's rather a given that a motel room is serviced, advertising that would be a little odd. Even the rubbish wasn't collected so on the Saturday we left it outside the door - it stayed there for more than 24 hours, presumably ignored by housekeeping until I complained loudly at reception yet again.
The room itself was bare minimum size, the tv about the size of my
computer monitor at home and the dvd player that I had been assured would be there was not. The shower was mouldy - spraying exit mould truly isn't hard - and the air vent over the shower was growing fluffy mould.
On the Monday we left our room free from 8am till 1.30pm for housekeeping but returned to find they were still missing in action.
The pool was clean but did the maintenance man really have to walk along its edge pouring in chemicals at 3 in the afternoon when we were all using it? The spa was lovely but had no privacy at all.
I booked with the Mantra because I considered it to be a trusted brand name - I will certainly NOT be recommending it to friends and clients.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aml65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback, and apologise if you did not fully enjoy your stay on this occasion.
The transfer company that we are happy to book on behalf of our arriving guests is on most ocassions efficient, reliable, and has a large number of connection options. We are sorry if they did not meet your expectations. As the journey from Cairns to Port Douglas is well over an hour, a taxi fare would cost at least a couple of hunfred dollars, and not really an option for most visitors.
Pool towels for your stay are provided complimentary on your initial check in, and we appreciate your feedback regarding the $2 charge if more towels are required. We will review this procedure for Hotel Spa room guests as I understand there are not washing/ drying facilities in these rooms.
The resort does not include daily servicing with your booking, as described in the conditions while making your reservation. Please accept our apologies if you were not aware of this at the time of you booking, or if your travel agent did not advise you. For guests staying longer than one week, as you did, there is a mid service clean that is provided.
As stated in the welcome letter you receive on arrival, bins are located near the lifts on the basement level.
I understand you booked a Hotel Spa Room for your 8 night stay, which are indeed a standard hotel room size with a spa on the balcony. Fortunately we do have other room options for our guests to book, which include the One Bedroom Spa Apartments, that have full kitchen facilities, laundry, spacious lounge/ dining and seperate bedroom.
I have noted your other concerns regarding cleanliness in your bathroom, and this will be passed on to our Housekeeping Manager for follow up.
Thank you again for providing such detailed feedback regarding your stay, and please accept my apologies if it was not to our usual high standards we continually aim for.
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

1 bedroom spa apartment is roomy and comfortable!
Everything you need including laundry, cooktop, fridge, microwave, coffee tea making and a spacious bathroom.
Love the verandah and spa!
Great walking distance to town but not too close to be in the noise and bustle.
Mantra Heritage and Mantra in the village are closer to main drag but I chose Mantra Aqueous for the space and the self contained accom.
Very relaxing and look forward to the next few days here! :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rienne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the One Bedroom Spa Apartment, as you stated they are quite spacious with everything you require for an enjoyable break.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year!
Kind Regards,
Paul Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Property: Mantra Aqueous On Port
Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. All rooms at Mantra Aqueous on Port, feature a spacious balcony with outdoor spa, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Offering hotel rooms, one and two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. You can chose from either the Standard, or Swim-up option. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing