We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mantra Aqueous On Port.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A great place to stay, we were concerned about coming at the height of summer but found the accommodation with its orientation around the swimming pools just great for the grandkids. The easy access to everything including Macrossan St,The beach,The Restaurants,The Port,The Friendly Environment made it all an experience that we will hopefully repeat many times in the future. The climate and ambience of the whole establishment during our stay seemed very seductive and we felt reluctant to leave. Shannon and his team made us all feel special to be able to chill out in a relaxing surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

HI Vic,

Thank you kindly for your review. We have had a great summer season and as you have reported the weather has been outstanding through December and January. We encourage all our travellers to visit Port Douglas during this period as we have arguably had some of the best leisure condition in Australia the past 2 years.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Mantra Aqueous on Port. It was a pleasure to have you in and about the Resort during your visit and look forward to our next opportunity to accommodate your stay in paradise.

Best Wishes.

Shannon Exelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Aqueous On Port
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and were pleased with our choice. It’s in a good spot nearly at the end of the main road with all the shops, bars and restaurants. The room allowed you to be self-contained if you wished to be with some kitchen items included. The balcony (which overlooked one of the 4 pools) had a hot hub on it – but it took about an hour to fill and was noisy when running, so we didn’t use it for long so as not to disturb others. The room was small with limited space for storing clothes but it was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The kind man on reception took our washing to another Mantra in the town that has laundry facilities and he bought it back to us clean and dry – at no charge. That was a great help.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllyM810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi AllyM810,

Thank you for review of Mantra Aqueous on Port.

To assist future travellers the room type that you had selected for your stay with us was a Spa Room. This room type is a studio style accommodation. We also offer 1 Bedroom apartments which come fully self contained with extra living space.

Your mention of the location of the resort to Macrossan street and the Beach is what sets apart from other accommodation in Port Douglas. We have now received our 3rd consecutive Best Accommodation Resort in Port Douglas award voted by Travellers and it is easy to see why with your review.

Thank you for your stay and Best wishes for future travelling endeavours.

Kindly
Shannon Exelby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My second stay at this accomodation and I have no doubt i will be back.
I had asked for particular rooms and was impressed with the effort they made to make it happen. Fantastic and very friendly service.
easy to see why they have won Port douglas accomodationl of the year 3 years in a row.

Room Tip: The swim out rooms are worth paying extra. Bliss
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

HI Tanya,

It was fantastic to welcome you back this January. We offered some great weather again this year. I am sure that the word will quickly spread through New Zealand and our southern States that January has become a perfect time to make tracks to paradise in Port Douglas.

We would like to thank you for your time in posting a review. We are very proud to be the multi Award Accommodation Resort in the heart of Port Douglas and appreciate your recommendations to our next arrivals.

Best Wishes

Shannon Exelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

As soon as you walk into your room you feel as if you're in another world far removed from the working world that you've just come from. I thought I would have to go to an overseas resort to leave my working world behind but this piece of paradise had the same atmosphere. You can be entirely self sufficient in your unit which has all the comforts of home and just do a little shop at the supermarket nearby or take the short stroll to the restaurant strip and dine out. We enjoyed the pool just outside our room, just dive in from the deck and then cool off in your lovely AC room. We just had a great relax, caught up on some reading, watched a few movies, went for a sunset stroll on the beach, ate out, slept in late (the shutters on the windows black out all the light and deceive you into thinking its still night) and relaxed- first class. Congratulations to Shannon and the friendly and courteous staff at Aqueous. Loved it.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Wendyxlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

HI Wendy,

This is such a lovely review. You have been able to capture so many of the unique elements that make Mantra Aqueous on Port the "Best Accommodation" in Port Douglas.
We are delighted that Mantra Aqueous on Port was selected to provide the perfect base for your holiday.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your family and friends back to the Resort into the future. Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly to create your next booking.

Kind regards'


Shannon Exelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I found Mantra Aqueous hotel to be an extremely good clean hotel, the pools (all 4 of them) were well maintained, the outside terraces and BBQ area were spotless at all times (barring from when other inconsiderate guests left their rubbish around, which was not often).
Rooms were of a good size and well appointed, with a high standard of kitchen equipment, including dishwasher, microwave, washing machine and a drier. The room was made available earlier than expected, which was a nice touch when checking in, on inspection, the room was absolutely spotless, the balcony having a spa bath was also spotless.
Location wise, the Aqueous is towards the beach end of the main street in Port Douglas and in my opinion the best end, as the noise from outside bars and restaurants and not to mention the bird life in the early evening can be a bit much at the other end of town.
All staff I met and had any dealings with, were extremely friendly and more than happy to assist in making bookings, arranging for travel back to airports and with recommendations on where best to eat.
We both had an extremely pleasant stay in the Aqueous hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Port Douglas.
Only one point of note, the lack of Wifi is annoying as you have to go to one of the various places along the high street, however, I believe the hotel are looking into this.

Room Tip: With pools all around the hotel everyone has a view, the swim out rooms are probably the best but ca...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

HI Bobrennie,
XMAS 2012 was a brilliant time to be in Port Douglas. Some fantastic weather as seems to becoming the norm and a buzz of atmosphere around the seaside town.
We are all very proud to read your review with great positive experiences of your time with us at Mantra Aqueous on Port.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards
Shannon Exelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Mantra Aqueous in Port Douglas. I was really happy with everything about my stay. I stayed in a 1 bedroom swim out room. It was spacious, clean, light, cool, very comfortable, had everything I needed. Staff were really friendly and helpful, from the initial booking of my room through to helping me with advice to book tours and transport. Also a fantastic location, just next to macrossan st and 4 mile beach.
I will definately stay there again when I return :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdehavil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

HI rdehavil,

Thanks for the Fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Please don't hesitate to contact myself directly to organise your next stay with Mantra Aqueous on Port.

Best Wishes

Shannon Exelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here over valentines interesting place as has its own pools on either side. It is a an apartment type hotel and had a nice spa bath on the balcony of our room very good.
Because of the time of year most of the eateries were closed but having facilities in the room was very useful.
Reception staff helpful and there was plenty Information on things to do.
Booked a great trip on the catamaran Sailaway via the hotel.
Interesting place well worth a visit

Room Tip: Room with spa bath great fun
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarefreeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

HI CarefreeK,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Mantra Aqueous on Port. We look forward to welcoming more of your friends and family from the UK in 2013. Such a great destination for the international and domestic traveller, so much to do and see and relaxation plus.
From all the Team - Happy travelling,

Kind Regards
Shannon Exelby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#12 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $102 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing