We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing room”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Fantastic hotel - swim out rooms are beautiful and make your stay even more special. Very friendly and helpful staff. We were lucky because it seemed to be very quiet at the hotel and we were the only ones using the pool most of the time. Private spa is also a fantastic bonus. Great location - would highly recommend it

Room Tip: worth spending a bit more for a swim out room - one that gets the afternoon sun rather than the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgriff_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    398
    124
    51
    19
See reviews for
198
592
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had a swim out room with private spa. Loved the view from the room - lovely tropical setting and crystal clear pool. Close to everything, very helpful staff. Couldnt have asked for more - except more time!

Room Tip: worth getting a swim out room for the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
HI Solomum,

From the Team at Mantra Aqueous Thank You for taking the time to place your experiences for other travelers to review. We are extremely pleased that your Holidaying adventure to Tropical Port Douglas has met your every expectation. We would love to see you back here again in the future so please do not hesitate to contact the Hotel directly to best assist you with your every arrangement.

Kind Regards and Happy Traveling
Shannon Exelby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This hotel is in a great location just around the corner from Macrossan St. It is nice and quiet, close the the beach, shops etc.
We rented a 1 bedroom apartment for 5 nights. It had a large bathroom, bedroom, living room and kitchen, with all appliances. Lareg balcony with a spa bath (not very deep but ok)
The only problem is it is unserviced, but at anytime you can go and get clean towels from reception. We had a view of the pool which was lovely.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SAL1979_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Fantastic to see your review on line. You have made some great points for others to view. Great Location, Nice and Quiet, Close to the Beach & Shops, Large Bathroom, Living Space, Kitchen with Appliances, Large Balcony with Spa Bath. A 5 out of 5 rating and we will be back compliments are the reasons why Mantra Aqueous is the home away from home year after year for many of our Guests. We look forward to welcoming you back, and ensure to call us directly to arrange the best services for your next stay.
Thank you and Best Wishes.
Shannon Exelby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for 7 days in the self contained accommodation with lounge and kitchen. . The room had a balcony overlooking the pool.We had a late check in,the reception was closed.We had to ring for the code to get in to the box for the key.So there was a delay which was'n to bad.. The underground parking was excellent The room facilities were good and the bed comfortable.However there were children playing in the pool at 6.30 in the morning and the were people in the pool at 10 .30 in the evening, so there was a great deal of noise which seem to travel up to our room. All rooms over look the pool and the pool curfew isn't policed so if you stay expect the noise.The main street was just around the corner,very handy for restaurants and shopping.Because of the noise we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Well, it is that time of year when Salty and Mrs Croc make their journey to the deep north to bask in the sunshine after a hard winter down south. This year we stayed at the Mantra Aqueous. Our stay was something of a gamble since we booked the room way back in June at a special deal, and because we were unsure of the weather so close to the start of the wet season.

We booked this room through the Mantra departure lounge facility, to which I have access at work and peruse for specials when I am not out there foreclosing on working families or evicting little old ladies in my brilliant career as a debt collector. We were a bit concerned about the place billing itself as ‘family friendly’ since the missus can’t stand the thought of the little darlings pissing in the pool and running around the deck squealing. Also, the proximity to the rear of the shops on Macrosson Street had us a bit concerned as there can be a lot of noise, and the missus needs her rest!

I am pleased to report that we had no need for any worries. The weather was fantastic, and I would happily return in November again. The water was a lovely 26C, and the pool was great as well. The Mantra was reasonably appointed and comfortable; and we hardly saw any of our future leaders running amok on the pool deck all week. The noise from the shops was minimal and the trash collection began around 6:45 am, which is normal for Port Douglas and quite late for Salty, who knows very well that early morning is the best time to repo cars! There were no late night yobs wandering the streets raising cane and looking for trash cans to tip over.

The room itself was a spacious and comfortable. It was well-appointed with a full size laundry and with a large bathroom. The refrigerator and laundry appliances were new. The bedroom was air conditioned separately so that I could ‘reduce my carbon footprint’ according to the Mantra literature on the counter. The balcony with table and chairs overlooked the pool. There was a spa bath to the side of the balcony and it was screened for privacy from the ogling eyes of the neighbourhood perverts. Overall, it was comfortable and pleasant for a week at the beach. Some of the furniture was a bit tired, and the king-sized bed had a rather uncomfortable board running through the middle of it (like a lot of places, they just joined two single beds together and called it a king.) But for the price I can’t complain too much; you take what you get on holiday.

Now, the negative. When we opened the door to the flat upon arriving, we were hit with the smell of 100 cans of Snappy Tom cat food baking in the tropical sun! It was like being slapped in the face with a very dead fish except that John Cleese was not on the other end of the fish. After checking the place for dead bodies (and finding none, thankfully) I moved onto the kitchen and found the fume hood over the stove absolutely dripping in stinky grease. Now Salty’s view on life is that if you want something done on Saturday afternoon, you had better do it yourself. So on our trip to Coles supermarket we got a can of oven cleaner and I degreased the fume hood, which seemed to do the trick in combination with turning the fans on high, opening all the windows, and letting the cigarette smoke from the German couple in the neighbouring flat waft gently through the place for an hour (who says second hand smoke doesn’t have any use!) The state of the fume hood and the little microwave/convection oven was pretty poor and pointed to a lack of quarterly maintenance by Mantra.

The other negative was that some bogan who had stayed there before us obviously got frustrated with the television, and, like a good moron, he yanked all the cables on back of the tv set and cable boxes as hard as he possibly could (no doubt figuring that his anger alone would make things work). It didn’t, and all he left behind was a co-axial cable pulled completely out of the set. Having had a 30 year old English car, I know all about dodgy electrics and was able to reconnect the set myself rather than placing a call to the poor girl on the front desk, who would contact the repairman to come next week. This proved fortuitous, because after the repair, the only station that we could get was Fox Sports 8 and I was able to watch non-stop wrestling all week long. (Mrs Croc will not let me have cable at home for this precise reason! So, while I watched John Cena square off against The Rock, she complained bitterly and read her 17 magazines on Jennifer Anniston – there is a case of hypocrisy if there ever was!) Nevertheless, I have to wonder what sort of regular room inspection is done by Mantra.

So there you have it, another week in a tropical paradise come and gone. The Mantra Aqueous is a bit tired, like me, and it could use a bit of TLC to spruce it up (who couldn’t – let’s be honest). But overall, if you can get a good rate, it is pretty good value. Just bring your own tool kit!

Room Tip: Try and stay on the south side to avoid the rear of the shops on Macrossan street on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank saltycroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Mantra Aqueous On Port, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Hi Salty,
A creative mixture of humor and feedback with in your review. I appreciate your taking the time to offer your holiday experience. Disappointing that we were not aware of your television problems to help you during your stay. A very rare comment on our House Keeping. I offer my apology to your self and partner for the service problems you experienced and will certainly address this with our team. I am sure the rest of your stay and holidaying was above expectation, and hope that you can contact myself directly to help organize your next stay here in Port Douglas. Thank you for staying with Mantra Aqueous we have enjoyed having you here.
Regards
Shannon Exelby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I only just got back from staying at Mantra Aqueous on Port and already can't wait to write the review!!

We had a late check in, around 10.30 and it was the smoothest we ever had. It took less than 5 minutes to get our key and in less than 10 minutes we were already in our room.
We had the spa room and were very happy with it. The room size is perfect, not too small with enough room for our two suitcases. The spa was probably the best thing in our room. The room was also equipped with microwave, kettle, toaster, cutleries and sink.
Location wise - perfect!! It is located in a quieter part of Port Douglas with only minutes walking to restaurants, bars, cafes, shops and Port Douglas market. The beach is pretty much just a few steps away.
The only down part is probably the room smells a little bit but since we hardly spent the time inside except when we slept, it was not a big issue. Oh another one, they use wooden sliding door as "curtain" and there is a 20 cm gap in between left and right side. In the morning it was really annoying as the sun easily went straight thru to our room and woke me up every morning at 5. Would suggest to bring eye mask!!
I would definitely recommend friends and families to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina0183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Very disappointed in this hotel. We were booked in for a 7 nights stay recently in a dual key 2 bed apartment. The main bedroom attached to the kitchen area was quite good as was the kitchen area BUT there was only a disgustingly shabby old two seater lounge for four adults to share and watch TV. The staff brought up another one but it was just as shabby. The dining room table was smaller than the coffee table about 600mm in diameter. We were told that the owners of the apartment had not updated and would be advised of our problems.
We were in the second bedroom which had the worst mattress - I don't know how old it was but old enough that if you moved to the middle of the bed you rolled down to the sides again. The wardrobe in this second bedroom was a single cupboard. Along with a rail for hanging clothes was a broom, a mop, dustpan, basin, ironing board and iron. We complained and were offered a room on the otherside of the hallway which had noise from a nearby restaurant's refrigeration going day and night. Not to be fussy but this was also unacceptable. The swim up rooms are a nice idea with spa baths on the balcony but it is a bit closed in and dark.

Room Tip: One bedroom apartments only and on the western side away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValueLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqueous On Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqueous On Port

Property: Mantra Aqueous On Port
Address: 3 - 5 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Breakfree)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqueous On Port 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encompassing all Port Douglas has to offer, Mantra Aqueous on Port is the ideal location for couples, families & honeymooners. Situated in the heart of the village centre of Port Douglas lies one of the most fashionable resort destinations in Tropical North Queensland. You can take advantage of the five star restaurants, designer boutiques, family eateries and a range of bars and cafes. With a contemporary design featuring an aquatic flavor, most apartments feature pool views, spa baths and balconies. The resort boasts 4 stunning pools, sundecks and cabanas with barbeques so guests can enjoy the warm tropical climate of the exclusive beachside town, Port Douglas. All rooms at Mantra Aqueous on Port, feature a spacious balcony with outdoor spa, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Offering hotel rooms, one and two bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. You can chose from either the Standard, or Swim-up option. The Swim-Up rooms feature a swim-up pool deck with direct pool access. At Mantra Aqueous on Port you can do as little or as much as you like. Wander the quiet streets and sample some of the culinary delights or simply relax on your balcony while you watch the world go by. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Aqueous On Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqueous On Port Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing