We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Port Douglas Plantation Resort
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad resort”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

The service there was very bad, probably very poor. I hated the musty rooms they were very filthy and dusty. I don't recommend this hotel at all

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kbirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    29
    2
    4
    9
See reviews for
40
25
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

We returned to Plantation Resort again this January, and had a great time in the relaxing surroundings. The location provides a great base for sightseeing to Cairns, Tablelands or PD itself. The local staff was great as usual, and the pool and gardens were exceptionally maintained.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

Had a great holiday at Plantation Resort, compared to other prices we saw the rooms were the best value as they come fully self contained. Full kitchen & laundry in your room! Great for peace and quiet and the poolside restaurant was lovely. Our kids played in the pool while we watched from the poolside restaruant (open air, very breezy) played darts, tennis & pool & had some great cocktails. The staff were lovely too thanks to Donna for booking our tours and casey for a great pasta special!! Awesome holiday!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OZFUN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Thanks Dave, Donna, Owen, Darren, Chris and Billy for a really fantastic time. We stayed a month but it would have been nice if it was longer - maybe next time.
You guys went out of your way to make us welcome and we can't thank you enough. It was not nice coming home to NZ and 2 and 3 degree temperatures after 27's at Port Douglas.
For a relaxing holiday you've just gotta stay here. It was before the peak season so it was quiet and peaceful We had the place to ourselves most days and Darren - you keep that pool perfect!
The appartment was well appointed and very tidy and clean. Everything you need for a long or short stay.
Sure, it was 6 odd kms from Port Douglas and you need transport to get into the Town, but thats the same if you stayed at Rydges, Sea Temple or most other Resorts. But at Plantation you don't pay the fancy prices that these others charge. And a Shuttle is as far away as the phone and costs around $5. It's going to cost you $4 from Sea Temple so wots the big deal!
Be sure to try the bar and the restaurant, and Owen's Plantation Burger is something else.
Family, couples or whatever - this place is great value and we'll be back next year - all being well

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

I have stayed here a couple of nights, great, friendly, family feeling.
Good food, great prices, lovely red wine!!

I would like to say Thank you to all the staff and i will hopefully see you next time I´m back in Port Douglas.

=)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiiiine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and we had a fabulous time. We were a little way out from Port Douglas but we drove in one day and got a taxi on the day we knew we would be drinking.

The thing that made this stay was the staff. We ended up playing pool with them all evening and the owner was great in recommending a good restaurant to go to and even made the booking for us.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

This was booked as a romantic getaway for my hubby and myself. The resort is lovely, and the rooms are very nice. It is remote and the buses do not go to here, you have to book it and it is expensive,

Want a cocktail, they dont have them! Want a drink after 8 pm, forget it. A canned UDL costs $8!!!

Staff not friendly and one of the chefs very rude.There are no menus so you do not know what is for breakfast. Ate in one night and ordered lasagne was told had ran out but we were the only ones there. Would I stay here again, definately not and would not recommend it either,

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
#33 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#27 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Plantation Resort

Property: Port Douglas Plantation Resort
Address: 1 Captain Cook Hwy | Cnr Cook Hwy & Boer Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Douglas Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Plantation Resort is a private and spacious oasis comfortably located just outside Port Douglas. Modern, contemporary style accommodation set amongst 4 acres of lush manicured tropical gardens, offering 2 bedroom 2 bathroom fully self-contained apartments ideal for families. Perfectly positioned to embark on all the adventures this magnificent region has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Douglas Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Plantation Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing