We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced, needs work but ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Villas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Villas Resort
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over priced, needs work but ok”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights in August. Overall, quite nice but definitely overpriced. Was frustrated with lack of cleaning products (for a self-contained unit)- crappy dishwasher etc and pretty upset when they then tried to charge excess cleaning costs on check-out (which we successfully disputed). Furniture was outdated, and uncomfortable cane stuff. Broken blind in second bedroom. Had to pay to hire a dvd player! Heated pool was very nice if small and location was good- close to beach and shops. Customer service was obviously a problem for us. Definitely not four star as indicated, but fine for a short stay if you're happy to pay for the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneZengoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    141
    51
    20
    5
See reviews for
74
184
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights after back packing up the east coast. We stayed in a studio apartment and we were delighted with the size of it. We had everything we needed in the apartment and the pool and laundry were right next to us. Town is a lovely 10 minute stroll and the receptionist was extremely helpful in recommending and booking trips. We went on a lovely evening cruise on a boat called the Lady Douglas. It was a wonderful introduction to Port Douglas and its local crocodiles. Overall a great place to stay and if I was ever lucky to return to Port Douglas I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in a studio room which was very clean, tidy and presentable. It had a balcony over looking luscious green trees and it was very quiet and peaceful. it was incredibly relaxing, the pool at night lit up looking heavenly making it even more soothing. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful with my queries and had some lovely suggestions for my time there. the self contained resort is close to the beach, a 5min walk which is great. i really didnt want to leave. I would gladly stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crusket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangerei
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here - the room is comfortable, the cooking facilities adequate, the shower fine. We had a room that faced outward and were not disturbed by street noise at all. The free use of a laundry is a bonus, as is free wifi from reception. On the downside, we had leaky taps in the basin, and as apartments are not serviced, we found toilet paper was in short supply and we were told that the units were self-catering so we should provide our own. Nevertheless as extra roll was found for us - you will find reception is friendly and helpful.

Parking is good, with some undercover parking. Walking into Port is easy, just over 5 mins away from Macrossan Street.

There are two pools on site, one more suitable for lengths, the other a good pool for relaxing. We had no problems with sunbed availability.

Not our first choice, but we would stay again given the price - for us it was good value. I would rate this as only average if we had paid advertised price of $170.

Room Tip: Outer facing rooms seem quieter in the day. There are no lifts, so lower floors may be better for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwistroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very central to everything in Port Douglas. No need for a car - just hop on the bus from Cairns airport & dropped at the door. A pleasant walk into town for shopping & meals and to the beach for an invigorating early morning walk along the 4 mile beach. A great start to the day. Room had a view over one of the two pools which offered a choice if one was too busy. A good family holiday resort that offers plenty of tourist attractions such as Barrier Reef tours, boating, fishing and restaurants - all within walking distance from the resort.
Hired a car for a day & did a trip up to the Daintree which was well worth the expense - beautiful sandy private beaches & clear blue water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The 2 bedroom units are very basic. The rates aren't terrific for what you get - they are compact and very little is provided - a little squeeze bottle of detergent, one washing machine soap and a tiny dishwasher soap. After that you are off to the supermarket. For what you pay you really do deserve better and there are many units to choose from in Port Douglas so shop around for a good deal. The big plus is that the front office/reception staff are very very helpful and do a great job with advice/help/suggestions but all the units are privately owned and the owners are the ones who need to do more. There are many more resorts that are far more modern and may not be much more expensive. My suggestion is don't leave it to the last minute like we did - and get advice from your agent perhaps..

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the pools but that has its draw backs with the sound echoing around the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougofMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights (then went to Cairns for 7 nights) and only wished we were longer in PD. It took us a couple of days to slow down into the beachy holiday mode, figure out the best time to sit by the pool to get the sun, and the beach was just a five minute amble across the field. In hindsight I would have stayed 7 days there in PD & only 4 in Cairns. Port Douglas is a lovely laid back beachy place to wind down, sit by the pool, read your book and go sit on the beach and soak up the sun.
We were in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd level, overlooking the pool, and it was great, so clean and comfortable. The noise did travel between rooms though. I was down by the pool and could hear conversations on balconies :-) I wished it was closer to the Main Street shops (10 min walk) but having said that, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.9 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#21 of 43 in Port Douglas
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Villas Resort

Property: Bay Villas Resort
Address: 51-53 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Villas is located within few minutes walking distance of downtown Port Douglas and the world famous 4-Mile Beach. Bay Villas has been designed with an emphasis on spaciousness and reflects the North Queensland style with bright, tropical furnishings. There are a choice of studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with courtyards or balconies. Most of the apartments overlook the resort style swimming pools and barbecue facilities.The apartments are fully self-contained with full kitchens, separate dining are, internal laundry. The studio units have cooking facilities and access to the free shared laundries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Villas Hotel Port Douglas
Bay Resort Port Douglas
Bay Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing