We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Bay Villas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Villas Resort
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed a week at Bay Villas in a spacious apartment on first floor. Comfy cane furniture and flat screen Tv , airconditioned and also ceiling fans. Full kitchen with dishwasher. The location was 5 mins from shops and restaurants and also a short walk to the beach. The reception staff were so friendly and helpful Would love to go back and stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelbMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Bay Villas Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 370 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights, but if our holiday was longer we would have stayed there for a few more days. We had a studio apartment which included a small kitchen and a balcony overlooking the bush over the road. The room was on the small side but reasonable for this price. The reception staff were very helpful in discussing tour options. We also hired their bikes to ride around town and found these to be in good condition. The resort also provided a free laundry facilities which was very helpful for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G0Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We recently stayed at the Bay Villas (2A, 3 kids under10) in a spacious two bedroom apartment. Everything inside was provided and in working order. Excellent value resort for families. The complex was clean, quiet, neat and tidy throughout. Swimming pools on the smallish side but they were never packed so kids had plenty of room to play. Staff were friendly and very helpfull with organising tours, transfers etc. Was a 5-10 min walk to the main strip where there's plenty of good places to eat and shop etc. Beach and Marina is also a 5-10 walk. Port Douglas itself is an excellent place to relax and unwind, very laid back atmosphere. Was there for 6 days but it felt much much longer. Heaps of stuff to do in the area, highly recommend both the Bay Villa's and PD.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My apartment was really lovely- spacious and comfortable with a pleasant view from the balcony. Kitchen facilities were good and dining areas on the balcony and inside were fine. The 2 swimming pools were very small and the one nearest my apartment was not inviting. Signs indicating extra charges for utilizing the in-room safe and $50 call out fee after hours (but not very late) if you forgot your key were a little off-putting. It was a 10 minute walk to the main part of town and about the same time to the beautiful Four Mile Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms vary as all units are individually owned so best to specify one of the larger apartments proba...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneTom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A perfect location for exploring the Port
Douglas area, we shared a 3 bedroom apartment which had a comfortable lounging area, a fully equipped kitchen, and washer dryer unit. Very comfortable, clean and quiet. The complex is walking distance (about 10-15 minutes tops) to great shopping and restaurants as well as 4 mile beach. Our stay was made even more special given the friendly helpful service of Vicki and Angela at the front desk. Our tours and pick up times were confirmed by Vicki as well as weather and road updates given the rainy weather we experienced. When we arrived after hours on the first evening our keys and instructions were on the door with our name on the envelope. Very organized. The pool was great for our needs (3 adults) and we spent time each evening enjoying the cool water and conversation with other guests as we recounted our daily adventures.
The price was very affordable especially when split between 3 people and the accommodation very spacious. Thanks for a lovely home base for our explorations!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
Thank margie393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent a few days here at Bay Villas and found it to be great. Our unit looked out onto the tropical pool through palm trees which gave it a real holday feel and it had a nice balcony to sit out on. We found the property to be in very good condition.
Although we were here during school holdays we didn't notice any excessive noise or problems. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is good parking on-site and if that is full there is ample safe parking in Mudlo St at the rear. It is a good property in this regard as it has two street frontages so you can stroll out the back and have a quiet walk to the shops. A tthe rear, Mudlo st is bordered along 1 side by native forest and there are many birds to hear, very beautiful. It's about 6 minutes walk to the main st of Port and about the same to go across the front rd and to the beach. All the tour buses stop here and so it is easy to be picked up for a day tour if you have no car. There is cable tv which includes sports channels.

The flats are clean and neat and comfortable with everything you need for a night or a week. Nice fluffy towels and good bed linen, comfy mattresses, plenty of hot water. Some reviewers mentioned cleaning, so it's important to note that they are holiday units, usually let for a week or two at a time or perhaps overnight too. But this means that cleaning is only done at the end of each tenancy, not daily like a hotel. We had no trouble keeping our unit clean with the tools provided and there are ample rubbish bins and re-cycle bins on site as well.

This is a great place for families as the units have the advantage of a dual-key system that allows the flats to be divided, by closing a door, into a 1 bed studio or 2 bed unit or 3 bed unit. So the studio is also ideal for couples or maybe the grandparents for extended families or 2 couples who can share the large unit kitchen/lounge then can retire to their respective room . We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The location is great (6 minutes from the high street and the beach), the staff were very friendly and happy to impart their knowledge or book you on to any local trips and tours, and the apartment itself was very nicely kept with all the conveniences you need. The price is also very reasonable. I would highly recommend both Port Douglas as a holiday destination and Bay Villas. I would say that the swimming pool isn't brilliant so if you are looking for a family holiday around the pool this isn't ideal however for our needs, a group of friends staying for a few days and taking in all Port Douglas has to offer it was ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for extra duvets as the nights are quite chilly
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigersFan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.9 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#30 of 42 in Port Douglas
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#28 of 42 in Port Douglas
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#23 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Villas Resort

Address: 51-53 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $79 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Villas is located within few minutes walking distance of downtown Port Douglas and the world famous 4-Mile Beach. Bay Villas has been designed with an emphasis on spaciousness and reflects the North Queensland style with bright, tropical furnishings. There are a choice of studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with courtyards or balconies. Most of the apartments overlook the resort style swimming pools and barbecue facilities.The apartments are fully self-contained with full kitchens, separate dining are, internal laundry. The studio units have cooking facilities and access to the free shared laundries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Villas Hotel Port Douglas
Bay Resort Port Douglas
Bay Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing