We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! Perfect for a white beach wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Cove Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at Turtle Cove in October 2011 as attended the wedding of 2 close friends. A perfection location for their wedding celebrations. Really friendly, helpful staff and the rooms are clean and really well equippede. Some reviews have said its not 5 star however I would give it 5 stars for location/ the beach side bungalows are great/ ambience in fact the whole experience. Ideal if you want somewhere to relax and chill out with wonderful food in the restaurant Thank you!!!!

Room Tip: Beach rooms are lovely but all the rooms are quiet (unless there is a function on)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 456 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here beginning of October for ten days by myself. Weather was pretty great, some rain and wind on a few days - but not enough to spoil each day. Got the shuttle bus (arranged by Turtle cove) to and from the destination. Every day there are new people to meet. Most people are really friendly and enjoy interaction - others are quiet and stick to themselves and that's fine too. Mixing with a variety of interesting guests, friendly and welcoming staff, excellent dining, drinking, and making new friends while enjoying the beautiful private beach, warm sea water, pool, spa and great food - it's all pretty wonderful really. The property is well maintained, clean and perfect for a lovely holiday - it's not 5 star, but the 'whole' experience is!!! It is value for money, you're not paying high prices like other glitzy accomodation. Your stay here is what you make of it. As a New Zealander, It has become my favourite holiday destination and I will be back again a couple of times next year. Malcolm

Room Tip: If you want to pay the extra, the front rooms overlooking the beach are excellent, but the rooms beh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am just home from 6 nights at Turtle Cove and want to go straight back! The staff were friendly and professional and they are as attentive as you want them to be. I travelled solo so enjoyed the communal table at meal times and made several new friends. I only ventured out of Turtle Cove once for the whole time - why race around when you can relax on the secluded beach, by the pool, in a hammock, by the bar or enjoy friendly chatter around the dining table? The rooms are clean and well appointed but with such a beautiful setting why spend time in your room? I will be going back next year for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timaru64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My partner and I recently spent a week here and absolutely loved it. It's a spectacular secluded spot to unwind; the staff are without exception extremely friendly and helpful; the food in the restaurant is excellent; and the rooms are very comfortable. So all in all really fantastic. Tip:it's definitely a good idea to rent a hired car for your stay. There's so much to see in the area that you won't want to just rely on buses. The top things to see/do include the Great Barrier Reef and the Kuranda cable car over the rainforest. Staff are always happy to make suggestions based on how far you can drive/how much time you have. Thanks to everyone at Turtle Cove for a lovely holiday. We will be back from the UK as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed here for five nights in September 2012. It is a wonderful place to stay. The location is unbeatable. It has its own secluded beach. While we ate breakfast two dolphins swam past the restaurant area. You could eat breakfast on the beach if you wanted to. The gardens are especially well maintained, you feel like you are at home in the tropics. It is a much better experience than just being in a unit in town. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful. You can easily travel to Port Douglas or Palm Cove but you need to have access to a car.Food at the restaurant was good and drinks can be bought at reasonable prices. Rooms were modern and clean without being fancy. Several people I spoke to there said it was better now than it has ever been.
Thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs 'Coral Sea View' room. It was a good choice although thee is nothing wron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here for five nights in September 2012. As I usually take quite active holidays (exploring local culture) I wasn't sure how I was going to handle my stay at Turtle Cove..... but it came highly recommended by friends, and now I can see why.

While the rooms are relatively average, and the so called 'fully equipped' gym was anything but, everything else about this place was wonderful. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the other guests were a delight to be around. The atmosphere was great, and the beach location can't be beaten. The food (when the chef was there) was also of a great quality, and encouraged guests to eat in and socialise.

I travelled by myself and was therefore happy to sit at the 'turtle table' and meet fellow travellers, but the beauty about this place was that you can be as social (or anti-social) as you choose. Others preferred to sit at their own tables and enjoy more intimate dining (which would also be great for a special occasion).

While I didn't have high expectations, i thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and plan to return next year (I think September was a good time to go, as it was warm enough to swim in the ocean without the threat of Stingers that emerge in Summer).

Room Tip: While you probably won't be spending very much time in your room, waking up in one of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Turtle cove is a beautiful & calm little resort north of Cairns. The staff are very friendly & attentive. We stayed for 4 nights and it was a great location from which to see Port Douglas & the Daintree Coast. We were very pleased when one of the staff went out of his way to return some books we had left behind. Thanks Turtle Cove

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acttkd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
10.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
11.3 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,063 reviews
3.6 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 42 in Port Douglas
953 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
11.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Cove Beach Resort

Address: 4500 Captain Cook Hwy, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $146 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Cove Beach Resort is a Gay and Lesbian, Adults Only, Absolute Beach Front Holiday Resort near Cairns, Australia. Join us in Tropical Far North Queensland and experience the most fantastic and secluded piece of unspoilt GLBT Paradise in Australia,some say the world. Be assured,Turtle Cove Beach Resort is not your ordinary Gay and Lesbian Hotel! Come and explore our totally private, clothing optional, tropical beach and have the holiday/vacation of your life time! Turtle Cove Beach Resort is an absolute beachfront slice of Gay and Lesbian Heaven and is conveniently located between Cairns, Palm Cove and Port Douglas, it is the perfect place to chill and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Cove Hotel Port Douglas
Turtle Cove Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing