We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turtle Cove Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We were here 6 nights and hated to leave. From the moment we arrived and were upgraded to one of the newer villas, to the quiet, peaceful grounds, the friendly staff, and the really wonderful food, we had a fantastic time. Cell phone reception was weak (which was a blessing for me) as was Internet availability in the rooms. Checking email was not a problem, but anything more extensive was cumbersome, but who cares? We met some trully wonderful people, made some great friends, and had a fantastic time. What more is there?

Stayed: January 2012
2  Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 451 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

We've just returned from spending 4 nights here and we throughly enjoyed ourselves. The other reviews on here will tell you that this hotel is not glamourous, but what you will find is excellent and friendly staff, a place perfectly set up to make friends and more if you wish. I would suggest the best strategy to adopt is to drop any inhibition or pretension, be yourself and jump in and make friends, we did this and met loads of excellent people who we are continuing to meet up with on the rest of our trip. I'm told the best time to visit for good weather is August/September. My boyfriend and I felt right at home and we can tell you this place is on the up!

Room Tip: If you can afford, go for the best rooms with Ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisFoxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

nice place. We enjoyed our stay emensely, Great staff. Relaxed and enjoyed the area, the people, the food, and the place. Don't think it could have been beter.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ka m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Spent six nights at Turtle Cove in far north Queensland in paradise. The setting is ideal with beautiful palm trees, tropical flowers, two very private beaches, a delightfully shaded pool, waterfall and panoramic views. The accomodation is very clean and individually decorated in a pleasing style.
The staff are all very pleasant and friendly and could'nt go out of their way more to fulfill all our needs. Bert the manager was extremely welcoming and enjoyed talking and getting to know each of his guests.
We had an excellent time at Turtle Cove, even spotting turtles for which the resort is named, and very much look foward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have magnificent views and the front rooms are private with direct access to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane290458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed five nights in a deluxe room with ocean view. Room was spacious. Clean. View was amazing. The grounds are very nice. Hard to keep pristine in the jungle climate but they try. The pool and common areas are cleaned daily and things are in generally nice shape. The bar and eating areas are very nice and tidy, comfortable and clean. The staff is super. Bert, the manager and former owner/founder is there to make sure things run smoothly and he is a delight. Wayne tends the bar and couldn't be sweeter. The beach is gorgeous but it was box jelly fish season so there was no going in to the ocean. We made good use of the pool instead. They're committed to continuous improvements so on our next visit I expect to be even more polished and luxurious. Best yet we made several friends whom we've already met up with in Sydney! Though we live in San Francisco, CA. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you can spring for one of the ocean front rooms, do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sea98102traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Turtle cove is not only in one of the most beautiful spots in the world, with two private beaches an amazing swimming pool with a waterfall, and secluded in the magnificent rainforest, it also has the unique ability at being one of the only resorts, that I am aware of, where you never need to feel alone, if you dont want to be. The social aspect of Turtle cove is amazing, dinner everynight with groups of new friends ( thanks to the Turtle table ) drinks around the pool, and if you lucky a spa with a special new friend. Any resort can be beautiful, clean and friendly but only Turtle cove adds the social aspect which makes any holiday amazing, yet at the same time allows privacy and seclusion when you want it. In the last 3 years I have travelled back to this slice of paradise 4 times staying upto 15 days at a time. The staff are amazingly welcoming and treat you like family everytime you arrive, as a gay couple it is one of the only places my partner and I feel fully safe, relaxed and feel that we can be ourselves. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing, fun, and simply amazing holiday, I can not rate this place more highly and hope that the rest of the gay community continue to support such a place so that we can have our own piece if paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bradleyj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Thank you again Turtle cove for your rotating menu, magnificent christmas champagne breakfast that lasted all day and Bert for his gratuitous humour and dress ups. The place is looking great! Good luck with the renovations next march, we look forward to seeing them sometime soon. Greatly appreciated Sean and Jeffrey x0x0x0x

Room Tip: If you like extra space the beach front rooms are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
10.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
11.6 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
532 reviews
3.6 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
928 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
11.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Cove Beach Resort

Address: 4500 Captain Cook Hwy, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $137 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turtle Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Cove Beach Resort is a Gay and Lesbian, Adults Only, Absolute Beach Front Holiday Resort near Cairns, Australia. Join us in Tropical Far North Queensland and experience the most fantastic and secluded piece of unspoilt GLBT Paradise in Australia,some say the world. Be assured,Turtle Cove Beach Resort is not your ordinary Gay and Lesbian Hotel! Come and explore our totally private, clothing optional, tropical beach and have the holiday/vacation of your life time! Turtle Cove Beach Resort is an absolute beachfront slice of Gay and Lesbian Heaven and is conveniently located between Cairns, Palm Cove and Port Douglas, it is the perfect place to chill and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Cove Hotel Port Douglas
Turtle Cove Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing