We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Port Douglas
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveler rating
568
205
43
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
568
205
43
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street honeymoon suite pool access stayed here for nights hot tub four mile beach short walk barrier reef shops and restaurants separate bedroom washing machine self catering perfect location great place to stay small kitchenette within easy walking distance the ground floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 842 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Out of all the hotels we stayed at during our three weeks of travelling up the eastcoast this place had the best service. Perfect location with ” city center” just around the corner so most things are within walking distance.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 847miab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

A fantastic holiday.Huge A big thanks to the owners Sue and John who made our trip quite wonderful. They advised us about trips and booked them for us. They even booked transfers from Cairns airport. Not one complaint. The room was clean, pool was lovely and everyone was super friendly. We will certainly be back! A 5 minute stroll into town to shops, restaurants and bars.
Very happy, a great holiday!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Salpat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

Our room was relatively small for a couple with two full suitcases and hand luggage but was clean and comfortable. Despite facing the road as opposed to the pool, our room was quiet. It was an easy couple of minutes walk into town from the Meridian. If you arrive outside of office hours, Wi-Fi access is only temporary until you can obtain a longer term code from the owners. Pool was clean and well maintained. Our only real gripe was having to pay a deposit of AUD 60 to use a safety deposit box in our room. This shouldn't be the case in the year 2020 when most hotels provide one for free. We stayed for four nights at the Meridian and found the owners to be friendly and helpful. They were able to book us a trip to the Great Barrier Reef at short notice and were efficient at organising airport transfers.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank daisysnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2019 via mobile

We spent 10 wonderful days exploring Queensland from our base at the Meridian. This boutique hotel is situated just a few minutes walk from 4 Mile Beach and from the shops, restaurants and bars of Port Douglas' main Macrossan Street. We were fortunate to be given an upgrade on our apartment and had a great, well equipped appt with it's own pool deck. The lagoon style pool is set in a beautiful tropical garden. A great place to relax after a day's exploring this amazing region. The proprietors, Sue and John, were very friendly and helpful and keep the hotel in immaculate condition. We could not fault the Meridian. We loved it!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank VanessaKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2019

The first question when planning our trip was do we stay in Cairns or Port Douglas, our daughter stayed in Cairns as part of a backpacking trip, I did have my doubts looking at Dad things such as having to transfer from Cairns Airport, however I have got to say my daughter was spot on in her recommendation for Port Douglas. We have been lucky to travel to some nice places but we really feel Port Douglas is the nicest place we have ever visited. Our travel agent recommended the Meridian, it is very good accommodation and well located to take advantage of Port Douglas. We were in a Studio Premier Apartment, a real plus for people on a long trip like us is there is a washing machine and dryer in between Apartments. Sue who runs the Meridian with her husband was so helpful informing us by email several months before we arrived in Australia of trips which pick up from the Meridian and also options for the transfer. Tips from us. 1) Exemplar who Sue booked for us provide a transfer service in a mini bus from Cairns Airport, this was professionally done, when you get to arrivals they are easy to find, a shout out to Michael who provided some laughs with his commentary on our return trip. The drive itself is beautiful hugging the coastline for most of the drive. 2) Barrier Reef - We went with Quicksilver, you pick the boat up from the Marina which is an easy 5 minute walk away, we don't swim so going to the Quicksilver platform where there are several things for non swimmers including if budget permits the additional cost for a 10 minute helicopter ride (this truly was an experience of a lifetime), when you get back to Port Douglas Hemingways Brewery is a really nice place to sit back and relax watching the boats come and go from the Marina. 3) We also did the Skyrail Rainforest Cableway + Kuranda Scenic Railway and Daintree Tour which we also booked via Sue, both day trips were excellent. 4) We allowed a day to relax in Port Douglas between the tours, just a short walk away is the Four Mile beach which is lovely to walk along, we picked up the Flagstaff Hill walk from the Four Mile beach end, it takes you into Port Douglas where we did the Historical Self Guided Walking Tour which we downloaded from the Port Douglas Historical Society website. 5) Cafe Ecco at 1/43 Macrossan Street is a nice place to go for coffee, cakes and breakfasts. 6) Time of year to visit - In our naivety we thought we could visit Port Douglas throughout the year, we got lucky, the weather was excellent for us, we were told that Port Douglas starts to get quieter after the Melbourne Cup, do your research when the rainy season starts. 7) There is a Coles Supermarket roughly 10 minutes away to buy any food / drinks, there is also a smaller convenience store about 5 minutes walk away. 8) We had a late afternoon flight, there is a shower room by the pool where you can get changed if you have already checked out. If you read this Sue thanks for all your help, the Meridian and Port Douglas were excellent in every way.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 440rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews