We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great honeymoon apartment and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great honeymoon apartment and perfect location”
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Stayed at the Meridian for 4 nights of our honeymoon in PD. We had the deluxe honeymoon apartment on the ground level. This place was very spacious and had everything we needed. Best parts were the private courtyard with jacuzzi and flowers, the private patio and sun deck with pool access, and the location. This place is just a brief walk to all the restaurants and bars in PD. You can even walk to the marina and sunday market. Our apartment was pretty well cleaned, a few ants here and there, but it is the beach and rainforest, so I'm sure we got off easy on the bug thing. This is smaller hotel with very personable service. The owner showed us our room, gave us some advice on restaurants and booked our activities for us. Free parking underground was nice. Great to have a washer and dryer in the room. All the amenities were nice. Nice pool. A/C worked great. Only negatives were that you have to pay for extra towels and our bed was too hard. Furniture wasn't that comfortable in the apartment either, but we weren't staying in the apartment much.

We did Jungle surfing at Cape Tribulation, which you must try and visit. The drive up is amazing from PD. Also did the Quicksilver GBR tour, also pretty amazing, includes lunch. Go to the Sunday market for souveniers. Driving is very strange for Americans, so be careful.

We dined at Harrison's and Salsa, both were really nice and great food. Little expensive, but expected. There are tons of restaurants so no worries there.

I would definitely recommend staying at the Meridian based on the atmosphere and location to Everything.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Diggy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnmer, Owner Manager at Meridian Port Douglas, responded to this review, November 14, 2009
Thank you Diggy for your review , contributions like yours are always appreciated.
Looks like we have slipped up as we respect that beds ( and pillows ) are subject to personal preference - we should have made you aware that we have Pillow Tops for those that desire a softer mattress and always have a range of pillows to suit your preference. Due to our quality control we have just replaced the lounge cushions - they get soft quickly and deteriorate in the tropical enviroment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    163
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
19
571
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Lovely! Our room was medium sized,well appointed, the staff was friendly and attentive, and the location was perfect. It is a short walk to town but far enough away, that it is very quiet and peaceful and the beach is almost across the street. We had a hot tub, but unfortunately, never got a chance to use it. I would recommend getting a room with pool access, because these rooms have their own sunbathing chairs and steps into the pool. We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djnekokittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Meridian where the staff provided excellent service and we believe we received great value for our money.
The location was very quiet and convenient as it is only a short walk to the main restaurants and shopping areas.
I would recommend booking your tours at the resort when you first arrive, as we were able to change the date of the tour due to bad weather conditions, which was done without any hassle.
We would like to thank the team at the Meridian for a most memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eryka12
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We were so excited to stay at the Meridian because of all of the amazing photos we saw on Trip Advisor. The hotel was perfectly located in the heart of Port Douglas and we chose it because it was a smaller hotel that was adults only. The rooms had everything that you could want, except they were not cleaned daily. This was our only complaint because the owners could not have been nicer in preparation for our trip and helping us book our scuba adventure (Poseidon by the way - Amazing!) but it would have been nice to have clean sheets and the beds made up during the day. We thought it was a bit overpriced for what we got, but enjoyed our stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eryka12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnmer, Owner Manager at Meridian Port Douglas, responded to this review, October 17, 2009
Thank you for your review , glad you had a great time in Port Douglas, it was also great to see your rave review of Poseidon - we agree it is truely justified. We too strive to deliver the best possible experience for our guests at an affordable rate. Properties in Port Douglas generally tend to be "self catering" and as such daily room servicing is not included in the tarrif. This service can be provided at a nominal charge if requested. However we do provide mid stay services for six nights or more (as a minimum).
During high season there are other properties in Port Douglas that offer daily servicing in their tarrif (double our nightly rate).
Thank you for staying with us and hopefully you consider a return short stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Have come back to reality after being on a once in a lifetime honeymoon. The Meridian could not have been a better choice as it was everything that it promised to be. Yes we wanted comfort and luxury with all those indulgent extras that you expect for a honeymoon - a romantic hot tub in a garden setting and a pool deck so we could enjoy the pool. Privacy was never an issue as the place has shutters so you can exclude eyes peeping in but still have light. The courtyard with the jacuzzi was just for us , we spent many hours there. This place is very close to all the restaurants - Bucci was our favourite and the beach was perfect. If you are contemplating a nice romantic getaway this is the place to stay

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMF1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Just finished a great stay in Port Douglas. Reef, rainforest, restaurants -we did it all. And it was great to come back to the Meriadian each day to relax by the pool and refresh for the next adventure. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philby59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

The hotel is lovely with all the necessary amenities for a very comfortable stay and then some ... We enjoyed a superior double room with direct access to the pool and our own private deck with loungers as well as jacuzzi. The room was beautifully and tastefully decorated and the kitchen had all the necessary equipment to stay and eat in if we chose. The close proximity to both beach and centre with shops and restaurants made it an absolutely perfect location to finish off a month of relentless touring of Australia. John and Sue's warm and hospitable welcome made it all perfect. Thank you !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IzzyTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Property: Meridian Port Douglas
Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing