We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, one stay after another!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My (now) wife and I first stayed at the Meridian in August, 2010, in a 1 Bedroom Superior Apartment with a pool deck. We fell in love with the place instantly! Our room was spacious, modern and sparkling clean. The pool was heaven and both the beach and the main street were just a few minutes' walk away. Our stay was lovely and quiet, and John and his staff were very friendly and helpful.

Fast forward to June, 2012 and newly engaged, my wife and I chose to base ourselves at the Meridian again, this time, in a Studio Premier room. We travelled to Port Douglas this time around to plan our August, 2013 destination wedding. Though a smaller room type than that which we stayed in originally, we loved our studio room and thoroughly enjoyed the Meridian once more. In April, 2013, we were back for our third stay (!), this time with our parents, in order to meet local providers and finish planning our upcoming wedding. We each had our own studio room and it is safe to say, our parents loved the Meridian as much as we do!

August, 2013 came around very quickly and we were very excited for our 1 Bedroom Superior Apartment with pool deck for our wedding stay! Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed back by John... Who very kindly surprised us with an upgrade to a Honeymoon Deluxe Apartment! We were thrilled with our room and felt so spoilt having both a pool deck AND a jacuzzi, it was such a treat! We were even treated with a bottle of champagne upon arrival! We felt so special.

This year in April, we stayed at the Meridian once more. This time, we chose to stay in a Superior Studio with pool deck. As usual, the Meridian shone through on all fronts! If you are looking for modern, quiet and comfortable apartment-style accommodation in Port Douglas, close to Four Mile Beach and Macrossan St, then the Meridian Port Douglas is for you. We cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 723 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 12 nights. The room was very small with no soft easy chair to sit on in the evening. The balcony only had one chair. The room felt like a dungeon after a few days with no sun reaching it at all as the room was tucked up in a corner set back from the room next door. The shower was over the bath so you had to shower with the window closed or other guests could see in when walking by. The toilet seat and lid had that horrible BO smell that plastic gets when it's old. The sink had a film of scum over it which was still there after the room had been serviced. The top bed sheet after the room service had two holes in it - unacceptable. The washing machine and dryer which you share with the room next door was hopeless. The dryer, even on the coolest setting, kept overheating and then stopping so it took hours to get anything dry. The fridge kept us awake at night with the weird clunks and noises it made. I can't believe there was a plastic scruffy and dirty dustbin at the end of the corridor. Then when you check out they ask the guests to empty the rubbish bin in their room into the disgusting dustbin so as to help the cleaners ... isn't that part of their job ? On arrival we were asked to pay upfront as we had booked through an internet site and not directly with them. The place was adults only but was like a ghost town. There is undercover parking. The pole where you insert your key to open the roller door down the drive is too hard to reach from your car which we found very irritating. All in all we did not enjoy our stay at this place. The only good thing it has going for it is that it's only a short walk to Macrossan Street and the beach.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hellsbellsaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnmer, Manager at Meridian Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time & effort to post a review. It is unfortunate however to be made aware of these complaints when at no time during your stay you made no mention that the accommodation provided was not to your liking. Our studio accommodation is a hotel style room with a small balcony. It provides a small dining table and chairs however does not have a sofa. Studios are more suited to short stays and we agree not really ideal for 12 nights. If you had contacted us directly, rather than booking through a 3rd party website, we would have been able to advise this prior to booking. All studios and apartments share a washing machine and dryer with the adjoining room , there are many of them located on the property. We immediately replace or repair all appliances when we are made aware that they are faulty. As a simple request we ask guests on departure day to place unwanted food/rubbish in the bins located on all levels, we assume this is something that we all do before leaving our homes to head off on holiday – there is no obligation however to do so if you do not wish to. The policy for payment upon arrival is a standard procedure of the booking site used, and usually does not raise an eyebrow. It appears our adult only policy works a treat, during your stay it was extremely quiet considering our occupancy was at a high level. We hope you have the opportunity to return to Port Douglas in the future and enjoy this tranquil part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Meridian. We had booked a studio room, but on the second night we decided to pay the extra and upgrade to a one bedroom apartment. As we wanted more space,, and a lounge room & full,kitchen.. Our was facing the road, and also had a jacuzzi on the balcony. The furnishings were good & the rooms very clean. Also very private as beautiful tropical trees secluding the balcony. It was very quiet, which was fab for me as I am a light sleeper. The front desk ladies were very friendly, and also helpful on what tours to do which in Port Douglas.

Room Tip: One bedroom apartments great, chose a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimz140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We spent Christmas here and we we not disappointed.

We had a one bedroom apartment, which was well air conditioned (it was needed at this time of year!) it had a large balcony over looking the pool. The fridge was stocked with a few essentials on our arrival (however there is also a mini supermarket and bakery a short walk away and the main supermarket is also walkable.)

the apartment is equipped with a fridge, freezer, microwave, each apartment also shares a washing machine with one other apartment - washing powder can be brought from reception. Wifi was also available (extra cost) - we had a few problems picking this up on our Ipad but the lady at reception was very helpful.

On Christmas day we barbecued (gas provided) by the pool, sharing it with a few other residence - however, it was not over crowded and we could cook our meat no problem) we brought this from the butchers near supermarket on Christmas Eve and they had plenty of stuff left.

Children under 16 weren't allowed which suited us (a couple in our early thirties)

It is very close to all the bars and amenities on Macrosson street - highly recommend a breakfast at peninsula hotel - we ate here on Christmas morning and there is a great place on Macrosson street where you can buy a take away tub of ice cream - yum.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Afw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We booked a Studio spa room for 3 nights. On arrival we were upgraded to a fantastic spa suite with lots of room and a great balcony with the spa.
We found that it's convenience to the main shopping area was a real boon.
We did have to pay extra for internet access and found we could only get wireless on the balcony, not in the room.
Would strongly recommend for older couples (children under 16 not allowed).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David and Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent four nights here and were very pleased. The room was stocked with a few essential food items for breakfasts (loaf of bread, jar of jam, tub of yogurt, granola, apples, oranges, bananas, milk). In addition to the refrigerator there's a microwave oven and mini kitchen sink.

Like most extended-stay type hotels, you straighten your own bed in the morning and wash any dishes you use yourself, as the rooms are not serviced every day. We did not find this objectionable.

The Meridian is a short walk from the downtown area of Port Douglas, where you'll find shops, a food market, many restaurants, and the marina. It's also a short walk to Four Mile Beach.

Aside from the absence of wifi, my only other minor gripe is that while the room contained a small dining table with two chairs, there's really no place else to sit except the bed. There's no room for an easy chair, and after four nights here I did wish that there had been.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Meridian Port Douglas is a great apartment block to stay in, it is adult only, it has a lovely pool and a jacuissi. It also has a bar b que area.It has good landscaping and is ideally suited for the main street (Macrossan St.) where most of the shops and restaurants are located, and near the 4k long beach or the Marina.

Found on Davidson Street, when you come out turn left and a 3 min stroll is Macrossan street at Macrossan turn right and a 5 min stroll is the 4 kilometre beach.
If you come out of Meridian and turn right go 20 mts and turn left again and your off to the Marina (about 12 mins stroll).

Inside the Meridian reception is maned by John and Sue between office hours, outside of hours there is an intercom which will put you through to either John or Sue and they will come through to reception.
There are a whole host of tour information booklets displayed around reception where you can sit and contemplate where you might want to go. Don't worry about going up the main street and looking for a travel shop, just ask John and he will make your booking for you (gives you more time to lay in the sun or relax in the pool.

The beds were very comfortable there is enough drawer and shelf space around, a kitchen area and small dining table and a fridge.The bathroom is a great size and very clean, and the towels are really thick and fluffy.

All you really need when you arrive is to dump your bags and go out and enjoy Port Douglas.
The main street is amazing we were surprised just how much greenery and plants there were everywhere.

The thing I liked about the Meridian was that there was no one over your shoulder asking if you were OK John and Sue are around if needed but do not pester you.
I would have no hesitation in going back to the Meridian and would recommend it to couples.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Room with direct access to the pool from your veranda. 3B is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glen7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,659 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: $113 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing