We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely accommodation in a fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in a fantastic location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights in March and was very pleased with our choice. We only stayed in a standard studio apartment but it was spotless and clean, beautifully furnished and had everything we needed for a very relaxing stay.
It is in a great location just 100 metres from the Main Street with all the restaurants, bars and shops on, also five minutes walk from the four mile beach or in the opposite direction the lovely marina.
Would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation if you are staying in Port Douglas.

Room Tip: The rooms with direct access to the pools looked really nice although we didn't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    163
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
18
565
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at the Meridian in early February for a couple of days during our tour of Eastern Australia. Overall we found it be a well appointed small hotel in a central location close to all attractions. We had a regular room which was very clean, nicely decorated but a little 'tight' with a small balcony overlooking the pool.
As far as I could tell the hotel was almost empty and I can not understand why we were not offered a chance to upgrade when we arrived. The extra space would probably have been worth the cost.
The laundry facilities shared between two rooms is very helpful.
The pool and BBQ area looked very inviting however we did not have the chance to experience either as we were in the midst of a few days of rain ( I guess that's why its called the rainy season.)
As someone has mentioned previously this is not a high service hotel. Apart from someone at the reception desk during the daylight hours, I didn't see any other staff. However I guess that is normal for self catering apartment style hotels.
I would recommend this hotel for other adult travellers ... now if they could only do something about the weather !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

After looking on the internet for weeks trying to decide on accommodation I think we made a good decision. At first I had booked a studio room and felt it was a bit small for one week and asked to be shown an apartment with a full kitchen and lounge. Room 3 A It was very comfortable clean and had great facilities. Laundry facilities are between two rooms. BBQ and spa area was available to all. The Swimming pool was accessed via a ladder or a step into the water. Access to the pool from our room was not suitable for me as there was no ladder or rail and the step was too high. There is a No Children Policy at Meridian and the property opposite is the family friendly version.
The restaurants and Shops were within a 5 min walk and 4 mile beach also 5 min walk.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Under ground secure car park and upper levels accessed by an elevator.
We stayed here for my Husbands 60th Birthday. We felt very relaxed after a daily swim and laze by the pool after venturing on daily tours. I would Highly recommend this accommodation to others and would come back again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor room, there was some noise from people above us especially when ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine5776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Came back here after staying last year Only stayed one night this time as my wife and I were meeting friends from England in Port Douglas.
The location is very good near to beach town and ferry services to Great Barrier Reef
Rooms very clean with views over excellent pool
Staff always very helpful
Highly recommend the Meridan Our second stay just as good as first

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at the Meridian for 7 nights to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday in February.
From the moment we arrived to saying our good byes the staff were gracious, friendly and helpful.
We had a problem with a power point the first night and were immediately moved from our more than adequate studio room to an apartment which was an unexpected bonus.
The studio was great value but the apartment was amazing! Had absolutely everything for a self catering stay plus a beautiful lounge area and separate bedroom and a lovely big balcony over looking the pool. Another bonus was the laundry with washer and dryer to share between just two rooms.
The under cover secure parking was peace of mind for parking and accessing our rental too.
The no children policy of the Meridian is fantastic! Us adults had the place to ourselves with no mention of Marco Polo in the pool at all! It made for a very relaxing time each evening as we all cooled off at the end of the day.
The walk to Macrossan Street for dining and shopping was short and pleasant as was the stroll to the beach.
We had a very romantic and relaxing stay and would thoroughly recommend the Meridian to anyone looking for good quality accommodation for adults in Port Douglas.

Room Tip: If you are staying more than a couple of nights go for an apartment over a studio. Its worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellnGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is no children accommodation, which was perfect for our recent trip, we found all staff extremely friendly and helpful.
The location is perfect, 5 minute walk to patrolled beach, and 5 minute walk to shops and the main street. Rooms are spacious and well maintained and extremely clean.
Highly recommend the Meridian,

Room Tip: Recommend pool rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMM1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this quiet apartment style hotel,Staff so nice always willing to hellp, rooms clean, convenient to main st and the beach, pool was awesome, so relaxing no kids around lol I will be staying hear next time.FREE laundry.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dziah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Property: Meridian Port Douglas
Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing