We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Amazing Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Truly Amazing Again”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thanks John, Sue and Tranquility .. this was our 4th stay with you in 5 years and we just love it more each time. It is such a peaceful setting enhanced with the 'No Children Policy', suits us just fine. The re-furbishment carried out since last year has certainly given the place a lift and it's location is ideal, you walk out the front 100 metres to the left and you are on Macrosson St. There is no doubt in our minds that we will be back some time in the not too distant future.

Sue & Jeff Smith

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    165
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
19
576
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wonga Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautiful, quiet & frienfly place.
Staff are very helpful.
Location is great, just a short walk to Port Douglas town centre & shopping.
Lovely clean apartments with comfortable beds & furniture.
Great pool! Fantastic weather helped!
I will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DainsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Meridian is a decant self catering accommodation with a good location in fabulous Port Douglas. It is a nice place to stay with nice fittings in a good location. We had the studio with swim up pool which was great but for the money we paid I thought the size of room was a bit on the small side. Plus where our loungers were we never got any sun at any point of the day which is a bad design. I would say go for 1 bed apartment with swim up if u can. I would recommend as a place to stay in Port Douglas which is the place to stay to see barrier reef and rain forest. Also hire a car rather than getting a transfer from Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_DNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Meridian in Port Douglas, is everything it says. The rooms are nice and clean, with use of a wash machine and dryer. A good kitchen, and a very nice pool. The manager is always very helpful, to give u information, or help out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veertje65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just spent 8 days at the Meridian in a superior one bedroom apartment. The apartment was very spacious and well appointed. We were very happy with the amenities,beautiful pool and BBQ area. Handy to Macrossan Street and the beach, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We were in 6a. with the pool beside us, also very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is an excellent place for a Holiday. There are no children under 16 allowed. The location is perfect, close to everything. The Apartments are ideal and there is a beautiful pool. Make sure you ask for Sue the hostess/Manager she is excellent. There are a couple of minor points which whilst not paramount for your enjoyment should be attended. No Fox News on Foxtel when the Hand book says it has. Powder for the washing machine $2 per small container. Should be free. Wi FI $40 a week unless you check Trip Advisor where this week it is free for Trip Advisor Contributors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jexthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked due to trip advisor reviews but to be honest we're really disappointed. For some unknown reason we were unable to book through Tripadvisor so booked through Wotif. Our studio room was tiny. Just a hotel room with a tiny kitchenette (sink and microwave with a kettle, toaster and microwave. (no microwave dishes though)
Despite the Wotif website stating we would have a washing machine and dryer we had to share these with our neighbours in the next apartment. This was difficult; as well as coordinating the use with neighbours, due to the noise factor we felt we could only use it during the day when we wanted to be out exploring. The room was clean and the towels were white and fluffy but the sheets were the scratchiest I have ever slept on. I think having the pool in the centre of the hotel magnified every noise- as our neighbours sounded like they were in the same room as us. (Why do grey nomads get up so early?)
The manager was very friendly and helpful.
We felt that despite its good location, it was overpriced and shabby. (Perhaps the the larger apartments are better)

Room Tip: Don't get the studio rooms - they are rather dark, there is no couch and and they are very small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Property: Meridian Port Douglas
Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing