We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meridian Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Room was very small and on the front of the hotel. We were disappointed not to have a room overlooking the pool which was fantastic.

Room was compact with microwave and eating facilities. Excellent baker just up the road for fresh bread for breakfast. Australia is very expensive and it saved quite a bit of money to eat at least breakfast in room.

Reception lady was very helpful confirming trips and bus transfers for us.

The swimming pool was fantastic and definitely worth getting a room that fronts on to this.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    157
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
18
534
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in a one bedroom apartment. It was very clean, spacious and the balcony overlooked the pool as it was on the 3rd floor. There was everything needed in the room - just look around the corner for the cupboard with the plates in it! It is in a great location - just a block from the main street and the owner John is very helpful and obliging. There are plenty of lounges by the pool that are quite comfortable. There is also a BBQ which I didn't use but looked great.

The only thing that was a bit weird was the placement of the button to turn the spa/hot tub on - its over by the fence and you have to walk on pebbles and fight the bush to get to it. There might of been another button and I just missed it - but this was a little strange. However once activated the spa/hot tub was lovely. Also the pool needed cleaning with much debris and bugs having fallen in due to the ex cyclone weather that happen on the first couple of days.

Overall a lovely place to be based in Port Douglas!

Room Tip: Pool side rooms allow direct pool access however the top floor has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bitbytravelbug_241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnmer, Manager at Meridian Port Douglas, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review
We note your comments about the vegetation - it is the tropics and plant life does grow profusely - we keep access and visibility to the spa controls maintained on a regular basis , but you are correct tropical plants do grow quickly
The pool is kept clean on a regular basis , due to strong winds over a number of days there was constant foliage falling and this made it a small nightmare keeping the pool clear. Normally the pool is sparkling and inviting 7 days a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Meridian for 4D & 3N in December '12. It was a very good stay and definitely relaxing. We were very lucky to get upgraded to get the room with the adjoining pool. We spent all afternoon just wading in the pool. Pool is great and quiet.
Meridian is just a 5 minutes walk away from town with a smorgasbord of restaurants to choose from.
Lovely stay and would definitely stay at the Meridian when we return to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaNabilah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My Partner and I stayed here in October 2012 we had the Studio spa room the room was very clean but a bit on the small side for our stay, wish we had upgraded to a 1 bedroom ..
We had very rude neighbours that liked washing and drying their clothes at odd hours of the night
which echoed into our room we informed front desk and they fixed the problem straight away no more late night washing from then on thank god.
Staff where always pleasant and willing to help would recommend anyone couple to stay there

Room Tip: 1 bedroom or higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hurricanesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Meridian over New Years for 8 nights. It was unbelievably relaxing. We had a room with a private courtyard with a jacuzzi in it. John, Sue and the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. We even found a bottle of champagne in our fridge one day when we returned to make up for a minor glitch! Not necessary but really lovely. The pool was lovely and quiet as children are not allowed in the hotel. It is a really central hotel and close to everything, including restaurants, shops and the beach. There were good (basic) kitchen facilities. I would highly recommend this very affordable, comfortable clean and quiet hotel if you are looking for a couples get away. The rooms that have the jacuzzi are great as it gives you another option to just being in the pool. Loved it and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked Meridian at Port Douglas through our travel agent, for a 4-night stay at the start of our honeymoon in March 2012, and it was a fantastic start to a memorable time in Australia.

On arrival, when reception realised it was our honeymoon, we were immediately moved to a larger apartment. In itself this was great, but then champagne on ice was brought to our room which made it even better. The suite itself was well fitted out, obviously well maintained, and had a great view over the swimming pool below. The hot tub on the balcony was a real luxury!

Staff were knowledgable and friendly, and eager to help out. Reception took care of a restaurant booking, arranged our day on the reef, and also recommended a local car hire firm when we mentioned we wanted to head up to daintree gorge - much cheaper than going on a coach excursion

We found this was reasonably priced and provided an excellent level of comfort, service, and a great location near 4-mile beach.

If we ever make it back out to Port Douglas, we'll certainly look this place up again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Recently stayed at the Meridian for a week and had a great stay. The Studio Premier room was very comfortable and clean and the kitchen/washing facilities were very useful.
Rupa on the desk was a great help, recommending and booking excursions for us.
The hotel is very convenient for Macrossan Street and the Harbour area.
The pool was very welcome as we were there during Stinger season, so a dip in the sea was not advisable.
There is a large communal BBQ by the pool. It would be nice if there had been more than one table for eating, but devouring our freshly cooked catch from the morning's fishing trip was a highlight of the stay.
The underground car park was secure and connected by a lift to the apartments.
Everything was made very easy here, and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#10 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Property: Meridian Port Douglas
Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing