We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location and great room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meridian Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good location and great room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for two nites during our visit to Australia and was pleasantly surprised. The location was very good, near the beach and the main strip and the room was very big, with a kitchen and huge porch. Everything was very clean and well kept. The service was excellent too, as the ladies in reception helped us to plan our days and even transportation. It was super convenient.

Only negative thing I would say wouldn't be about the hotel. It was me and my gf and we are in our early 30s with no kids. We don't "go out" big time much anymore, but port Douglas was a bit too relaxed for us. The beach wasn't that great (even had "stinger nets" out, so limited swimming area) and the town was asleep about 11 it seemed. We spent one nite in cairns and it was a lot more happenin'. Anyway, it was nice and relaxing though!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    152
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
16
513
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived late but I was texted the code to open the safe at the entrance to access our keys which included a personalised note with clear directions to our room. The local map with the Meridian's location handwritten was a thoughtful touch! We had a room with a small balcony facing the pool and the room itself was very modern, clean and nicely decorated. We found the front desk to be friendly and extremely helpful. It was fairly quiet over the weekend we stayed and pool was only used by two other couples. There are a few loungers around the pool, perfect for reading a book in the tranquil setting. A BBQ is available in the pool area - great to cooking up fresh catch from the Marina. This was our first visit to PD and the Meridian's location is perfect - a very short walk from Macrossan St (the main st) and an easy stroll to the wharf and the beach. Living in the city, we're not use to the noises of nature so were woken up a few times by croaks, whistles and screeches but absolutely nothing you can do about that! Thanks John and Sue for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krmnlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the Meridian for the week of the total eclipse of the sun in November 2012. Top location if you happen to be without a car - the main street is a 2 minute walk away but just a little further and you'll find the marina restaurants which are much more picturesque.

The Meridian itself was very good. We were initially booked into a Studio Superior apartment - this was very small and had a microwave only - we were not looking forward to spending 7 nights in it. However we there was a 1 - bedroom apartment available due to a cancellation so we took this and we were very happy that we did. The pool access and private jacuzzi were great and the pool itself was a peaceful haven. This is an apartment hotel and no "services" are offered so you have to be completely self-sufficient. The reception staff were all very helpful and offered sound advice on choices between the hundreds of tour options on offer.

Great place to stay for a short break.

Room Tip: If you are planning to use the room for anything other than sleeping then avoid the studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZSTARGAZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had 10 nights at the Meridian for our honeymoon and it was amazing, beautiful, clean, bright and comfortable. We have young children which we left behind with family, so having child free time was great and even better knowing that the Meridian is pretty much for adults only. To be able to swim In the pool and not be splashed by children was great. The staff were great and always helpful. We highly recommend this resort. It is also very close to Macrossan street so nice to be able to walk to shops and restaurants. We were even given a bottle of chilled champagne to celebrate our honeymoon. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Meridian has an excellent location, easy walk to town and waterfront. Our room was smartly decorated and outfitted. We found the front desk rather preoccupied and impersonal upon our arrival. We had a room facing the road, very quiet and very enveloped by trees. It was a comfortable stay, but think that next time we would try somewhere else.

Room Tip: poolside rooms might be over-rated, happy with road side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We were very happy with all aspects of our stay at The Meridian. Upon arrival we were advised we had been upgraded, a lovely surprise! We were in a pool facing apartment, which made the balcony a nice place to relax. Plenty of sun lounges by the pool, and space, something that can be hard to come by in other centrally located Port Douglas hotels.
3 min walk to the main street and beach, perfect. Another nice aspect, no children under 16 allowed....nice quiet place to be.

Thanks to John, Sue and lovely Kelly on the front desk. Very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a nice superior apartment on the third floor. It had a jacuzzi on the balcony, which was excellent. The location in Port Douglas couldn't be better. It is centrally located enough so that the beach and the main drag are easy walks away, but far enough removed so that is it quiet at night (except for the wildlife). They gave us a bottle of champagne when we checked in as well, because we told them it was our honeymoon. The washer/dryer was really convenient. The underground parking was nice; I didn't have to worry about my rental car being out on the street. A few small complaints: the front door, which is close to the bedroom, is really not good at keeping noise out, so there were some loud birds that we occasionally heard at night. Also, the bedroom is a little small, and we were not able to keep both suitcases in there. One had to be down the hall next to the small table. The TV had like 4 channels, 3 of which were constant replays of sporting events. We weren't there to watch TV, so I wasn't hugely annoyed by this, but management should really consider adding some more channels for those rainy or cold days when you can't use the pool or go to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kupula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#10 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
#13 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 971 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Property: Meridian Port Douglas
Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing