We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having been to Port Douglas before we knew where we wanted to stay in relation to the main shopping / restaurant area and we knew we wanted a quiet place to stay without screaming children running around pool areas and the property in general - WE FOUND IT ! - From the charming young lady at the front desk to the magnificent pool area and the cleanest room we have ever stayed in, the Meridian is a credit to the owners and staff. Not that we dislike children ( we have 3 grown up ones of our own ) but we are passed that stage of our life and are now looking for a bit of serenity on the holiday front. With a policy of no children under the age of 15 and room for only 2 people in the rooms this is the perfect escape for couples both young and old alike. The Meridian is close to everything and the manager went out her way to assist us at anytime we required it. We have have stayed at some very nice places over the years but this was the best for a couple who want some peace and quiet and to just sit back and relax.

Room Tip: If you dont like to catch a lift from the 3rd floor to the pool then book a ground floor room - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    163
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
19
571
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Meridian will be where we stay again next year without a doubt. The location is perfect - no more than a three minute walk to Macrossan Street & yet positioned just far enough away to be peacefully quiet. We stayed in one of the pool deck rooms on the ground level which was great - LOVE being able to relax by the pool with out having to endure screaming kids! The rooms were beautifully finished, the bed was very comfortable & the lounge room was more than generous for the two of us. The property was spotlessly clean - could not fault the rooms or any of the public spaces. We found the staff to be particularly helpful, they were happy to take the time to chat about restaurant & day trip recommendations. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanadxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great place for a very relaxing long weekend - we were luck enough to get a place on the ground floor with direct access to the pool. Such a good location being so close to town; the manager was extremely helpful booking massages and trips for us while we stayed.
I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a great hotel/apartment. The staff is very friendly and the rooms very clean. There is a nice pool that has a bbq area but we didn't spend any time there. It is within walking distance of the main street, farmers market, and 4 mile beach. It is a nice location for Daintree Rainforest and Great Barrier Reef as well. No kids

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1katg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

"Cleanliness is next to Godliness", well it is at the Meridian. Our initial contact & bookings augered well, however we could not have been happier with our stay. A great welcome & I can't emphasise enough how clean & pristine our room & the resort was.
For first time visitors to PD like us, The Meridian is the ideal location, just a few minutes walk to the beach, marina & the main street. It is also opposite the bus stop should you be going further afield.
Our room was well designed, plenty of space, comy bed, light & airy kitchen/diner/living room & clean well appointed bathroom.
The owner & staff (Rupa) were friendly & helpful.
We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Consider an upgrade to the Superior if staying for more than a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonofWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our second visit to Port Douglas and loved being so close to town. On our last visit we stayed in a larger resort on the main road in to Port Douglas which was nice, but a bit out of the way and filled with screaming kids. The Meridian is a 2 minute walk to the main street where all of the restaurants, shops and pubs are located. We ate out every night and just strolled back to our apartment. We went for the 1 bedroom swim out or "Superior" apartment as we don’t mind lazing about the resort while we are away, It was fantastic!! Large and well finished with a comfortable bed, an awesome lounge and a kitchen with everything you need. The balcony was shaded which was perfect for when you wanted to come out of the sun and the pool deck got nice early-mid afternoon sun. The pool was great! very clean and got plenty of sun and for a young couples without children the "no children under 15 rule" makes the pool area so peaceful and relaxing, we didn't want to leave.
We were referred to the Meridian by friends and ended up booking direct with the resort manager John, which was a simple phone call and an email. John and his team a very friendly and helpful. This place ticked all boxes for us and we will definitely be back next year!!

Room Tip: 1 Bedroom Superior Room was perfect (with swimout)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattw170883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We are seasonsed Port Douglas visitors and over the years we have stayed in many places including private houses. Let me tell you if you want somewhere that is 2 minutes to town and to the beach and you have a pool that is heated and not spoilt by the continuous pitter patter of little feet then this is the place. Poeple seem to whinge a lot on this site, if you want sun then get of your bum and wander 5 metre's to the deck where their is sun all day, if you want your room spotless then go stay at the top end of the market rate, if you want a luxurious balcony again go and pay top rates. The Meridian provides everything you pay for and with a warm welcome smile on arrival it all makes for a grouse stay.
Well done John and Sue, we will be back :)

Room Tip: Pool Delux Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Property: Meridian Port Douglas
Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing