We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

It was our first time to Port Douglas. My partner and I did some search for accommodation on the internet and checked out some recommendations from friends prior to the trip and we couldn't decide where to stay because it seems most of the places in town at our usual budget range (200-300$/night) look quite old and wore out. 12 hours before we headed to the airport we booked a superior room at Meridian with a private yard and jacuzzi spa for 200 bucks per night. The hotel arranged shuttle bus to pick us up at Cairns airport (34$ per person) and 1.5h later we were in our room. The hotel looks nothing fancy from the entrance but the location is great. About 100 metres to the main street in town and 2 minutes walk to the beach.The front desk lady is very nice and friendly. Our room is clean, tidy and bright. It got pretty much everything you need. We loved the jacuzzi spa in our private yard especially after a game of golf. The outdoor pool is small but quiet and clean. Although we have passed some other properties in Port Douglas looks much nicer from outside we honestly have nothing to complain about our stay at meridian. It was nothing luxurious but it was comfortable, safe and convenient. I'd agree with people that if you go to Port Douglas try to stay close to the main street even if you have to compromise a bit on the quality of the accommodation. Coz after all you will be out most of the time anyway. And if you just want to chill at a luxury resort, then Port Douglas might not be the right desitination. Plenty of 5 stars resorts in Southeast Asia with better food and service to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed at Room 7A on the ground level with private yard and jacuzzi spa. It was quiet and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    168
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
22
580
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at a one bedroom superior apartment on the third floor with two balcony's overlooking the street. Fantastic location, we walked everywhere, 150 metres to the main street with all the cafes and shops, then about the same to the lovely 4 mile beach. Very nice apartment. Glad we had one facing the quiete street as it was very private. The apartments with the balconies facing the pool didn't have the same privacy. Guests in the pool or at the bar-b-que area could look straight across the water and into the balconies of those apartments opposite. Lovely grounds, beautiful clean pool area. Management and staff fantastic. Apartments very close within a short walk to main street with all the fantastic restaurants and cafe's. Beach is just wonderful, very good for all especially children as it is a very gradual walk out into the waves not a steep drop like some beaches. Safety flags were up with lifesavers on duty each day. Sand very hard so wonderful for walking on or bike riding. I saw a few windsurfers on the beach. Very restful stay, heaps to do if you want or just lounge around by the pool. Fantastic!! If you decide to go on the Lady Douglas which is a really good trip on a paddle boat up the canals looking at the crocodiles make sure you put on some insect repellant, we were bitten badly by sand flies. You cannot see them they are so small, just spray it on and all will be good. Great trip on the Lady Douglas. You get aboard down at the marina in Port Douglas. Well worth going!!

Room Tip: In our opinion for ultimate privacy get a room that the balconies face the street, probably on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moonbeames1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Once we ariived at our hotel we were quickly shown our apartment for some much needed rest after our travels, We found the apartment bright, airy, and very neat and tidy it was a pleasure to just kick off our shoes and sit down
The Meridian is one block from the main street and one block from 4 mile beach so everything was in quick walking distance which we found very convenient
The hotel was very secure and could only be accessed by using your room key ie; Front entrance and carpark which really helped you relax
The pool was fantastic it was clean and had BBQ facuiltys with plenty of chairs,tables and sofa,s
They owners have thought of just about everthing and would have to be in my top 5 places I have stayed at

Room Tip: Ask for a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chucka63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have just spent four relaxing nights here in a one bedroom pool deck room. The room was nicely appointed with everything you need to self cater your stay. The bed was big and comfortable, the bathroom clean and spacious. We loved the verandah and deck leading to the spotlessly clean pool. The security undercover parking was a plus as was the easy walk to the main restaurants, shops and beautiful beach. The staff were helpful and friendly. Tours could easily be arranged via the hotel. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any couple wanting a child free stay in luxury surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsbar66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in the One bedroom Superior Apartment with a jacuzzi on our balcony. From the time we made our booking, we were given excellent service and the Meridian organise our bus transfers from the airport to the Hotel. On arrival we were shown our room and it was immaculate and spacious for our needs. It has a spa bath in the bathroom and a jacuzzin on the balcony which is private from the apartments next to our room. To save money, we cooked the majority of our dinners in our room using the small kitchenette which we found well equipped with all the necessary utensils and cookware. We were also suprised to find a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom which we used to save washing all of our clothes when we returned home which was an added bonus. The Meridian staff booked all of our tours and helped with suggestions for eating out in town and what to do. It was less than a 5 minute walk to the centre of town and we would definitely stay here again if we visited Port Douglas. It was very relaxing and the facilities were wonderful!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies that open up straight onto the pool but we liked the privacy of our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed in June 2012 in a 1 bedroom Superior apartment with pool deck. We chose the deck as we already have a spa at home and thought it looked fun!

Couldn't beat the location - 2 minutes walk to Macrossan Street and 3 minutes walk to the beach.

I LOVED the apartment decor and layout. It was a good size and we saved some money by having breakfast and a few other meals using the kitchen. It had everything you needed and the outdoor area was quite big because you not only had a patio but the deck as well.

Also there is a washer and dryer just outside your room which is free to use too.

A few negative things, nothing major at all but thought I should still mention...

Our patio and deck was in the shade all day as were all of the other apartments bar 2. It was sometimes too cold to sit out there (i do get cold easily though) so that was a bit sad. Obviously the hotel can't help this but it was something that bothered me and I think I would look at another hotel next time that has a different aspect. In saying that, there are sun lounges around the pool that are in the sun most of the day but I felt a bit bad using those ones since we had our own pool deck to sit on.

The pool deck itself was lovely but it was really hard to get back out. My husband could pull himself up but I struggled. You had to laugh but it was actually annoying and I'm not sure why there are no ladders.

The spa was also a little cold for a spa. I should probably have said something to management but I thought it was a bit petty and we may be bias cos we have our own spa so other people may not have found it cold. In saying that, I am writing about it here so it is something that did bother me a little.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel cos I really loved the apartment itself and the location but still in two minds if I would stay here again or try somewhere else just due to the no sun on deck factor.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite and the rooms directly opposite did get some sun on them. Not sure what room num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravelAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My partner and I decided to have a mid winter break from the Sydney cold to Port Douglas for a week in June. What can I say, the Meridian is exactly what we were looking for and we had a 1 bedroom top floor apartment with a jacuzzi on the balcony.
It was as exactly as described, beautifully appointed with everything we could have hoped for. he staff at the reception were so friendly and helpful, it was joy to stay there.
It was only a minute walk from Macrossan Street, where we found plenty of restaurants and shops.
The apartment was well appointed with full kitchen facilities and a shared laundry with the apartment next door. As this is an adults only facility, it was quite and no noisy neighbors, even though on a fairly busy street, the road noise did not bother us.
The apartment was extremely clean and tidy and serviced just the once thru the week we stayed, but this was sufficient and it was nice not to have to get out each day for the maids.
I would definitely recommend and would be happy to stay again, thank you Meridian for a memorable holiday

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Property: Meridian Port Douglas
Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing