We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Lovely Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meridian Port Douglas
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Lovely Staff”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at the Meridian in October 2011 for one week in a Studio Superior room with a pool deck. The staff were lovely and the room was neat and tidy and we loved the direct access to the pool. The hotel was close to the main street and the marina, making it very easy to go out and get dinner or an ice cream. Lovely tropical plants in the garden and around the pool made for a nice view. Excellent value for money as we were able to take advantage of a stay 7, pay 6 deal advertised on the hotels website. Highly recommend a stay at the Meridian.

Room Tip: The Studio Superior room with a pool deck was great. Convenient access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    163
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
19
571
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We only have good things to say about this place!
Upon arrival we were met by one of the owners, John. A very relaxed man (That´s a compliment). He made us feel very welcome and offered lots of tips on restaurants and tours to take. I´m sure he gets some commission for booking various trips, but that´s well deserved. We went on several tours booked by John and the outer reef tour with the Poseidon was a major high light on our 4 week tour of Australia!
We stayed 4 nights in a studio. Ok size, very clean, good bed, and all you need. You share a washing machine and a drier with the neighbouring apartment.
Continental breakfast consists of a stocked fridge in the studio/apartment, which was a nice touch. We had bread, various jams, butter, fruit, muesli, milk, juice and fresh strawberries.
Location is perfect. Just a few minutes walk from Four Mile Beach, the Marina, several good restaurants - well, basically all of Port Douglas.
The girl at the reception was outstanding when our departure transfer did not show (Bus company made a mistake). Bus company had no intention of rectifying their mistake, so the girl at the reception (So sorry, but I forgot her name), arranged for an alternate company to pick us up within 15 minutes (We had a flight to catch out of Cairns).
Would stay here again and would recommend to anyone visiting wonderful Port Douglas!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the meridian for one week in sept and had a great stay. The hotel has an ideal location and a very nice staff that was helpful in booking activities. Though there do seem to be some hotels nearby that are comparably nice I would prefer the meridian as walks to dinner and the marina would not have been as convenient. The pool is nice and looked clean for the most part, though it was hard to get back up to rooms with pool decks once in there. Hot tub could have been hotter. Agree with some other postings that the extra minimal costs for shampoos and pool towels seems a little nickel and dimey but we got the towels anyway. The room was a bit small as we didn't get the apt but we also packed for two weeks so we had a lot of luggage. Oherwise the room size would have been fine. All in all, would recommend this place to others and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Very friendly staff
Very clean rooms
Nice swimming pool, were you really can swim (long and deep enough)

We took a standard studio but were, for some unknown reason, upgraded to a superior studio!

We really enjoyed our stay in the Meridian!

Room Tip: Standard studio is perfect for young couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at Meridian in September for 1 week, impressed with our one bedroom apartment, very clean and modern facilities. Ideal position for walking into town or marina, only 5 mins walk away. Recommend eating at the Italian restaurant (Bucci) in town for a nice dinner.

Only a few very minor points, shower was designed for people under 5ft. Pool area was small and shady which meant finding sun loungers in the sun was occassionaly impossible, although beach is within 5 mins walk as an alternative.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richiejg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for a week and it was great. The apartment was bright and clean and had everything we needed. Handy having the kitchen so we could do our own meals when we felt like it. The Meridian is in a great spot, you can easily walk to the beach, the marina, and the main street. The lady on the front desk was nice, and made good recommendations for things to do. The pool was lovely and well set up to lie around and enjoy the sunshine!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmeMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights in a superior studio with a spa pool in the courtyard. The hotel is in a great location not far from either the beach, Macrossan Street and the Marina. The room was good, though you would struggle to do any self catering - get a 1 bed apartment if you want to do that. The luxury of having the spa pool was great for relaxing in at the end of the day. Even though our room and courtyard backed onto the main road, we did not have any issues with traffic noise. The pool area was really good and being adults only in the hotel it was quiet and not too busy, and I think next time we would get a room with a deck leading into the pool. The room wasn't serviced during our stay (only for stays of 6 days or more) but that wasn't a major issue for us. Staff were very helpful and made booking the various tours easy. Would stay here again when back in PD.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meridian Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meridian Port Douglas

Property: Meridian Port Douglas
Address: 15 - 17 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#27 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meridian Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meridian Port Douglas offers 4.5 star rated boutique apartment style accommodation in the heart of Port Douglas. An adult haven of privacy and relaxation for couples and singles has been created in a selection of stylish self-contained Studio Rooms and One Bedroom Apartments, surrounding a heated lagoon style pool set in tropical gardens. Accommodation options include swim up pool access rooms or your own private jacuzzi. The Meridian Port Douglas is ideal for couples and singles that desire a peaceful and relaxing getaway however mature teenagers over the age of 16 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Meridian Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Meridian Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Meridian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing