We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Douglas Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights and it was sooo great! We paid $95 AU a night. The pool is beautiful and gets plenty of sunshine. They light tikki torches around it at night. There are nice lounge chairs and 2 BBQ's. The rooms are modern and roomy. It is nice b/c in your room you have a stovetop, microwave, toaster, etc. to cook dinner or breakfast. The managers are very helpful and nice. This place is right in town, but off the main street, so very quite. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sampsonchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    123
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
197
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. We arrived late, and there was no one at the counter, but this is not a "hotel" it is an apartment hotel. There was a note left with easy to follow instructions for our room. The room was clean and just the right size for 2 people. The kitchen area was small, but again, just the right size when you are on vacation. The hotel is 1 block from the main street, about 3 blocks from 4 mile beach and a couple of blocks from the marina. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool and bbq areas were clean and well maintained. The palms and rock waterfall made sitting by the pool very enjoyable. I would stay here again. This is not one of those "boutique" hotels, and does not have all the aminities, but it was great for what we wanted. Clean room, clean sheets and towles, friendly and helpfull staff, and close to main street.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djtflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

We stayed at Port Douglas Retreat for 7 days in December. It is useful to search for package deals on the internet as we only paid $89 Oz a night. The apartment was small but fully functional and comfortable with a view of the pool. Whilst we stayed it was very quiet and we had the pool to ourselves most days (very nice).

The retreat is positioned well between the shops and beach (3 min walk). It was sweltering when we were there so were grateful for the aircon.

A word of advice: take towels and toilet paper (or buy them there) as the apartments are not serviced and you have to pay for fresh towels ($6 for a beach towel, $1 for roll of loo paper etc).

Recommend Habba for a trip to the reef ($180 Oz). Great snorkeking. Bistro 3 for a nice meal out. We cooked most of the time in our room as we found eating out quite dear.

Watch out for the ants, they swoop on any food left out for a minute.

  • Liked — Pool and tropical palms
  • Disliked — Paying for towels and loo paper and the ant invasion
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Eco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

we loved this place, within walking distance to everything, great room overlooking the pool, the staff were terrific, giving us excellent advice on reef trips, dining etc., visiting the daintree. the pool and bbq area were great and the rooms clean. we would definately recommend this as a place to stay, great price and we would stay here again if we came back to Port Douglas

  • Liked — position, staff, rooms
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billybobVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2008

Port Douglas Retreat is situated perfectly, walking distance to everything. Pool is great, loved the BBQ area. Had a lovely stay. The staff are very helpful and so friendly. I hope to be back.

  • Liked — Bright and very clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Touristinaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

I only spent one night in this horrible three and a half star hotel, having booked it for a week via a travel agent. I have had to spend well over 600 British pounds in organising other accommodation with no guarantee I will get any $ back (I am not a rich person). Having said that I was still desparate to get out of there. The room was described as a studio suitable for three people (single mum and two kids). However the put you up bed would have meant there was no space between the other beds and the wall which would have meant you had to climb over the beds to exit the room.

The room was gloomy, depressing and very dated. No tropical charm whatsoever! There was no one to greet us when we arrived at 8pm. Neither had anyone bothered to assemble and make up the put-you -up bed for us. The kitchen area was in the corridor as you went into the room. It looked grubby and well past its sell by date. Our room gave on to an alleyway which was very noisy from 6.30am. Also the walls were paper thin so you could clearly hear people using the bathroom next door. There was no room for us to put our clothes apart from three desk style drawers in the TV table. The staff appeared unfriendly and totally unconcerned about the fact that we were unhappy with the accommodation.

The only "good" things about the place were that it was quite clean and near to town, other than please avoid like the plague. There are so many lovely places to stay in this fantastic resort, it was just my bad luck that I happened to end up in the Port Douglas Retreat.

NB we are now staying at the Freestyle resort which is absolutely fantastic!!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Dingy depressing dump
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardworkingsinglemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy011, Manager at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, August 27, 2008
It is unfortunate that a person can make unsubstantiated defamatory comments for the simple reason she didn’t get what she wanted. This being her money refunded.

This guest booked through a travel agent in March 2008, therefore the reservation was held by us for 5 months prior to their arrival. As we were fully booked we have had to decline other bookings for this period. To give a refund would not be fair to the owner of the apartment.

The cancellation policy is very clear on this matter.

As per the other comments posted on this site most people enjoy their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns tomorrow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

We have just stayed for a week at Port Douglas Retreat and have to say having stayed in other places over the years this is the best place in Port Douglas. The rooms are studio style, clean and bright, they are great for 2 people. The King beds are HUGE, the best nights sleep!
The pool area is so much bigger than anywhere we have stayed before, so very tropical. The gas flames at night are beautiful.
The managers Tracy & Peter are so helpful and friendly. The advice Peter gave regarding the tours was spot on, try Tonys Tropical tours for the Daintree.
I cannot say enough about this place, 5 minutes walk to town, same to the beach and marina. Very well priced too. We have already booked again for next year

  • Liked — Happy place
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank loveaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#25 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Retreat

Property: Port Douglas Retreat
Address: 31 - 33 Mowbray St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IDEAL ACCOMMODATION IN PORT DOUGLAS. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation offers self-contained studio apartments in Port Douglas, Far North Queensland, Australia. Perfect holiday accommodation for couples or single travellers. EXCELLENT LOCATION. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation is superbly located just a few minutes' walk to Four Mile Beach or Macrossan Street and Marina Mirage. VISITOR INFORMATION. With an in-house tour desk and local knowledge, your hosts can help create your wonderful Port Douglas experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Douglas Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Retreat Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing