We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, cozy, centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Douglas Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable, cozy, centrally located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just spent a week at Port Douglas Retreat and found it a great place to stay for the price and location. Yes, we had to keep our room clean and it was a bit surprising not to get fresh towels at least once during a week stay but overall, we were very happy there. We especially appreciated the opportunity to cook some of our meals (reducing food costs!) and eating these meals on our balcony shielded with lovely palm trees and other tropical plants. Joyce and David, the managers, proved to be a great resource of information and kindness!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    123
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
197
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
419 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Lovely small complex, friendly, efficient owners, well equipped apartment, nice pool area, BBQ facilities. OK so you don't get your room tidied every day but who needs that anyway?
It's easily walkable to the marina, market, shops and restaurants. Everything is clean. Laundry room clean and cheap. The beds are comfy, TV has all the channels, radio provided..... I could go on.
You have everything you need to make yourself a fantastic holiday location all at a very good price.
We are fussy travellers and the only fault we can find is that the internet connection is unreliable and pricey, everything else is spot on. We are spending Christmas & New Year here and are very pleased with PD as a resort and this apartment in particular.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I guess I was somewhat misinformed about what to expect at the Port Douglas Retreat. The location is great: 5 minutes walk from Macrossan Street, but other than that, the property doesn't have too many redeeming qualities. I was rather surprised to find out that I was responsible for making my own bed, cleaning, and taking out the garbage. I thought I was on vacation!

I arrived after traveling 30 hours to find a very hot room and a shower that flooded the bathroom every time it was used. The air conditioning only works when the key is in a slot by the door and is so noisy, sleeping was difficult. The room was also dirty and shabby-- and don't count on any amenities.

Joyce and David were very pleasant and helpful, but I was ultimately disappointed. Perhaps this is the norm for serviced apartments, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingPharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The price for these hotel apartments is fair. There's nothing special. Pool is medium size. There's a small kitchen, and the shower in the washroom was pretty small.

The staff are very nice. The reception is not open 24hrs so you should let them know if you are arriving after 5. Jenny at the reception, gave us very good information about tours.

The hotels are pretty well located. Approx. two blocks from the main shopping and restaurant street.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coffee_tea_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We arrived after dark and out of office hours to find a letter and room keys taped to the office window. Unable to park and not expecting this I was a little flustered but it was all fine, there was on street parking opposite and it was only for the first night. Whilst it would have been nice to be greeted we accept that extra staffing would push costs up.

From here on out it only gets better;

The room was pleasant, clean and comfortable more than adequate but equally not 5* luxury amazing, but they were nothing more or less than we would have expected for a hotel of this price and quality. The next morning when we met up with the owners / managers their enthusiasm for the area and knowledge were invaluable in helping us plan our trip.

They helped us pick the right reef cruise, rainforest tour and recommended the aboriginal day tour which we thoroughly enjoyed.

We didn't partake in the poolside BBQ or the pool itself (we weren't around long enough in daytime hours).

They were even kind enough to supply us with a bottle of bubbly for our honeymoon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

the hotel itself was in a great position 5 minute walk from everything you have the beach, the main street with all bars food places and shops and the wharf right on your doorstep. The hotel rooms are little apartments with great facilities. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone. not too expensive either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniw07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Port Douglas Retreat was a wonderful little apartment hotel just one street off the main strip in Port Douglas. we had rented a car and it was parked the entire time as you could walk to everything.
Rooms were average Tidy and efficient They are not fancy but that is specified, however the bed was very comfortable. The selling pint for this place is the pool oasis and BBQ area gorgeous quiet and of course our hosts David and Joyce David was so helpful for recommendations from dinner spots to tours Everything can be booked right there which saved time. if I return to Port Douglas I most certainly stay again Thank you David and Joyce from your Canadian Guests.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kealey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#25 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Retreat

Property: Port Douglas Retreat
Address: 31 - 33 Mowbray St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IDEAL ACCOMMODATION IN PORT DOUGLAS. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation offers self-contained studio apartments in Port Douglas, Far North Queensland, Australia. Perfect holiday accommodation for couples or single travellers. EXCELLENT LOCATION. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation is superbly located just a few minutes' walk to Four Mile Beach or Macrossan Street and Marina Mirage. VISITOR INFORMATION. With an in-house tour desk and local knowledge, your hosts can help create your wonderful Port Douglas experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Douglas Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Retreat Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing