We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Friendly Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Douglas Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly Accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from January 21st to the 24th, 2013.

Overall I would recommend this location with a few caveats. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. It's lovely to be greeted by people who seem genuinely glad to have you stay at their place. Our room was clean and functional, including a mini-fridge and other kitchen amenities.

We didn't realize that this place is more of a mini-apartment rather than what you might consider a typical hotel room. We were surprised to learn that if you wanted clean towels daily there would be a surcharge. This surcharge would also apply to soaps, shampoos, lotions,etc. There was an extra daily charge for use of the in-room safe which seemed a bit excessive. The laundry facilities were not functioning during our stay but that was just bad luck for us and I don't think this was the norm.

We were happy to have an easy walk to the main street in town and especially grateful for the loan of an umbrella from the front desk. It was more than a bit drippy during our stay!

While we would recommend this place, I would have been nice to know of the extra charges before our arrival.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funinthesundenver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We thank our guests for taking the time to write their review. We are very happy to read they enjoyed their holidays and found their apartment to be clean and welcoming for them. We remember them well and know that they enjoyed the tours and restaurants we suggested. It was nice having them stay with us.

In the first sentence on our website, we write that Port Douglas Retreat offers 3.5 stars self serviced holiday apartments, with an internal link to an explanation about self serviced holiday apartments and that there is a small charge if a guest would like fresh towels. It is all there to be read on our website, openly and honestly. We repeat this again in the guest compendiums in the apartments.

For some of our American guests, the concept of self serviced holiday apartments may be foreign to them as some may be more used to hotels offering daily room service and daily new towels etc, even for 3 nights. Holiday apartments are different and are very popular throughout Queensland, from the Gold Coast to Port Douglas. Port Douglas has hotels with daily service but their costs are significantly more than what our guests paid for when staying at Port Douglas Retreat.

Our laundry was only closed for one day, while the walkway decking was being repaired. We explained that the laundry was closed for only one day on all the signs for our guests understanding. Repairs were necessary and we needed to close the laundry. We left the laundry open from 6:30am till 10pm the following days to help guests 'catch up'.

Lastly, our in room safes are now free for guest use as we now own the safes rather than having to rent them from a supplier.

We are happy that our guests would recommend us and they had a great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    123
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
197
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Retreat during November 2012, the week of the Eclipse to be exact. Even during this period of high demand, i felt the cost to be reasonable. The rooms were well equipped, good size flat-screen tv and fridge freezer, hob, kitchen utensils, cutlery, crockery, pots & pans, kettle, microwave, cafetiere, glasses, iron, etc, even washing liquid and cloths/t-towels. There is also a safe and your first round of tea/coffee provided for. The pool area is well shaded, with (limited) loungers provided and a barbecue area should you wish to cook and dine al fresco. There is a laundry for guest use and secure off-street parking. David and Joyce were welcoming and friendly and a great help when we wanted to organise a couple of tours. The Retreat is located some 5 mins walk from the main street and beach and as some streets don't have lighting, it can make for an interesting walk home in the dark. One small neg', we had two rooms, the air-con unit in one room was not as effective as the one in our other room, however this did not present much of a problem, as i was aiming to acclimatise for a three week camping trip following our stay. We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were absolutely delighted with this gem of a place so close to the main street of Port Douglas but still quiet even when sitting out on our pretty balcony overlooking the pool. Our apartment, and most importantly, bed, was very comfortable and our air con worked perfectly. We also had an overhead fan and fly screen so a good nights sleep was guarenteed. The pool was delightful and all the grounds very lush, pretty and well maintained. Our only, very minor complaint would be that the shower cubicle was too small, but no problem with the hot water temp or flow. Thank you David and Joyce, we would definitely recommend you to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have stayed in many places over 20 years of holidaying in port and found this gem to be one of the best. This review is based solely on the price. Yes of course there are better and more luxurious places in port to stay but we found the retreat to be excellent value. The kitchenette great for breakfast and enough utensils to cook a meal should you choose. The pool definitely one of the best along with sun lounges and a lovely well equipped BBQ area. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the location perfect. Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chilifan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of December. The rooms are spacious and clean. There is a great pool to cool down in at the end of a busy day. The location is perfect and a short walk to the beach and the shops in Port Douglas. We were undecided about hiring a car. In the end we decided that it was not necessary as all the day tours will pick you up from your accommodation and drop you back at the end of the day. The owners were very knowledgeable and helped us decide the best day tours to book. I would recommend this as a good place to stay and explore Port Douglas and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunshine8642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place was a great find!! Cheap but very ninice. Great location, only 5 mins from beach one way and 5 mins to shops the other. The rooms were clean and very nice and each have a balcony. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pool is amazing!! Clear water and very private. The only bad point I would say would be the aircon which did not work well and we often found it difficult to sleep. However would definitely recommend this place to others if your looking for somewhere basic to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

First of all, the hotel staff is very welcoming and friendly. They will help you get around town and book any tours you may need. The room was clean, spacious, and had a kitchenette. The best part of the hotel was its convenient location to all the restaurants and shops in Port Douglas. Just a block or two away from the main strip and beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.1 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#25 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Retreat

Property: Port Douglas Retreat
Address: 31 - 33 Mowbray St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IDEAL ACCOMMODATION IN PORT DOUGLAS. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation offers self-contained studio apartments in Port Douglas, Far North Queensland, Australia. Perfect holiday accommodation for couples or single travellers. EXCELLENT LOCATION. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation is superbly located just a few minutes' walk to Four Mile Beach or Macrossan Street and Marina Mirage. VISITOR INFORMATION. With an in-house tour desk and local knowledge, your hosts can help create your wonderful Port Douglas experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Douglas Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Retreat Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing