We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient to town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Douglas Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Port Douglas Retreat to your Saves list
Port Douglas Retreat
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   31 - 33 Mowbray Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient to town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went to Port Douglas as a jumping off point to snorkel and visit Daintree National Park. We had our own car, so the location was great. You can easily walk to the many nearby restaurants in town and is 5 minutes from marina for snorkeling (You can walk there too, but we were picked up) The units are clean and have adequate kitchen for fixing breakfast, but we didn't use it.Think it would be difficult to make dinner as pretty tight. This is not a hotel, but a room with cooking facilities - no service to change towels or make the bed. OK for our needs, but after a long flight from the USA would have preferred a little more luxury, but his does not seem to be available in this location. If you want to be on the beach book elsewhere, although you can easily walk to the beach, nicer sections are further away. The staff here is helpful in terms of driving and info. without being pushy and trying to sell anything. Parking is free. The pool is lovely, but we had our days booked with other activities. Never heard any noise from pool or elsewhere at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    107
    30
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
174
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights and we cannot praise this highly enough,from the accommodation to the help and advice from the managers. Just a great place to stay.
This was a taste of tropical paradise for our holiday.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silversurferted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

What can I say? This was on of the most relaxing places I've ever had the pleasure of staying at. The room was nice and neat and with the neighbouring pool's "waterfall" sound at night, it was the best night's sleep I've ever had while on holidays! There is no daily service of towels and bed being made up, but who cares, you're on holidays so it doesn't matter anyway! My only small criticism is being asked to remove rubbish from the bins into an outside bin at the end of your stay, which was unnecessary in my opinion, as well as having to do any dishes. But still highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 28 overlooking a neighbouring pool was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madashell47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are so happy to read that you have had the "best sleep on any of your holidays. This would mean you were relaxed and able to enjoy your holidays in Port Douglas.

We receive many positive comments about the presentation of the apartments and how much this has contributed to the enjoyment and relaxation of our guests.

Our self serviced apartments provide our guests all that is needed for their well deserved holiday. Thank you for offering your "highly recommended" endorsement.

We do hope that if you are in Port Douglas again, that you allow us the honour of offering you another great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

For our first time to Port Douglas we were recommended to stay at Port Douglas Retreat, for the price you could not find better accommodation. Walking distance to pubs, shops and the beach. The facilities were exactly what you needed, a beautiful BBQ area, tropical well maintained pool with beautiful quite gardens. David and Joyce keep the place immaculately maintained and were fantastic with any questions or advice. They gave unbiased advice of things to do or places to go in Port Douglas. Port Douglas Retreat is the best 3 star accommodation I have stayed in around the world, I would not stay anywhere else in Port Douglas, you could not get any better value. The place was booked out while we were there yet the place remained quite and pieceful. I recommend choosing a room on the second floor overlooking the pool. Thanks David and Joyce, we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the second loos overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you to Caitlin for your review.

We are very happy to read your review of our accommodation. We are also happy to read that we could contribute to your enjoyment of beautiful Port Douglas and the area.

We are also glad that you found us to be so well located and that you could walk to the beach restaurants or the shops. Being able to walk everywhere certainly makes it easy to get around.

It was good to read that you were able to use our suggestions and tips for your holidays. We enjoy sharing with our guests, tips and suggestions as we feel that this makes the difference to their holidays. Local advice will always beat the guidebooks.

We have so many wonderful comments from our guests about the gardens and pool area. It is a very popular location to sit back and relax. We see many of our guests talking, laughing and sharing with other guests about their experiences in the evenings around the pool area.

We do hope that you will be able to return and stay with us again, the next time you are in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Victoria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Best value in Port Douglas near to town and a short walk to Four Mile beach. Lovely pool and garden the resort is well maintained and run by David and Joyce. Ideal for couples who want a quite holiday or base to explore from. We've stayed there for four years each time for longer.

Room Tip: There's an excellent pool, nice to overlook it. Self catering so expect to use the BBQ and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
So happy to read of another guest who enjoys staying with us at Port Douglas Retreat.

We receive many positive remarks about our pool and BBQ area. We see many of our guests sitting around in the late afternoons talking with our other guests, discussing their tours and experiences. It is a popular place to sit back and relax.

As noted in the review, Port Douglas Retreat is 'ideal for couples', we have many couples choosing to stay with us. As we only have studio apartments with double beds, it is very rare that we have children staying with us.

Again, we thank our guests for such a positive review, we always enjoy seeing our guests relaxing and enjoying themselves during their well deserved holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Location - Perfect!. Right in the middle of the main street and the beach.
Room - Clean and tidy but nothing flash. If you are wanting anything above a 3 star this isn't for you but if you want a simple room with TV and easy access to everything you need then it's fine. The beds and bathroom are dated but perfectly adequate. Don't look too closely at the grouting etc cos that's not a priority. Our room was near reception and it was noisy at all hrs.
Pool - Fantastic. Slightly heated and well maintained. There needs to be a few more deck chairs tho. Had to go early to get one.

Room Tip: Get as far away from reception as possible. Wooden decks and noisy guests means you get disturbed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewZealandCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
So happy to read that our guests enjoyed their holidays so much.

Actually, our location is one street back from the main street, but as written close to everything.

The pool decking has all the pool furniture for guests to laze by the pool, but I think if we had enough furniture for everyone staying with us, there would be no room left to walk. However, as we are only a couple of minutes walk to the beach, it normally isn't something that people worry about.

The walkway to the pool is locked off at 10pm and reopens at 7:30am. Our guests apartment was on the walkway to the pool, so I am not sure what why our guest felt it was noisy "at all hours". By 10pm it is very quiet and no one is walking around on the decking as it is locked.

Many people choose to stay with us as our apartments are just what they are looking for. Clean and tidy apartments, close to everything and offering our guests an alternative than having to stay at the luxury 5 star properties.

We hope if our guests travel to Port Douglas again, we have the opportunity to provide them another great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you want a place to relax in tropical comfort and feel like you are alone in the world, this is the place! We read reviews and viewed the photos but were unprepared for just how beautiful this place really is. We had room 4 overlooking the barbeque roof and the pool with the lush vegetation surrounding us. It felt so absolutely private and serene. Our room was so spacious and the bed looked out into the trees. With the blinds tilted properly, we could have the glorious glow of light without losing privacy yet the balcony roof shaded us from too much intense sun. We swam in the soothing saltwater pool, a real treat to have no chlorine treatment, and the lush vegetation made it feel like we were in a lagoon up in the rainforest. We Americans were enthralled with the exotic tropical birds and could not get enough of the unique Australian plantlife. The location of The Retreat was perfect: only five minutes (literally) to the most spectacular beach you could ever imagine; five minutes in the other direction to the interesting and active shopping/restaurant district; ten minutes to the wharf area with some fantastic restaurants with open-deck dining overlooking the ocean; and large, public recreation fields across the street that kept street noise to a minimum. David and Joyce were attentive to our needs and willingly helped us with bookings and planning of activities. We had door-to-door bus service back to the Cairns airport and never had to feel that we were totally on our own. (One "small," but meaningful, service was the easily accessible laundry facility. We actually did laundry and enjoyed it!!!) We stayed five days in Port Douglas and loved every minute, much of it because of our little "home" at Port Douglas Retreat. You would be hardpressed to find a better place in Port Douglas for the price. If we were to ever come back to Port Douglas, it would be back to the Port Douglas Retreat. It truly lives up to its name.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank broncoboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDRetreat, Owner at Port Douglas Retreat, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We thank our guests for such a lovely and honest review.

We are happy that we were able to offer you accommodation that suited you so well and that you were able to enjoy our pool and BBQs and our 'lush' gardens.

It seems from reading your review that you left Port Douglas extremely satisfied and that you "loved every minute of it".

We are so glad that we could not only offer an enjoyable holiday, but we could 'show off' to our American friends, just how pretty Port Douglas and the region is.

We hope if you or your friends are planning another Australian holiday, that we can offer again to you, some wonderful accommodation so you can enjoy this beautiful region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Bay Villas Resort
Bay Villas Resort
#23 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Retreat

Property: Port Douglas Retreat
Address: 31 - 33 Mowbray Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IDEAL ACCOMMODATION IN PORT DOUGLAS. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation offers self-contained studio apartments in Port Douglas, Far North Queensland, Australia. Perfect holiday accommodation for couples or single travellers. EXCELLENT LOCATION. Port Douglas Retreat Holiday Accommodation is superbly located just a few minutes' walk to Four Mile Beach or Macrossan Street and Marina Mirage. VISITOR INFORMATION. With an in-house tour desk and local knowledge, your hosts can help create your wonderful Port Douglas experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Port Douglas Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Retreat Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing