We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful exploration”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Agincourt Reef

Agincourt Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
$186.34*
and up
Outer Great Barrier Reef Snorkeling and Diving Cruise from Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking
Lake Geneva
Level Contributor
232 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful exploration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We went out to the reef in one of the smaller (though fast enough) boats, and stopped at three places during the day. Despite the rather grey skies, the exploration of the coral reef was a wonderful experience and we saw dozens of different types of beautiful fish and marine plants.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Muverans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    173
    54
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Went on an overcast day and so the colours in the coral weren't as spectacular, but was good none the less. Is a long trip on the boat - 90 minutes. Apparently the reason why the big companies have to go out here is to do with their tourist licences, they cannot operate with that many people in the inner reef. It isn't because you won't get as good a view at the inner reef.
We managed to see a White Tip Reef Shark, which was great. The current was quite strong out there, so it was hard going.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krys1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a grand day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We pre-booked this tour and it was a great choice. Neither of us (silver surfers both) had ever snorkelled before and I am not a strong swimmer but by the time you arrive, after talking to the staff and watching the DVD info we both felt we should give it a try. the lycra suits are not so difficult to get into (even though I am somewhat "dynamically challenged" , there was help with the snorkel and mask, help in the water - I would highly recommend giving it a go - you'll be glad you did. Then there was the fish feeding, and the semi submersible both great activities. The buffet lunch was plentiful and loads of seating admiring the view and wondering what your friends are doing in their everyday life while you're enjoying the Reef!
complimentary tea/coffee/juice/biscuits and cheese etc on board. We had a smooth ride and great visibility which was lucky.
Everything is so well organised, it made it a grand day out!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Figgysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Barker, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

No one in my family had ever snorkelled before and we are glad our first adventure was at the reef. Even though there was a strong wind, the wave piercing hull of the quicksilver boat made the ride a little more enjoyable. My advice - if the crew suggest taking sea sick tablets, you should take them. The boat was full and I wondered how we were all going to fit on the pontoon but all ran smoothly. There's plenty to do and eat and the crew are exceptional. The glass bottom boat trip is a must as is the snorkelling. They have different sections roped off so no matter whether you are a beginner or an expert, you can swim with confidence.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

i have wanted to go to and dreamed of the barrier reef since i was a young child. Im now 37 and just had the most amazing time there!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mikeyDJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agincourt Reef also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Agincourt Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing