We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for an open air restaurant”
Review of Siam by the Sea

Siam by the Sea
Ranked #33 of 115 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice location for an open air restaurant”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

First night in Port Douglas, our hostess recommended this restaurant in Wharf Street, as different to its sister restaurant on Macrossan St. The staff were friendly and efficient.
Our entrée of Coconut Prawns was very good, as was the mixed entrée platter.
For mains, we had lamb curry and the lamb was very tough, but we unfortunately found this quite common in NQ restaurants. It was however very flavoursome and was presented nicely in an interestingly shaped bowl. My husband enjoyed his meal of chicken with basil stir fry. The desserts looked excellent however the meals we enjoyed were very filling, so will have to wait until next time we visit this restaurant.
It was very busy all night and had a nice atmosphere. Worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    140
    55
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Thai food- good location”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Siam by the sea is owned by same owner as Star of Siam, also in port Douglas. Good food, not inexpensive, but nothing in Port Douglas is. Wonderful service, very attentive and good. We enjoyed their lamb curry, Thom Ka Khai soup ( fantastic !).. Sweet décor, sea blues and very nice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mettebk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food on the high street”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We enjoyed our meal sitting at a table on the pavement and people watching. The food was very good - I had a vegetarian Thai green curry and my husband and son both had Pad Thai. Service was great and the prices were very reasonable. We didn't try the desserts as we all needed a walk afterwards to the Gelataria.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Holiday dinner”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked in for dinner night after we arrived in Port Douglas for a group or 11. We had a table by the street which was great for a crowd and got a bit of a breeze. Menu very good and all our meals arrived in a timely manner. The food is very tasty and very fresh. Would recommend the curries and the lamb pandang, very tender meat. Meals all a good size and value for money. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 11Seamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average food and average service”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We visited here for dinner. It was ok. Quite expensive for what we got. Food was not great. I got Pad Thai and it was the blandest Pad Thai ever. Not sure if be rushing back.

Helpful?
Thank LouK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam by the Sea also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Siam by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing