We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Thai for port douglas”
Review of Siam by the Sea

Siam by the Sea
Ranked #33 of 115 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok Thai for port douglas”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I dined here on Saturday night. We had the king scallops for entree which were overpowered by tamarind sauce. Service was terrible - everyone around us who ordered after us got their entrees before us and we had to ask what had happened to ours after 50 plus minutes. On the positives our mains of green curry and prawn stir fry were generous and tasty and the place is byo. Negatives - terrible service, they dont leave bowls of rice on your table so you have to ask for it, forgot to bring our peanut sauce with our roti....and if comparing this to Thai in Melbourne or Sydney at the same price you will be disappointed. If they can get their front of house in order they could do quite well as a business as the food is fine - not great - but fine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roney1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    140
    55
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great way to end the day”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A small group of us went out to eat here and I dont think any of us had any complaints. Our waitress was adorable and friendly. The food presentation was awesome! We got our pineapple fried rice served in half a pineapple! We used our table 52 cards but I will come back and pay full price for sure. The view is great, food is delicious, friendly staff and a good atmosphere. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kailey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Holidays for 2 in Port Douglas”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a very nice reasonably price Thai restaurant with a nice view of the sea. The food was excellent and so was the service. I thought the price of a Piccolo at $9 was a fraction high but otherwise thoroughly recommend at reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jexthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ordinary Thai”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Perhaps I am a little spoiled for choice in Sydney viz Thai food. This is the best in Port Douglas and it is no more than average in my opinion. It is also considerably more costly than you would find in any urban location. $19 for noodles?!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BentTroyTheRentBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Thai Food in Port Douglas”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After a long day lounging around at our resort, we had not made a dinner reservation. We took a short drive and found Siam by the Sea. What a pleasant surprise. The staff were very attentive, and we sat outside and took advantage of the views. They let us bring our rather well behaved Great Dane to sit by our table. The food was very well priced and very authentic, we arrived on a Sunday night, during peak times and still got a great table..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowan_C_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam by the Sea also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Siam by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing