We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely laid back pizza shack”

Chilly's Pizza & Trattoria
Ranked #24 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Australian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely laid back pizza shack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

A family run pizza joint, just off the main street in Port Douglas. The owners are friendly, and often greet their guests personally. There is an open grassed area, where you can sit with a drink and listen to some live music. Pizzas are good quality. It is like being invited over to someone's backyard!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lellobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    231
    65
    21
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hidden treasure!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a great find for 4 adults and 4 kids. Pizzas ordered and we received them quickly and there were also other diners. We did not know it was BYO and were pleasantly surprised to find Coronas supplied were only $5 and soft drinks $2.50. Great variety of pizzas with thin bases, very tasty and a decent size. Not the cheapest at between $12 and $18 but reasonable for Port Douglas. Nice outdoor seating, nothing special but creates a nice ambience. Lighting could be improved a bit to make the dining experience more enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

On a week night in Port Douglas this little tin shed on a cross street, with casual outdoor dining was a great little find. The pizza was amazing, thin crust, enough tasty topping and probably best I have ever had! Very casual place, and if it rains you have to run into the tin shed (where orders are taken) .. but outside the tables are lit with tea lights and small umbrellas, and homely service make for a informally pleasant dining experience. They have a limited pasta menu, but I also tried the lasagne on another night and it was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow what a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were saying in port Douglas for 6 nights and read a few good reviews for this place wow what a great place.
Laid back seating in the garden byo fantastic pizzas a great squid salad.THis is just what we needed after eating at all the other fine dinners in port and we enjoyed this just as much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbydazzler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza in FNQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We cancelled a booking at a fancy restaurant because we'd heard great things about this place. We were not disappointed! The setting is beautiful and casual - outdoors, old school tables and chairs, stage for music. The staff were friendly and checked in with us to see how the food was. And the pizza spoke for itself. I've travelled through Italy and like another reviewer said - these are on that level! The bases are delish. Garlic bread was really nice too. We even got a box to bring the leftovers back to our hotel room. We are locals (Cairns) and will be coming back here with friends and family whenever we come to Port Doug which is several times a year. Such a great idea for a fun and family friendly restaurant, 5 stars.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pagney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilly's Pizza & Trattoria also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Chilly's Pizza & Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing