We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, beautifully appointed rooms, heated pool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cayman Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cayman Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, beautifully appointed rooms, heated pool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment recently on our visit to Port Douglas. Cayman Villas offered us everything it promised to be and lived up to all expectations. We had an extremely roomy two-bedroom apartment with a really big kitchen. We didn't use this much as we preferred to eat out as there are so many great restaurants in town, but it was so handy to have the full sized fridge and all the cooking facilities on hand for breakfast and lunch. The rooms were really big with a king size bed in one and two singles (that can come together to make a king) in the other. The rooms had been recently appointed so all the furnishings were new. There was also a great outdoor entertaining area on the enclosed patio that was part of the apartment, which would be ideal for large family meals if you are travelling with a few people. Great all round location, a hop skip and a jump to the beach as well as the main street. There is also a heated pool, which is a really nice touch.

Room Tip: Two bedroom apartments can be made into three bedroom apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justchillin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    53
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
154
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Having just returned from our first trip holiday to Port Douglas we feel very lucky to have experienced the luxury of staying at this resort. Every thing about Cayman Villas was exceptional, the huge pool, spacious villas with up to the minute decor and the friendly service from Sue the manager. We had a 3 bedroom villa with 2 of the bedrooms locked off and our villa was very spacious. A King size bed in the main was very comfortable and the double vanity and spa bath in the ensuite was ideal. An added bonus was the shutter enclosed verandah with dining table for 6 and day bed overlooking the pool. The location is great in relation to Macrossan St, the beach and the Marina. Although we hired a car,so we could explore the region, you could definitely enjoy your stay there without one as it is so close to everything, and all tours,reef trips etc will pick you up at the front door. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a first floor apartment overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceleeHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

This development was awesome from the moment we arrived to the moment we departed. The appartment was outstanding, the pool was beautiful, the setting was secluded and quiet, but most of all, the Manager, Sue, was incredibly helpful with advice on local sightseeing and making changes to our itinerary for us- not her job, but just wanted to help and give us the best experience possible, which she definitely did. If I ever return to Port Douglas, I will definitely stay in the Cayman Villas again, and hope that Sue is still there to look after us!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed in an upstairs apartment as a group of 4 girls over the New Year.We were welcomed from check in and reminded of the resort policies which clearly worked for all guests in maintaining a harmonious environment over this period.The apartment was very well laid out, maintained and tastefully decorated. The pool was lovely and the location central but quiet. We defintely recommend Cayman Villas for stays over the New Year period and of course, as a great accommodation alternative for any other times in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Spacious, clean, wonderful kitchen, great pool, lovely veranda, colorful, lots or room and friendly hosts. Hotel arranged our Reef trip and airport transfers, very helpful. Relaxing and we will be back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at the lovely Cayman Villas. As a Cairns local, I like to get away and Port Douglas allows that holiday experience without having to board a plane! I had not stayed here previously and was pleasantly surprised at how close it was to Macrossan Street and the beach. Just a couple of minutes walk in either direction. As January is a fairly quiet month, we were granted an early check in and promptly settled in to our 3 bedroom apartment. My first impression is that it was very clean, bright and modern in its layout. The furniture appeared new and well maintained with a comfortable living area and bedrooms, the main with an ensuite attached. The beds were very comfortable also – a big plus! It was great that the unit was self-contained too as this allowed us to bring our own food and drinks thus saving us money. The grounds were well maintained and tropical in appearance and the best part was the pool. A lovely big square infinity pool with a spa and central bbq area. The temperature was great and we loved having a nice spot to cool off after a steaming hot January day! We enjoyed a bbq on one of our evenings which was lovely, and there was salt, pepper, tomato sauce and all of the things we could possibly need already there. In the reception area there was a large selection of books, dvds and recent magazines for residents, which I thought was great, especially during these unpredictable wet season months. The hosts were lovely and friendly and allowed us to enjoy ourselves and their resort without any bother. The only negative I could add is that resorts in Port Douglas are mostly low rise and do not have elevators, which could be a bother for tourists who don’t travel lightly and are expected to lug their bags up a few flights of stairs. As locals, we were used to this fact but just a word of warning! I am sure the hosts would gladly assist however and assure you in every other aspect this place is 5 star! Cayman Villas was great value for money and I would like to see other resorts in the area offer more locals specials, as it’s the locals who keep the town alive in the months where the humidity, jellyfish and cyclones keep the rest of the tourists at bay! I have travelled all over and Port Douglas is still one of my favourite places on earth – when my next weekend away is due I will definitely want to stay at Cayman Villas again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylieboo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our extended family of ten had a great stay at Cayman Villas over Christmas/New Year. We booked two villas next to each to other on the 2nd floor and were lucky enough to check in early on arrival. The villas were modern, clean and well equipped. We had a king size bed and two singles in our unit which were clean and comfortable. We found John, the Manager, to be very accommodating and helpful. He booked our tours, confirmed shuttles and assisted us with our general queries and also enjoyed a chat. The villas were a 5 minute walk to the main street in Port Douglas where most of the restaurants and retail stores are located which meant we didn't need to book transportation. We spent a considerable amount of time by the pool and also utilised the barbecue facilities available. A relaxing holiday, close to everything - we would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Villas

Property: Cayman Villas
Address: 35 Mowbray St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cayman Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayman Villas Port Douglas offers you the ultimate luxury tropical experience with the relaxed lifestyle of the Caribbean. Accommodation features, sumptuous living areas, large tropical balconies, air-conditioning and ceiling fans, fully-equipped kitchens with granite bench tops & spa bath in the master bathroom. The large one, two and three bedroom villas have been completely refurbished and updated to provide understated elegance, with their tropical shutters and broad terraces, terracotta tiled floors, timber furnishings featuring contemporary soft furnishings, and smart granite and stainless steel kitchens. Each villa has a spa and the two and three bedroom villas have two bathrooms, all units have their own laundry. There is a large horizon outdoor pool with shallow end for children, spa and gazebo with pool-side BBQ`s surrounded by tropical gardens and secure basement parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cayman Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayman Villas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing