We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST SEAFOOD BUFFET”
Review of Bazaar

Bazaar
Reserve with
Bazaar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 115 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: After a well-earned hiatus, the buzzing restaurant reopened in late March, with a reinvigorated menu bursting at the seams with the freshest, trawler-to-table and paddock-to-plate produce that Far North Queensland has to offer. Pairing the infectious energy of the inspired international street stall, souks and bodegas, with QT sophistication, Bazaar has been running at full steam since opening 18 months ago, serving up a veritable mosaic of foods for breakfast, lunch and dinner to thousands of guests and Port Douglas locals alike. QT Port Douglas is a unique designer resort that celebrates an eclectic design environment and bold entertainment to create an intriguing yet relaxing guest experience. A beacon for design, art, style and luxury, QT Port Douglas resort has been operational since May 2012, has since positioned itself as the Far North's very own purveyors of fun, leaders of style and masters of indulgence. Bazaar is closed for dinner during the months of Feb/March.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“BEST SEAFOOD BUFFET”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wow. Wow. Wow.

This place was amazing!

Not only was the seafood buffet (yes, I screwed my nose up at the word "buffet" too however this was only fresh and clean food and not at all what you are visioning) amazing and packed full of cold, fresh seafood but there were chefs just waiting to cook you what you wanted!

I would recommend ordering a tasting plate to begin with to share with your table and while that is cooking get a plate of seafood to nibble on.

My favourite would have to have been the cooked scallops and the pork belly!

The location of this restaurant is within a hotel grounds but is open air. The mosquitos do bite (it is a tropical location afterall) however there is insect repellant available at the front counter so make sure you use it and you will be fine!

The price was also very reasonable.

To get there: catch the local shuttle bus which runs every 15 minutes and drops off and picks you up at the lobby!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doofynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    71
    42
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great interactive dining experience”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A dining experience where there is no set menu & you interact with the chefs to create some really great food.
I found the quality of the food was tremendous & the tasting plates were certainly a winner.
The customer service of the chefs was excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SalvaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Winner!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very few buffer style places do the job these days, if any at all. But going by a good suggestion made to me by friends of mine that live there, and the fact that he knew the head chef, I knew it would be all good.

First off, to any visitors that aren't local. The mosquitoes will love you! Wear repellent! Please, just wear repellent. We got absolutely eaten alive by those miserable SOB's that night and by the time someone had done us a huge favour by giving us some repellent, we were absolutely made a meal of. Literally!

When you enter, you'll find the staff well dressed, attentive and polite indeed. We were seated promptly and given our go ahead to do as we wished. You'll find a salad section (I didn't have any myself) followed by seafood up next (quite good and of fresh standard). Then around to the left you will see the chefs serving up a multitude of well prepared foods ranging from soft shell crab, pork belly, ribs with smokey sauce, paella and the list goes on! In the far corner on the left lies the cold cuts and cheeses with desserts opposite that.

Truly the best part of it all was the chefs doing what they do best. Serving up delightful courses at your demand! That pork belly never gets old! Soft shell crab next to it? YES PLEASE! 2 of the best things you can put in a dish, I think. I wouldn't go as far to say that it's the absolute best thing I've ever had meal-wise but it damn sure gets up there with the best in many ways.

I would have to say that at a seafood buffet, you need lots of space to throw unwanted crap that you peel off the seafood (oyster shells, prawn guts and shell etc). I did find that the venue didn't provide ample space for that. Easy solution would be to get a wine basket, put it beside the table and it won't take up any space on the table. Throw any crap you don't eat in there and problem solved! That is one area that seriously needs attention as it can make all sorts of things hard to move around and the table space can become cramped this way. I'm sure they'll work something out eventually anyway.

My other suggestion would be to perhaps widen the selection of desserts on offer. Some sorbet perhaps??? Some bombe even? I found that part was lacking on slight due to 3 tiered shelves of desserts on that section available, only to find the same plates of stuff over and over.

In all, this place went down real well. The 2 chefs Greg and Adrian deserve a hell of a lot of credit for the constant long hours and slaving away they have put in here. I myself, am no fan of a buffet. In any way! But this does the job in dispelling that good and proper. Definitely one of the finer places to visit while you're here and definitely worth a try if you are hungry enough.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bazaar buffet”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Not a fan of buffet style places, but gave it a try. If you are a person who likes value for money and seafood, this one is for you. Great interaction with chefs, love the concept. Salads need to be more summery and interesting. Antipasta area, please keep your meats and cheeses refridgerated as this area attracted a variety of little insects all dining before I got to select.Dishes and food is not labelled and when I approached this was told to ask the chef! What ask about every dish? Maybe also include a few dishes for those with intolerances to food. Tentative accomodating staff, well presented. Overall a nice night out, but a little overpriced for a buffet style meal. Dont sit near the surrounding ponds as the frogs, (possilby cane toads), their dolcet tones (not) will drive you insane. Also suggest as the bar and restauant are so close, maybe select the same music or tone down the bar tunes will dining area is busy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dw_debra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bazaar at QT”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Brilliant restaurant! Helpful and accommodating staff, most willing to meet requests, offer suggestions when I was uncertain and even re-work the menu at times to suit dietary requirements.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ValdaM902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bazaar also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing