We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachfront Terraces
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

These units have had their day and should be demolished.Our 1 bedroom ground floor unit was dirty,crockery dirty and bathroom grubby with 5 cockroaches in 6 days.Couch was about 35 years old and difficult to sit on as cushions kept sliding off. TV too small.King sized bed in a matchbox bedroom ridiculous.Washing machine and dryer were both faulty.Overpriced.Only redeeming feature is the position directly opposite the beach but have to contend with motor homes and combie vans parked opposite often sleeping overnight.When cockroaches were mentioned to management was told that was expected in the tropics ,so why weren't we told what to expect?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed here in october as it was the only place we could find with a 2 bed appartment. It was very quiet and we hardly saw anyone else around, although it seemed a bit busier next door at latitude beaches, with which you share facilities and reception.

We had a 2 bed ground floor garden appt. which looked out onto a tired tennis court. The back entrance was a bit overgrown, which made it a bit dark inside. The actual rooms had a well equiped kitchen and small laundry cupboard with a washing machine and drier. Unfortunately, although everything was clean, it was all a bit tired and the whole place felt like it seriously needed renovating.

Couldn't fault the location though, just a few seconds from the beach and just a short walk to shops and marina. The staff at reception were also good, helped us book a few tours and transfers with minimum fuss and sorted out a noise problem very promptly.

Overall cheap and chearful, if you're going to be out a lot of the time, you could do a lot worse, but don't expect any more than very average 2/3 star accomodation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank denandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville,VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed at the Beachfront Terrace during an admittedly slow part of the season. It was great. The pace was very slow and relaxed at Terrace. At check in, we were advised of an animal park and had another tour booked for us through reception. The animal park was awesome!! We had planned to go on an overnight dive boat and were told we could leave our luggage in the room and keep the keys without having to check out and back in afterwards. This was great. The only issue we ran into was a group of green tree ants on the handle to the gate to the pool. (Their bite REALLY hurts) They were taken care of immediately after we reported them. Thanks Beachfront Terrace for a great time. We'll be back!

  • Liked — Quiet and friendly
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameswoodap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

We booked this hotel due to the fact that it had a beachfront location. Not that there were any views from the two rooms we stayed in. The first room for one night smelt of cigarrette smoke and the bed linen had an overpowering smell of eucalyptus - so much so that I my clothes smelt and and I could not sleep properly. The best thing about the room was that it had a relatively new bathroom. This was not the case in the second room we stayed in - the bathroom was tiny and was mouldy. The basin was really small like in a public toilet and did not have any kind of cabinet. The stove and fan did not work properly either.
The best thing about this hotel was the location so that we could walk directly across the road to get to Four mile beach. However I would forgo the location to stay in a better hotel - Port Douglas is small and everything is just a short walk away.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2007

I booked a 2 bed beachfront appt via my travel agent. As the “penthouse” appt was the same price I emailed the property directly and asked to be put in the “penthouse” which they kindly did. Also, as it was my partner's Birthday I asked the staff to buy a bottle of bubbly and put it in the fridge – again they kindly obliged and I paid them upon arrival.

However, the apartment was quite shabby and in need of a very good clean and brush up. Furniture a bit dated, paintwork chipped and dirty, cooker hood disgustingly dirty, light fittings filthy and so on. But it was a very spacious appt with loads of space and all the facilities you need but just a bit shabby considering we paid £86 a night. We made use of the washing machine & dish washer which worked fine and were a welcome facility.

It was a 10 mins walk into the main stretch of town with all the restaurants etc and right on the beach so well situated. It was also right opposite the netted swim enclosure so you could swim even in Jelly fish season.

The staff were very helpful and booked trips for us and accommodated all our needs. There were 2 pools both of which were nice and clean, the main pool being the better of the 2. There were very few sun loungers and umbrellas around the pool however but as you’re just opposite the beach it’s not so bad. To hire an umbrella and 2 sunbeds on the beach though was very expensive $35 AUD for the day – about £15.

Oh, and we had 2 very very large cockroaches in our bathroom – one of which fell on my partner's head. When I say big I’m talking 4cms body plus another 3cms worth of antenna! We got some roach spray from reception who informed us it was part of the Tropical experience…..hmmmmmm….jury’s out on that one!

Generally, a good size appt which was well situated for the beach but a bit shabby in need of some updating and I don’t think it was worth the £86 a night.

  • Liked — Spacious appt, good location
  • Disliked — A it shabby for the price paid
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter_n_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2006

If you want to stay beachfront in Port Douglas, I think you'll be very happy with these excellent apartments. Two great pools, well-appointed apartment over two floors (living room/kitchen downstairs, bedrooms/bathroom upstairs), easy walk to Macrossan St. Our family would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegetarian_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol,uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2005

After getting the flight from Sing then bus from Cairns and hoping for great weather, the inital view of Beaches Terraces was not so appealing as the weather was blowy and the BEACH?looked mucky from the wind. We couldn't check in until about 2 p.m so sat in their cafe for a while.
When we actually got to the room (upstairs, No lift if anyone needs one), We were really pleased, it was really spacious and room enough for 4 people easlily, spotlessly clean with video aswell. A lovely big kitchen and washing facilities even a tumble dryer all in with the price. to be honest, no real good veiws, as ours was a damp tennis court but a nice balcony (to smoke on). Macrossan st. is about 10mins walk to the main centre with restuarants and bars etc. Price for the room was about £50 uk per night for us, but for 4 people sharing, it would be a bargain.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Beaches Port Douglas
Beaches Port Douglas
#30 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#20 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reflections of Port Douglas
Reflections of Port Douglas
#28 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#32 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Terraces

Property: Beachfront Terraces
Address: 17 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront Terraces 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Terraces has an enviable beachfront location on The Esplanade overlooking Four Mile Beach. The sand and sea are only metres from your front door. A short stroll away is Macrossan Street's boutique shopping, cafes and award winning restaurants. The beachfront apartments have magnificent views of Four Mile Beach and the Coral Sea. The garden view apartments overlook the tropical gardens. The property offers a range of facilities including outdoor swimming pool and BBQ facilities. Off-street undercover parking is available for all guests. Reception is open at Beaches Port Douglas located on Mowbray Street just next door to Beachfront Terraces. From here you can also arrange any tours to the Great Barrier Reef or islands, Daintree rainforest, Cape Tribulation and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Beachfront Terrace Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing