We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A waste of a fantastic location.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachfront Terraces

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachfront Terraces
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A waste of a fantastic location.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a last minute long weekend trip to Port Douglas and as pretty regular visitors knew we wanted to be close to the beach. The Terraces position is second to none but the unit really needs some maintenance. The front sliding door lock is broken, light bulbs need replacing, the blinds are broken, there is a layer of dust under the bed and I ended up cleaning the bathroom flyscreen to enable some airflow. It was absolutely filthy. More flyscreens are very necessary-had many insect bites until we purchased insect spray, which the next visitors now have at their disposal. This is all pretty basic stuff, even for lower end accommodation, but deal breakers when rebooking. With such a fantastic location, I don't understand why you would waste the opportunity to have a really great property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny_Sydney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Hill VIC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

You cannot improve on the location, but these very shabby apartments need money spent NOW! We bargained the rate down to $272/night from a stratospheric $340.
That buys two bedrooms upstairs with a shared bathroom, a huge north-facing balcony which extends to front and offers super views of beach and sunrise, kitchen-dining-lounge downstairs.
Everything is a good twenty or more years old, the front door is a cheap louvre cupboard door, really. Louvres continue throughout, even doors to balconies, so sun is not kept out!
Kitchen benches are tired old white laminex, stove is very old and dirty upright electric. Dishwasher has seen better days, ditto clothes dryer which cuts out as it overheats on 'warm' setting.
The owners are mad to not improve these apartments, as location is the best. Only book if you are prepared for tired fit-out.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Be aware there is a company called 'Latitude 16' that own various apartment blocks in and around Port Douglas. One of them called 'Beaches' apartment which are NOT the same as Beachfront Terrace Apartments, which is what we were originally put in!

Even this review has mixed pictures of the WRONG apartment block so be aware! We had to pay AUD$300 for an upgrade to 'Beaches' apartment where the manager blamed the booking operator for booking us into the older apartments next door and told us that he gets lots of complaints from people not realising what they have booked! ..... SO BE AWARE IF IT SEEMS CHEAP!!

The apartment was very dated and all you could smell was damp especially in the bedrooms, on en-suite bathroom was linked to the main bathroom with a frosted window (not very private)! Plates were dirty, place needed a good clean! disappointing and couldn't wait to get out! We will upload pictures of the beachfront Terrace apt to show what it really is like! We ended up upgrading to 'Beaches' apartments which were directly next door, and ended up having a great time there in the end!

Also bear in mind the time of year that you visit the area, as we couldn't go in the sea, as it was 'stinger' season and there were too many jellyfish in the sea, and the weather was so rough that it damaged the stinger nets in the sea, which we should have been able to swim in, but couldn't!
We also went on the quicksilver barrier reef trip on a rough day, and were sea sick, and didn't have a good experience there either, so make sure you are aware of when the 'wet' season is in the tropics!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed here with our 3 kids for a week and wished it was longer. We absolutely loved it. The unit was clean, lots of room- we could watch the kids in the pool from our back deck and on the beach from the front. Staff were helpful, friendly but really unobtrusive. Gardens were beautiful and being able to play a game of tennis so close to our unit was great. We will definately be booking in next year. Thanks for a lovely break.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a one bedroom on the ground level across the street from the beach. We were a bit apprehensive having our patio door open to the garden and out to the street. It was unfounded! Port Douglas has a lovely safe feeling and we had direct access to the beach in a minute. We even rented paddleboards and stored them on our patio making us feel very local.
The tennis court was available during our stay and the pool was often all ours.
The staff at the front desk were very accommodating.
The apartment was well designed and very clean. We enjoyed having our own parking spot right outside our door making it easy to unload and load the car.

We will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and the best I can say is that they are average! The next night we checked into a hotel down the road that was 100% better and less that half the price. even though we did ask to stay another night here they said that they had already discounted the price and could not go any lower .. Shame as there are so many better place than this and only good point was a washer and dryer in them. Good beach location but much nicer if you take a look....

Room Tip: All rooms have beach front views but first floor gets a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C8201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy998, Public Relations Manager at Beachfront Terraces, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear guest,

I am really sorry that you have had such a disappointing experience on your recent visit, I would like to apologise on behalf of Latitude 16 team. After this school holidays the property will be undertaking a refurbishment.

As walk-ins you would have had a chance to view the room before deciding to stay, which then should have met expectations, and we were fairly heavily booked due to the school holidays. We do however offer discounts when it is not a peak holiday time.

The 1 bedroom apartments are on the ground floor, and the 2 bedroom beachfront apartments are townhouse style with the 2 levels. It is in a premium location close to Macrossan Street, with beach and ocean views, well appointed - self catering with private laundry facilities.

Please contact me directly when you find yourself in Port Douglas and I will ensure that your reservation is taken care of.

Kind Regards
Lynette Lai
Business Development Manager
Latitude 16 Pty Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Beaches Port Douglas
Beaches Port Douglas
#30 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#20 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Terraces Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Reflections of Port Douglas
Reflections of Port Douglas
#28 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Terraces

Property: Beachfront Terraces
Address: 17 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront Terraces 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Terraces has an enviable beachfront location on The Esplanade overlooking Four Mile Beach. The sand and sea are only metres from your front door. A short stroll away is Macrossan Street's boutique shopping, cafes and award winning restaurants. The beachfront apartments have magnificent views of Four Mile Beach and the Coral Sea. The garden view apartments overlook the tropical gardens. The property offers a range of facilities including outdoor swimming pool and BBQ facilities. Off-street undercover parking is available for all guests. Reception is open at Beaches Port Douglas located on Mowbray Street just next door to Beachfront Terraces. From here you can also arrange any tours to the Great Barrier Reef or islands, Daintree rainforest, Cape Tribulation and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachfront Terraces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Beachfront Terrace Hotel Port Douglas
Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing